Shell Reviews | Glassdoor

Shell Reviews

Updated Jun 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4223 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Shell CEO Ben van Beurden
Ben van Beurden
1298 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Shell Graduate Programme - Highly Recommended!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Shell

    Pros

    I got placed in the Retail organization and loved it. Lots of emphasis on growth, learning and improvement. Love Shell, they really care about you as an employee. Definitely recommend!!

    Cons

    Typical corporate culture of taking a while to get things done, nothing bad though.

    Shell2019-04-03
  2. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at Shell part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great introduction into restaurant industry - Friendly coworkers - Responsible management - Great tips

    Cons

    - Low hourly rate - Formal uniform

    Shell2019-06-23
  3. "Strong safety and inclusion culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Policy Analyst in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great local safety training

    Cons

    Limited development opportunities for local staff in Canada

    Advice to Management

    Provide more sponsorship for local Canadian staff

    Shell2019-06-22
  4. "Not good for your mental health - Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Clean office, Nice lifts, Fresh milk

    Cons

    The bullying The inconsistency The non existent planning The passive agressive feedback culture The laziness - they like to leave things to the last minute and then panic If you are a qualified individual who knows what a project plan looks like do not join this company. This place should come with a your mental health is at risk warning. I’ve seen people in tears, I know people who have been planning their...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Shell, look at the managers who are in charge of your teams. You recently announced a reorg starting you want to have the most competent staff so you can remain competitive. Don’t just shuffle people around into new roles they don’t have experience in, send your managers on management courses, project manager courses. Also, I would advise you to do some kind of internal investigation of management attitude towards...

    Show More
    Shell2019-06-21
  5. "great place if you know someone!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commissioning Engineer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good pay and vacations and time off

    Cons

    its who you know! not what you know

    Advice to Management

    get into the skills performance

    Shell2019-06-21
  6. "Analysts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Shell full-time

      Pros

      Benefits Salary Colleagues Environment Flexible working hours

      Cons

      Management keeps changing Keeps on restructuring Culture

      Shell2019-06-19
    • "Shell G-Grade"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Shell full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great friendly environment, more laid-back.

        Cons

        More structure is going to be required for incoming.

        Shell2019-06-19
      • "Good"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Shell full-time

        Pros

        Great , open minded management, speaking your mind is ok

        Cons

        No option for dayshift right now

        Shell2019-06-19
      • "Challenging environment with open culture"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Shell full-time

        Pros

        Approachable management, flat hierarchy, Freedom to question the usual

        Cons

        Slow decison making, lack of clarity on roles

        Advice to Management

        Balance between freedom and clarity of roles.

        Shell2019-06-19
      • "Goede secundaire voorwaarden maar geen baanzekerheid (meer)"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Shell full-time

        Pros

        Secundaire voorwaarden: prestatie bonus, 13e maand, sportschool, goed bedrijfsrestaurant, reiskosten vergoeding. Doorgroeimogelijkheden, internationale werkomgeving/collega's

        Cons

        Veel reorganisaties dus minder baanzekerheid. Niet alle managers op alle niveaus even goed Beslissingen nemen duurt lang,

        Advice to Management

        Luister naar medewerkers, denk na over wat en hoe er extern gecomuniceerd wordt

        Shell2019-06-18
      Found 4223 reviews