Shelter Reviews | Glassdoor

Shelter Reviews

Updated Apr 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Patricia F Beck
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Face Value"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shelter part-time

    Pros

    Great for entry level experience. Small staff, makes for great team work. Never more than 6 clients. Quiet area. Easy to add your own activities due to working solo.

    Cons

    Little guidance, so be ready to make decisions on your own. Pay is low.

    Advice to Management

    Incorporate PT staff in homes with the organization's events and such but not holding them in the middle of the work day.

    Shelter2018-08-16
  2. "High turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Martinez, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Shelter full-time

    Pros

    Rewarding, in that you are assisting with housing individuals

    Cons

    High turnover; too much emphasis on numbers; grant requirements

    Shelter2019-04-15
  3. "Ghw"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shelter part-time

    Pros

    Easy work, no where to move up, independent

    Cons

    Low pay and no raises, working weekends/holidays

    Shelter2018-12-13
  4. "Family support worket"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Shelter full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work very nice people

    Cons

    Great place God’s balance on hours

    Advice to Management

    None

    Shelter2018-05-17
  5. "foreman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Shelter full-time

    Pros

    great people, great, interesting work. we were able to acquire skills, gain new responsibilities regularly, and were given regular pay increases.

    Cons

    hard, physical labor that can wear a body down

    Advice to Management

    Thanks, I have none. I don't feel I'm qualified to comment or to give advice to management at this time.

    Shelter2016-09-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "They will fire you without cause for any reason"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housing & Property Operations Manager in Arlington Heights, Cook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Shelter for more than a year

    Pros

    Has a great Mission! Love the events.

    Cons

    Bad management. HR is messy!

    Advice to Management

    Do better research prior to terminating employee's

    Shelter2016-06-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Shelter Inc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Shelter full-time

    Pros

    Connecting with boys, family environment, overtime offered, good for recent graduates or people looking for extra work/shift

    Cons

    House needed updating, inconsistent hours (although that's normal for this type of job), supervisor at other house would drop off her kids for us to watch, high turn around.

    Advice to Management

    Don't allow lazy supervisors to drop off their kids in other houses, unless it's something necessary/planned ahead/an emergency

    Shelter2016-01-27
  8. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springdale, AR
    Recommends

    I have been working at Shelter for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Income potential, hard work rewarded

    Cons

    None, get out of it what you put into it

    Advice to Management

    None

    Shelter2015-05-24
  9. "Case Manager, Heading Home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Shelter

      Pros

      fast growing organization - Greater Boston Area and North Shore.

      Cons

      Some recent turnover of upper management

      Shelter2014-08-01
    • "Great experience after college"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Group Home Worker in Arlington Heights, Cook, IL
        Recommends

        I worked at Shelter full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great experience after college, flexible work schedule, staff is great (depending on which house you work with

        Cons

        Can feel like you are a babysitter when their is kids and a house sitter when their is no kids

        Shelter2013-03-01
      Found 11 reviews