Sheppard Pratt Health System Registered Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

Sheppard Pratt Health System Registered Nurse Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Harsh K. Trivedi, M.D., M.B.A.
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN, Bsn 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, flexible scheduling, paid tome off, benefits, room for advancement, the company really shows appreciation for its employees and patients.

    Cons

    Can be stressful and sometimes dangerous working conditions.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2019-05-23

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    July 3, 2019Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased to hear you are having a positive experience here at SPHS!

  2. "Room for internal growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Internal growth options and training.

    Cons

    Lower than average RN salary for a hospital setting.

    Advice to Management

    Tuition assistance program increase and more competitive nursing salaries would increase nursing job satisfaction and retention.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2019-07-02

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    July 3, 2019Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for dedicating over 5 years to working for SPHS! We value the work of all our employees and are pleased to hear you found our training and internal opportunities beneficial. We are always looking for ways to remain competitive and appreciate your suggestions. Thank you!

  3. "Clinical Services Systems Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers and advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Parking can be a problem at times.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-04-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Do not go here for employment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN in Ellicott City, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Every employee gets a lunch break. Free parking. That is all I can think of honestly. There aren’t any more pros.

    Cons

    High turn -over-rate of RN’s.Everyone works every other weekend. Low low low pay! They hire new grad RN’s and expect them to run charge immediately after ending orientation, without extra pay I may add.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2017-12-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Depends on department you work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Jefferson, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I like working in the Nursing Dept. My co-workers are really nice and helpful and my supervisor has been really cool...super supportive & jumps in to help out when needed.

    Cons

    All departments are short staffed. Nursing pay isn't bad but I've heard direct care staff don't get paid well which is unfortunate bc they put up with the most crap.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay. More training & staff education.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2017-11-04
  6. "An unfortunate decline due to poor middle management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Towson, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Being able to make a positive impact with patients

    Cons

    Unfair, bullying and very disrespectful management with upper management and HR doing nothing about it (my manager has yelled at me over the most simple suggestions or benign requests). Only fair pay with no room for advancement. It is at times a very dangerous work environment. Rotating shifts with no control over your schedule--flexible 12 hour shifts are not offered. Mandating is a constant and if you refuse you...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Survey and really listen to your front-line staff (RN's, MHW's, Unit Clerks and S.W.'s). Eliminate ineffective middle management who are ruining this hospital. Increase pay and hire more milieu managers. Allow self scheduling on all the units with the option for 12 hour shifts.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2017-07-18
  7. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Registered Nurse 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      School and unit staff work as a team.

      Cons

      Nursing area poorly managed, do not support one another. Dangerous environment: severe injury 2 months in from a resident. Workmans comp is not compensation at all for everything you have to deal with. It is 2/3 of your pay and you are still responsible for your portion of the healthcare you have through SPHS. Then when you return you are treated poorly, mostly by nursing. I left. I also know this happened to other nurses...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Hire RNs with management education to manage.

      Sheppard Pratt Health System2017-04-04
    Found 7 reviews