Sheppard Pratt Health System Reviews | Glassdoor

Sheppard Pratt Health System Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 145 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Harsh K. Trivedi, M.D., M.B.A.
29 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Poor management, mandation system that is ridiculous(in 10 reviews)

  • "Upper management does not respond in a timely manner when there is an issue(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN, Bsn 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, flexible scheduling, paid tome off, benefits, room for advancement, the company really shows appreciation for its employees and patients.

    Cons

    Can be stressful and sometimes dangerous working conditions.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2019-05-23

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    July 3, 2019Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased to hear you are having a positive experience here at SPHS!

  2. "Growth Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule and good managers

    Cons

    No paid holidays. Sometimes parking is hard

    Advice to Management

    It’s unfair to make employees who work in offices to use PTO for holidays. Holidays should be paid.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2019-08-06
  3. "a place for mental health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Technician in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    a great place to work

    Cons

    can have some days of unhappiness due to patients attitude

    Advice to Management

    be attentive to the plight of your employees

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2019-07-25
  4. "Good resume builder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MST Therapist in Frederick, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is above average

    Cons

    Paperwork inconsistenty in expectations lack of supervision

    Advice to Management

    Consistency

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2019-07-23
  5. "Good Entry Level Even Though Pay Sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Worker 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I just started working here so I will only talk about what I know so far. I love my job, and I love helping patients. Great benefits

    Cons

    The pay is horrible. I didn't graduate from college to make this little bit of money. It's insulting. Someone who doesn't even have a degree only makes .30 cents less than I do. Drama. Some of the older staff aren't very nice or welcoming. Everybody complains about the manager in my unit.

    Advice to Management

    The mandations are ridiculous. Some of the rules are ridiculous lighten up just a little. PAY EMPLOYEES THEIR WORTH!!!!!!

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2019-07-30
  6. "Mental Health Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Mental Health Worker 

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time

    Pros

    I had supportive coworkers who I was able to learn a lot from.

    Cons

    There was a lot of turnover among staff, which made it difficult to build a lasting team approach to patient care.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2019-07-17

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    July 22, 2019Recruitment and Employment Manager

    We are pleased to hear you felt supported by your team and were able to learn from them as well. Thank you for your feedback!

  7. "Excellent Stepping Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Art Teacher in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The experience is unforgettable. If you really invest yourself into the job you can grow exponentially.

    Cons

    Be careful not to burn out. Take lots of time for yourself. Don't expect much professional teaching development. Rely solely on your own ability to self-start and enjoy the lack of accountability. Some of the leadership team/administration are pretty timid when it comes to actually being in the school/classrooms.

    Advice to Management

    Actually get to know what is going on in the school so that you can make improvements based on the reality of the school environment - not leading blindly and making guesses as to what needs to change. That leads to a lot of inconsistency and the staff do not take it seriously.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2019-06-24

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    July 3, 2019Recruitment and Employment Manager

    We understand that our employees have challenging roles within the organization; and, we hope they find the work they do, even on the toughest of days, rewarding. Our leadership team members strive to provide resources to staff that foster professional growth and development. Thank ...

    Show More
  8. "Poor condition no management support unappreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    none nada zip zero empty

    Cons

    Used to be a place in which a good work life balance was traded off for lower pay. Now it is just unpleasant all around.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2019-07-02

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    July 9, 2019Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for your service to Sheppard Pratt. We always welcome feedback and encourage you to speak with your supervisor and/or with the HR team to discuss your concerns and/or suggestions for improving the employee experience.

  9. "Room for internal growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Internal growth options and training.

    Cons

    Lower than average RN salary for a hospital setting.

    Advice to Management

    Tuition assistance program increase and more competitive nursing salaries would increase nursing job satisfaction and retention.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2019-07-02

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    July 3, 2019Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for dedicating over 5 years to working for SPHS! We value the work of all our employees and are pleased to hear you found our training and internal opportunities beneficial. We are always looking for ways to remain competitive and appreciate your suggestions. Thank you!

  10. "great coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Purchasing Assistant 

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great work environment. I enjoyed my time working there. Co-workers very friendly and helpful

    Cons

    low pay, no chance of advancement

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2019-03-05
Found 145 reviews