Shell "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Shell Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Shell CEO Ben van Beurden
Ben van Beurden
1,766 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    shell has a very wonderful work-life balance

    Cons

    I can not find any , but if have to, then it is related to the entire oil gas industry that seems in the transitional time

    Shell2019-12-04
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geophysicist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You have to put up with all the large company BS: politics, big egos in management, bureaucratic processes that slow everything down, etc. But, all said, the company takes good care of employees, work-life balance is great, and safety is hammered into everyone - whether they like it or not.

    Cons

    As I said in 'pros', above: the bureaucracy of the large company is a negative. Hard to get away from that. There are also some jerks at high levels. Again, a symptom of the corporate environment.

    Continue reading
    Shell2020-01-16
  3. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineer 

    I have been working at Shell full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance, world class training

    Cons

    There are no downsides, This is an awesome company to work for

    Shell2020-01-10
  4. "Worked in Shell for 7 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, health and safety, performance bonuses are good.

    Cons

    Limited career development and basic salary is not competitive.

    Shell2020-01-08
  5. "Shell - Past and Present"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate Researcher in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Work/life balance is better than many companies.

    Cons

    Hiring and layoffs occur cyclically. Company is strategically reducing its size.

    Continue reading
    Shell2019-10-23
  6. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Petroleum Engineer in Houston, TX

    I worked at Shell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance

    Cons

    Slow processes and slow management

    Shell2019-10-14
  7. "None"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Most orgs care about employees as people, work life balance can exist

    Cons

    Bloated staff, hard to crack leadership, diversity isn't always sought after

    Shell2019-08-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Shell Downstream Manufacturing Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance. 9/80 schedule, flexible start and end time for the day, and one of the best maternity and paternity time off in the US. High pay and good benefits. 401K match program and pension. They hire you for the long run. It's very difficult to get into Shell, but once you're in, they invest in you and you can have a long career with them. The turnover rate is much lower than other companies. Shell is an energy company and is investigating in climate friendly energy sources. Much more than oil and gas, Shell agrees with global warming and has a plan to help.

    Cons

    Shell is divesting in some of the smaller manufacturing plants, so choose the location wisely to not get sold to another company in a few years. Shell hires future leaders and values leadership skills over technical skills for graduate hires out of school. Only problem is not everyone can become managers so there's a bit of mismatch between who HR hires, and who the managers want to be hired. Shell needs more people who want to have a technical career and stay engineers.

    Shell2019-08-11
  9. "best employer for people caring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDM 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - friendly enviroment and supportive atmosphere - very stable business and mature management - work life balance well

    Cons

    - not easy in business breakthrough - more competitive than earlier years

    Shell2019-08-09
  10. "Great place to work, with some drawbacks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Operator 

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is outstanding and plenty of overtime is available

    Cons

    Work life balance, doing more with less is my biggest drawback

    Shell2019-08-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 822 reviews