Sheppard Pratt Health System Reviews | Glassdoor

Sheppard Pratt Health System Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 145 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Harsh K. Trivedi, M.D., M.B.A.
29 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN, Bsn 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, flexible scheduling, paid tome off, benefits, room for advancement, the company really shows appreciation for its employees and patients.

    Cons

    Can be stressful and sometimes dangerous working conditions.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2019-05-23

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    July 3, 2019Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased to hear you are having a positive experience here at SPHS!

  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time

    Pros

    8 hours of PTO every pay, great benefits package, staff is very nice, and my director is WONDERFUL

    Cons

    I have no complaints at this time

    Advice to Management

    Staff works extra hard, possibly give us bonuses once a year.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-11-17

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    February 5, 2019Recruitment and Employment Manager

    We are so pleased to hear you are having such a positive experience with SPHS! Thank you for sharing!

  3. "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time

    Pros

    Very good company, with excellent benefits.

    Cons

    Not enough workers to assist with completion of tasks.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-07-24

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    October 12, 2018Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for your comments!

  4. "Outstanding Employer!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crisis Clinician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have worked for Sheppard Pratt Hospital System for over 30 years and been very satisfied with my employment. SPHS offers competitive wages, an excellent benefit package, including paid time off and flexibility in work schedules.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, there are not many positions available for masters level clinicians without a license in the system.

    Advice to Management

    Offer retention raises for every year worked.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-06-01

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    October 12, 2018Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for your continued dedication to SPHS and all those we serve! We are pleased to hear your experience has been a positive one!

  5. Helpful (1)

    "The most amazing opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    SPHS is an organization that truly respects recovery and an individual's desire to 'give back' to a community that is often forgotten. My interview process was impressive, meeting with the VP of nursing and the President of the company. Upper management have always been very supportive and I can actually 'get them' on my cell phone if necessary. This isn't something afforded to most employees of such large organizations....

    Show More

    Cons

    There is often a 'ole timers culture' of long time employees that can be viewed as intimidating to new hires. It doesn't take much to welcome someone, and I find this behavior shocking because working in the role of a caregiver one should expect to receive a very friendly and welcoming environment. Now just what is that stating to the frightened patient that comes in for care?

    Advice to Management

    Working in management, I can only imagine the level of stress and the unplanned sacrifice one must be willing to endure. I salute your dedication and will continue to pray for your personal sanity, lol. Thank you for your service and keep up the great work!

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-05-20
  6. "Clinical Services Systems Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers and advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Parking can be a problem at times.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-04-17
  7. "Great non-profit employes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Sheppard Pratt is a non-profit organization with a very worthwhile mission. I have been here over 6 years and have had a very good experience with supportive management, the opportunity for work life balance, good benefits and PTO, and great co-workers. This is a great organization with so many locations and affiliates including Family Services, Mosaic, and Way Station.

    Cons

    No cons to list at this time

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-03-07
  8. "Mental health worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time

    Pros

    Great support from co workers.

    Cons

    Low lay for work however low increment raises twice a year usually

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-02-13

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    February 20, 2018Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for your review!

  9. "Mental Health Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System part-time

    Pros

    Flexible shifts, great coworkers, great clinical experience

    Cons

    Not consistently supported by superiors

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-01-08

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    February 20, 2018Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for your review! We love to hear that Sheppard Pratt was able to give you a valuable clinical experience.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Mental Health Worker/Addiction counselling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Mental Health Counselor in Towson, MD

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Learned alot of psychology medical terms, able to take vital signs after being taught, able to do one-on-one counseling.

    Cons

    FOUND NO CONS WITH THAT LOCATION

    Advice to Management

    None

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2017-11-28

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    February 20, 2018Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback! We are delighted that you had such a positive experience.

Found 145 reviews