Sheppard Pratt Health System Mental Health Worker Reviews | Glassdoor

Sheppard Pratt Health System Mental Health Worker Reviews

Updated Nov 27, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Harsh K. Trivedi, M.D., M.B.A.
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "New Hire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Worker in Ellicott City, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Experience of a share day which gets you adjusted to the job description in which you applied for. Friendly and positive staff member's

    Cons

    None to share at this present time!

    Advice to Management

    No advice but a thank you (everyone that saw that i was worth this position) for giving me a start to my career goals!

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2017-10-24
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Mental Health Worker (Child and Adolescent Line)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Worker in Towson, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best part about this job is seeing the patients benefit from 1:1 conversations from employees who actually care. Coworkers (at the time, most of them left because of change in management and horrible conditions) were also amazing. But that is really it. The CEO was fine but we never saw him, so it was hard to make an assessment. Benefits were pretty good but it isn't worth it for the pay. They make the HR representative...

    Show More

    Cons

    Management is very unprofessional. Seeing the patients be in a "crisis" and not get the therapeutic help they needed was very upsetting. This hospital lets people who are NOT trained to run groups are responsible for helping patients. While some people had their bachelors degrees, a lot of the time the bachelor degree was in a completely unrelated field. I just do not understand how they can let people with only a high...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do better. Care about people and their lives. Incorporate learning opportunities for people who want to learn how to actually help these children.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-11-27

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    November 29, 2018Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. It’s our goal to make Sheppard Pratt a place where employees enjoy coming to work each and every day. And it is our priority to create a caring and compassionate workplace for both our patients and staff. We are happy to discuss any feedback you may have. ...

    Show More
  3. "Mental Health Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mental Health Worker in Towson, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Depending on the unit the patients really want the help. You can impact patients and help them live a better life after discharge.

    Cons

    Certain units are very clicky, causing the work environment to be very hostile.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-08-31
  4. "Amazing opportunity for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Worker in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Plenty of overtime -Amazing Learning experience if you are interested in the field of psychology, mental health, or medical field -Flexible schedules -Great Cafeteria -Easy to contact and communicate with other departements -AMAZING BENEFIT and tuition assistance

    Cons

    -There are a lot of mandations -veteran staff can be unwelcoming to new staff -easy to get burnt out if you are not organized

    Advice to Management

    -More cohesiveness among unit employees -Increase communication -employee raises in pay -retreats for staff

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-06-04
  5. "Shocking. I’ve seen a little bit of everything working this job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Worker in White Marsh, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being able to show empathy and help others. Seeing a lot of different types of people of all colors, disorders, and ages.

    Cons

    Can be stressful, burnout happens quickly. Pay is reasonable initially but no merit pay increases offered. Raises are hospital wide.

    Advice to Management

    Offer better pay

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-03-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Mental Health Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mental Health Worker in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best part of the position was being able to work with the patients. They were the major reason why I stayed.

    Cons

    A few mental health workers did the majority of the work. Others where talking or just hanging around. It is hard to get promoted.

    Advice to Management

    More competitive salaries and listen to employee feedback

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2017-11-18

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    February 20, 2018Recruitment and Employment Manager

    We want to hear your feedback. We encourage all of our employees to share concerns and suggestions. We do what we do for our patients, residents and students. Thank you for the care you provided.

  7. "I Loved My Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mental Health Worker in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System

    Pros

    Working at Sheppard Pratt has been one of the best experiences of my life. I was able to get trained on every unit and learn so much during my time there. This organization is passionate about mental health. A lot of people will complain about how employees are treated but I felt beyond appreciated there.

    Cons

    The pay isn't great, you have to be in it because you love it, not just to get a paycheck- although you do get a Christmas bonus which I have yet to find with any other company. If you're not careful in picking up overtime you can easily burn out.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2017-08-15
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Don't waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mental Health Worker in Towson, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Patients, staff you work with

    Cons

    Turnover is high and pay is low

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2017-06-15
  9. "Good start for mental health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mental Health Worker in Ellicott City, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong and reliable staff that will help when needed

    Cons

    Poor management, mandation system that is ridiculous

    Advice to Management

    Improve on communication and honesty

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2017-01-28

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    January 30, 2017Recruitment and Employment Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review. Please contact the Division of Human Resources if you wish to discuss your concerns.

  10. "Mental Health Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mental Health Worker in Fulton, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System for more than a year

    Pros

    -Reputation -Opportunity to work on a variety of floors

    Cons

    -Low pay -Management cuts hours to avoid having to pay benefits

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2017-01-05

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    January 9, 2017Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for providing a review!

Found 25 reviews