Shell Reviews | Glassdoor

Shell Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4207 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Shell Graduate Programme - Highly Recommended!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Shell

    Pros

    I got placed in the Retail organization and loved it. Lots of emphasis on growth, learning and improvement. Love Shell, they really care about you as an employee. Definitely recommend!!

    Cons

    Typical corporate culture of taking a while to get things done, nothing bad though.

    Shell2019-04-03
  2. "A forward thinking energy company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people! The experiences. The international opportunities. Very good compensation in the U.S.

    Cons

    This is a large, matrixed organization that new employees could find hard to navigate.

    Shell2019-06-14
  3. "Good benefit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits; a lot of job opportunities around the world

    Cons

    Need to work with different groups in all of the world

    Shell2019-06-11
  4. "Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist in Marl, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great job but it was time for me to go

    Cons

    Bad pay and company did not like me

    Shell2019-05-29
  5. "Great Interview, Greater Prospects Ahead at Shell!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time

    Pros

    I recently started at Shell and have been amazed day after day by the multitude of opportunities and businesses Shell is involved in. Not only does the company offer a great work / life balance and competitive compensation, but they encourage movement to other groups / disciplines throughout your career. I came to Shell for options and opportunities throughout the energy business and world, boy do they deliver! The...

    Show More

    Cons

    While you get "credit" for previous experience as it pertains to vacation, you "restart" when it comes to pension and 401k contribution seniority. The good news is the programs are semi-competitive, and only get better / surpass the competition as time goes on.

    Shell2019-05-22
  6. "Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Belle Chasse, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Top employer in the industry.

    Cons

    It's like any other fortune 500 company, be a top performer to excel in your career.

    Shell2019-05-10
  7. "Good benefit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist 

    I have been working at Shell full-time

    Pros

    Good benefit. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Data science in oil industry is at the very beginning stage. Few mentoring at this aspect.

    Shell2019-05-08
  8. "Great company to be a part of!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Advisor in Monaca, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Shell has a Challenging work environment, Motivated and Talented Workforce, Flexible Working Schedule, Great Pay and Benefits, and Advancement Potential.

    Cons

    Shell has some of the general issues that I think are common in larger multi-national corporations. Conservative approach to innovation on some sites, tendency for silos to develop between work groups, animosity between work groups at some sites/locations.

    Shell2019-05-07
  9. "A great company to work for! Many opportunities for growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great working environment, challenging projects, supportive colleagues. Excellent salary and benefits.

    Cons

    Work life balance is a challenge in a global company

    Advice to Management

    Continue valuing your employees!

    Shell2019-05-03
  10. "Overall, It was a good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Saint Joseph, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shell part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good regulars Good cash handling experience

    Cons

    Shoveling snow in winter People try to haggle

    Shell2019-04-30
Found 4207 reviews