Shell "slow decision making" Reviews | Glassdoor

Shell Employee Reviews about "slow decision making"

Updated Feb 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Shell CEO Ben van Beurden
Ben van Beurden
1,777 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "slow decision making"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to experience energy transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Analyst in Bellingham, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with make work truly enjoyable. Shell doesn't just preach sustainable energy, they are implementing it. Truly the most societally conscious of the Oil & Gas majors. The work is challenging and rewarding. It is very hard to get fired (you have to do something extremely wrong).

    Cons

    Decision making is slow, many corporate re-orgs

    Continue reading
    Shell2019-07-20
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent team and support structure, many opportunities and a great place to learn best practice

    Cons

    Sometimes decision making slower than smaller companies due to organization size

    Shell2019-05-22
  3. "Great Company to Work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time

    Pros

    Really great people. Company is really trying to lead in the Energy Transition. Lots of great development opportunities, training, and networks.

    Cons

    Inefficient at decision making, Many many layers in a matrix organization

    Continue reading
    Shell2019-03-09
  4. "Good place to work, but limited advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Martinez, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits Quality department teammates and mentors Good work environment, everyone works well together Everyone always tries to do the right thing

    Cons

    Limited options for advancement and management doesn't want employees to leave the site Large and demanding workload Slow decision making process and large bureaucracy Complex and ineffective work processes to accomplish tasks

    Continue reading
    Shell2019-03-10
  5. "IT Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Shell for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, and good pay. Very knowledgeable co-workers

    Cons

    IT decision making moved to den Haag and general IT staff off-shored to Bangalore.

    Shell2018-09-09
  6. "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Shell

    Pros

    benefits, time off, opportunity to travel

    Cons

    upper management. slow decision making

    Shell2018-08-15
  7. "Business Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Manager in South Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very well technically manage company

    Cons

    kind of slow decision making process due to its big size

    Continue reading
    Shell2018-04-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Collaborative company culture, competent and friendly colleagues, excellent benefits

    Cons

    Consensus-driven culture can impede decision-making, heavily matrixed organization.

    Shell2018-03-27
  9. "Commercial Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time

    Pros

    Walk the talk, great values.

    Cons

    Sometimes slow decision making and bureaucracy.

    Continue reading
    Shell2018-02-28
  10. "Shell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell

    Pros

    Every other Friday off with 9/80 schedule!

    Cons

    Too much consensus decision making!

    Shell2018-01-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 175 reviews