Sheppard Pratt Health System Reviews | Glassdoor

Sheppard Pratt Health System Reviews

Updated March 20, 2017
84 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.3
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Harsh K. Trivedi, M.D., M.B.A.
3 Ratings

84 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • The management expects a high turnover rate of employees so they do little to retain the worthwhile ones that they do have (in 4 reviews)

  • Turnover rate and burnout are high due to the lack of breaks and personal time (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Depends what school/hospital you end up at"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Speech Language Pathologist
    Current Employee - Speech Language Pathologist
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Smaller caseloads (20-25 contact hours), big budget for continuing education credit, decent budget for materials, producing quality work good team collaboration. Great kids, staff and management at my school.

    Cons

    difficulty making up sessions/no coverage, no license or CCC reimbursement, very low functioning students (I work in autism program)- so even with the small caseload it can be overwhelming- lots of paperwork, many reports, etc, no pay raise/step-salary in place. SPHS treats all schools and hospitals the same.

    Advice to Management

    Management should allow more flexibility to employees such as therapists who have a set amount of work to get done no matter whether they take days off. Jobs also need more defined descriptions- the demands (paperwork, aac, documentation, etc) have increased enormously just in the 5 years I have been here. Overall SPHS really needs to differentiate their business and have separate policies and procedures for schools and hospitals. Separate servers, and more structure within the schools would help. Because the system is so big it often takes way too long to fix small problems- and the internet and server are always having problems.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    Mar 6, 2017 – Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for your detailed review. We depend on, and appreciate, feedback from our employees!


  2. "Work here if you like workplace drama and like doing the absolute bare minimum to get a check."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Nurse in Towson, MD
    Former Employee - Staff Nurse in Towson, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Free parking. 8 hour shifts. Starbucks in-house. Generous PTO and benefits package. Offers loads of overtime due to constant turnover.

    Cons

    Hostile environment. Gossip rules this place. Employees are encouraged to report each other to management instead of working things out amongst themselves first. Disconnect between clinical leadership and Human Resources. Every review here has a reply to speak to HR about issues; well I did and it ended up making everything worse. Staff-centered care and policies, "physician's orders or else" mentality with a culture that resists even the slightest changes to promote better patient outcomes.

    Advice to Management

    Implement training for coworkers to resolve conflict without involving management. Stop discouraging employees from seeking assistance through Human Resources. Support change and enforce the policies that govern the hospital.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    Mar 21, 2017 – Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for your review. We value feedback from our employees!


  3. "Good start for mental health"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mental Health Worker in Ellicott City, MD
    Former Employee - Mental Health Worker in Ellicott City, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Strong and reliable staff that will help when needed

    Cons

    Poor management, mandation system that is ridiculous

    Advice to Management

    Improve on communication and honesty

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    Jan 30, 2017 – Recruitment and Employment Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review. Please contact the Division of Human Resources if you wish to discuss your concerns.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Mental Health Worker"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mental Health Worker in Fulton, MD
    Former Employee - Mental Health Worker in Fulton, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Reputation
    -Opportunity to work on a variety of floors

    Cons

    -Low pay
    -Management cuts hours to avoid having to pay benefits

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    Jan 9, 2017 – Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for providing a review!


  6. "Unknown"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time

    Pros

    The Sheppard Pratt staff has a great team of staff and providers. it offers a challenging environment that allows you to learn and grow in your area of expertise.

    Cons

    There is not much room for growth. Leadership does not always listen to staff and sometimes appear uninterested. Not enough parking for staff and patients.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the staff. Develop career ladders. Expand parking.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    Jan 16, 2017 – Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for the review. We value the feedback from our employees and former employees!


  7. "special education teacher"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in Baltimore, MD
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System (More than a year)

    Pros

    Higher salary than similar companies, great health and dental benefits

    Cons

    Have to deal with tough population, students with severe emotional and behavioral problems

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    Dec 5, 2016 – Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review!


  8. "Mental Health Worker"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Mental Health Worker in Towson, MD
    Former Employee - Mental Health Worker in Towson, MD

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System (Less than a year)

    Pros

    enjoyed with working with patient population

    Cons

    teamwork among staff could be enhanced

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    Nov 22, 2016 – Recruitment and Employment Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review!


  9. "Great Atmosphere"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Very professional atmosphere and a wonderful learning experience

    Cons

    No negative aspects to review

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    Nov 16, 2016 – Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for your review!


  10. "social worker"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Worker in Towson, MD
    Current Employee - Social Worker in Towson, MD
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    high quality, collaborative, and dedicated clinical staff

    Cons

    poor compensation, with limited opportunity for growth; workload exceeds time allotted and no overtime pay; limited recourse for dealing with difficult supervisors; insurance benefit provides limited coverage

    Advice to Management

    leadership training for middle managers

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    Nov 29, 2016 – Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Please contact Human Resources to discuss your concerns further. We hope to hear from you.


  11. "Need hazard pay"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Worker in Towson, MD
    Current Employee - Mental Health Worker in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time

    Pros

    Okay pay, lots of overtime and paid time off. Friendly staff and co workers.

    Cons

    Expect some form of hospitalization due to extremely unsafe conditions in some of the units coupled by extremely acute and aggressive patients.

    Advice to Management

    Need more staffing and security some units, weekly hospitalizations get old after a while.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    Nov 16, 2016 – Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for your review. We encourage you to contact Human Resources to further discuss you concerns.



Showing 84 of 87 reviews
Reset Filters