KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Sheakley

Is this your company?

Sheakley

Add a Review

Sheakley Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 of over 59 reviews

2.9
46%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Sheakley Chief Executive Officer  Larry Sheakley (no image)
Larry Sheakley
11 Ratings
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    I'd avoid marketing

    Jan 10, 2019 - Marketing Specialist in Springdale, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, good work/life balance, standing desks

    Cons

    Pay is WAY below market, in marketing if your idea didn't correlate with management's it was not even considered, men in the department invited to events that women were not even considered for, promotions and pay raises given to friends of management while others receive small cost of living raises, no Christmas (or any other) bonuses or profit sharing, people getting fired for disagreeing with management one too many times, and management talking about employees behind their backs to other employees. It was a very toxic environment and morale was never good.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Sheakley Response

    HR Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate and value your opinion and while we are disheartened to hear you did not have a positive experience here at Sheakley, we practice, believe and promote equality in the workplace. This is reflected in our culture and our core values. In fact our employee population is predominately female and this is also reflected in our Leadership team. We take your comments very serious and would love to have the opportunity to further discuss your experience. Please feel free to reach out to any member of our HR or Leadership team to further discuss.

  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Refusal to change

    Feb 23, 2019 - PEO in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    PEO business model is not like any other I've experienced. The company contributes a decent amount for medical, dental and vision benefits. Managers have open door policies and are very visible.

    Cons

    The company makes you pay for all other benefits, including the ones employers typically pay for - life, disability, etc. They contribute to HSA, but it's very little. Dont let them fool you by saying it's part of your salary. No training at all. This includes leadership training for managers. They might be excellent subject matter experts but have no idea of to manage people. Pay is below industry standards. Raises are not consistent. Very high turnover. They bring in very young workforce, so they don't have to pay them much, but they leave after a year or 2 of experience. Processes are 20 years behind the times and they have no desire to be current or relevant with current technology as it relates to client experience or efficiency. Managers frequently gossip with each other and subordinates on the floor, in front of others. The facilities are old and outdated but owner/exec's dont care bc they work out of a brand new office downtown and dont have to be bothered with day to day Operations. No employee engagement or appreciation. Theres a snack shack, but you have to pay for it. Christmas bonus was a measly $25 gift card. Employee appreciation breakfast was bagels and coffee. They could do so much better if they tried, but apathy is an epidemic. You can bear Sheakley wear a few times a year. The company who manufactures it, is also owned by Larry Sheakley. Conflict of interest much? Departments are very siloed. There is no communication across teams. No idea where the company is going or how my role contributes to any challenges or success that are happening.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful

    Sheakley Response

    HR Manager

    We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide Sheakley with your feedback. Sheakley management prides themselves on having an open door policy and being a resource for our staff members, and we are happy to hear that you experienced that first hand. One of Sheakley’s core values is “we are always proactive”. Your feedback on your training structure here is very insightful, and we want to ensure that we are providing the most state of art training to our employees. We are sorry to hear that you felt the training you received was not a very positive experience. We encourage you to reach out to a member of the HR Team at Sheakley to further discuss your feedback.

  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company, Incredible Support from Management and Nice Pay

    Jan 31, 2017 - Sales Director in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Sheakley treats their employees like family. I was given tremendous support from management not only when training, but throughout my time that I worked at Sheakley. If there were ever an issue, I always felt comfortable going to upper management to discuss and they were always fair and never showed favoritism among employees. If you work hard, put in the effort, this company rewards you. I was a top sales rep and my pay, as well as incentives were earned as promised. They do expect you to perform but what company doesn't?

    Cons

    I didn't experience any negatives with this company. The only reason I left was because my family needed me to transfer back to Memphis for personal reasons. Not only did Sheakley support me with that position they worked with me through that transition.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Unemployment line would be better...

    Jan 14, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are a few good people that work there...however I would not be surprised if they are driven out soon...

    Cons

    Micro-management is the name of the game. The sad part is that management does not know what they are doing and it shows. Constantly changing the requirements, no support at all, you are left to fend for yourself. Their training program is pretty bad. The trainer is nice however they have never had any formal training themselves...blind leading and training the blind. Their payroll and HR products are basic at best. They claim it is Best in the industry however they lack the basic functionality that the competition has had for years. They pride themselves on their core values, Respect for Human Dignity being one of them, however I have yet to witness it. If anything, it's the exact opposite from management....they are constantly putting reps down behind their back to other reps....I've been told far too much about who is getting fired and who is not. If you are a "favorite" then you get all the help you need, if you are not, well good luck....

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great people

    Apr 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people. Everyone is very supportive of one another. There is quite a bit of flexibility with scheduling, although there are core hours. The supervisors are lenient about time off requests as long as deadlines are being met and the customers are happy. The company believes in promoting from within. Lots of opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    The company is very conservative in overall practices, including policies and spending but this seems to be recognized by upper management and steps are being taken toward improvement. Technology is lacking in some areas but this also seems to be improving. Management over different departments can be very different

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellent Company - Feel Truly Valued as an Employee

    Apr 4, 2016 - Human Resources & Risk Management Consultant in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I feel truly valued as an employee at Sheakley, and I am not treated like a number which is amazing! My manager travels quite a bit, but is always available to help at anytime and makes sure to spend one on one time with me when I need it. The management approach is genuine and the lines of communication to upper management are open so our ideas and suggestions are heard and often utilized.

    Cons

    I've come on board as we are implementing some new solutions. Other than normal transitions associated with rolling out new products, the sales process is smooth and we have an even more comprehensive portfolio than before.

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great New Management - Heading in the right direction

    Jan 20, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Owners care about success of company and employees. Investments have been made to bring proper and knowledgeable staff in. Training provided to bring prior staff up to speed

    Cons

    As with any company, there are always some employees who cannot perform and attempt to bring others down. Beyond a few personnel changes that may be needed, everything is improving and headed in an exciting direction.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company

    Feb 29, 2016 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have never been so supported as I am with my manager I have now. Even though he is on the road a lot he always makes sure he takes the time to respond and help when in any way he can. What I really appreciate is that the Sheakley's are very supportive when it comes to family as well.

    Cons

    Wish that services were easier to sell and the other areas of the business worked closer with each other.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Run! Sinking ship

    Jun 10, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of my co-workers have become like family. It's a close knit group but can be cliquey in some departments. Flexibility when needed.

    Cons

    -I was surprised when I started that I have the worst benefits I've ever had at a job. -Management lacks communication with each other so everyone is essentially doing their own thing. Each department and each company pretty much do things their own way. This means no processes, no consistency, no reasoning... Every day it's a battle to do the simplest things. Everything is complex. -Owner is trying to grow the company but with limited resources and budget so it falls downhill onto the workers who need to commit extra hours just to meet his expectations. -Toxic environment. It's actually disheartening when most of the coffee room conversation is filled with co-workers about to have a nervous breakdown. -Considerably low pay compared to similar companies

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great place to work.

    May 11, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Sheakley is a great place to work. Lots of room for advancement and I like that there are several women in management roles. People seem to like it here because there are many employees that have been here 10, 20 or more years. Great benefits and very flexible work schedules for most. Competitive pay. People who work hard and don't complain a lot seem to be rewarded.

    Cons

    Communication between the individual businesses could be better but that's probably the same with any company of its size.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 11 - 20 of 58 Reviews

Popular Careers with Sheakley Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Sheakley? Share Your Experiences

Sheakley logo
or