Sheffield Hallam University Reviews | Glassdoor

Sheffield Hallam University Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 63 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Professor Chris Husbands
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working hours, good personal development opportunities, great team members, good holiday entitlement and extra uni days off work(in 6 reviews)

  • "Good holiday allowance (including statutory Bank Holidays), with the option of a (still) great pension(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 2 reviews)

  • "At certain times of year, such as during assessment periods, the workload can be quite heavy(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great organization to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant & Reviewer in Allston, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at Sheffield Hallam University for more than 2 years

    Pros

    great people, flexible management, lot of potential to improve

    Cons

    Needs more funding, more opportunity for international students, nothing else is a con

    Sheffield Hallam University2016-02-22
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Substance Abuse Treatment in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Sheffield Hallam University

    Pros

    Great benefits, cool staff, polite, real relaxed atmosphere,

    Cons

    Late hours, away from family a lot

    Advice to Management

    Get a little more loose. Get from being so stiff.

    Sheffield Hallam University2016-08-15
  3. "Masters Student at SHU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student in Sheffield, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Sheffield Hallam University full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    will get great study and self-development opportunities with the best faculty.

    Cons

    Some of the help and advice services are not fully known to students.

    Sheffield Hallam University2019-04-01
  4. "Could be worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - British in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sheffield Hallam University full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    The flexi-scheme is good, as are parental benefits. The location of the institution is great for commuters.

    Cons

    Unfortunately nepotism appears to be rife and the culture is quite entrenched due to the constant change projects of ULT staff before they move on in their careers. The long term quality of the institution is at risk and this is such a shame.

    Advice to Management

    Look at the value SSG staff are bringing to the institution. Some short sighted staff that are barriers to development of others.

    Sheffield Hallam University2019-04-10
  5. "PhD Graduate Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sheffield Hallam University full-time

    Pros

    Great overall facilities, modern outlook of the University, state-of-the art equipment in the laboratory and workshop, ultra supportive staff for research activities, good career advise, great place to conduct PhD-level research in the UK, city-campus at 5 mins from the train station, very green and vibrant city as well.

    Cons

    None as far as I'm concerned.

    Sheffield Hallam University2019-03-23
  6. "Good Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sheffield Hallam University full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, good work-life balance, autonomy, positive people, development opportunities

    Cons

    Some inequalities in terms of grading, pay etc.

    Sheffield Hallam University2019-01-04
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Bullying culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sheffield Hallam University full-time

    Pros

    It would be splendid if your 'face fits' - if it doesn't forget it.

    Cons

    You have to become fake and not have your own opinion, and will be excluded and made to think you have mental health problems if you question the system.

    Sheffield Hallam University2018-10-27
  8. Helpful (2)

    "LECTURE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Sheffield Hallam University full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working time and nice location.

    Cons

    Quite heavy teaching load for new lecturers.

    Sheffield Hallam University2018-09-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Why you should be a student ambassaor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sheffield Hallam University part-time

    Pros

    Was amazing to work with my tutors, I loved my course (Animation) and was more than happy to talk about it with people looking to enrol. The pay is fair and was treated fairly and with respect.

    Cons

    Animation was put together with DMP, Games design under a"media arts" course banner during open days. This confused people and I would have to turn away people or ask them to come back when ambassadors from that course weren't available.

    Sheffield Hallam University2018-08-07
  10. "Life as a lecturer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Sheffield Hallam University full-time

    Pros

    A large university with opportunities for progression. Good colleagues and a creditable student focus.

    Cons

    Being big means individuals do not count for much. Very process orientated.

    Advice to Management

    Trust me - I am part of the solution not the problem

    Sheffield Hallam University2018-07-05
Found 63 reviews