Sheppard Pratt Health System Reviews | Glassdoor

Sheppard Pratt Health System Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 141 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Harsh K. Trivedi, M.D., M.B.A.
27 Ratings
  1. "Amazing opportunity for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Worker in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Plenty of overtime -Amazing Learning experience if you are interested in the field of psychology, mental health, or medical field -Flexible schedules -Great Cafeteria -Easy to contact and communicate with other departements -AMAZING BENEFIT and tuition assistance

    Cons

    -There are a lot of mandations -veteran staff can be unwelcoming to new staff -easy to get burnt out if you are not organized

    Advice to Management

    -More cohesiveness among unit employees -Increase communication -employee raises in pay -retreats for staff

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-06-04
  2. "Outstanding Employer!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crisis Clinician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have worked for Sheppard Pratt Hospital System for over 30 years and been very satisfied with my employment. SPHS offers competitive wages, an excellent benefit package, including paid time off and flexibility in work schedules.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, there are not many positions available for masters level clinicians without a license in the system.

    Advice to Management

    Offer retention raises for every year worked.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-06-01

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    October 12, 2018Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for your continued dedication to SPHS and all those we serve! We are pleased to hear your experience has been a positive one!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "The most amazing opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    SPHS is an organization that truly respects recovery and an individual's desire to 'give back' to a community that is often forgotten. My interview process was impressive, meeting with the VP of nursing and the President of the company. Upper management have always been very supportive and I can actually 'get them' on my cell phone if necessary. This isn't something afforded to most employees of such large organizations....

    Show More

    Cons

    There is often a 'ole timers culture' of long time employees that can be viewed as intimidating to new hires. It doesn't take much to welcome someone, and I find this behavior shocking because working in the role of a caregiver one should expect to receive a very friendly and welcoming environment. Now just what is that stating to the frightened patient that comes in for care?

    Advice to Management

    Working in management, I can only imagine the level of stress and the unplanned sacrifice one must be willing to endure. I salute your dedication and will continue to pray for your personal sanity, lol. Thank you for your service and keep up the great work!

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-05-20
  4. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff in Towson, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work schedule is flexible, cafeteria food is relatively cheap, and the staff memebers are nice

    Cons

    It’s a small health system so everyone basically knows everyone else. They need additional offices and staff designated to doing specific jobs and duties that other offices end up having to do, even though it has nothing to do with their job.

    Advice to Management

    Take into consideration peoples schedules, including other job schedules.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-05-03
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Hard to review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Nurse in Towson, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Almost unlimited overtime. Rewarding to work with patients and seeing them improve. The individuals that are dedicated to their job and the hospital mission make coming to work a joy.

    Cons

    The culture here is terrible. Those who do their jobs, follow policy and work hard are victims of workplace violence daily and ostracized by the majority. The majority consist of individuals not dedicated to patient care, are motivated only by the monetary value of overtime and those that consistently cut corners placing both patients and staff at risk.

    Advice to Management

    Start over. Don't be afraid to replace problem staff due to staffing issues. Managers please don't hire everyone HR recommends, they are missing the mark clearly judging by the turnover here.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-05-03
  6. "Clinical Services Systems Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers and advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Parking can be a problem at times.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-04-17
  7. "Great non-profit employes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Sheppard Pratt is a non-profit organization with a very worthwhile mission. I have been here over 6 years and have had a very good experience with supportive management, the opportunity for work life balance, good benefits and PTO, and great co-workers. This is a great organization with so many locations and affiliates including Family Services, Mosaic, and Way Station.

    Cons

    No cons to list at this time

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-03-07
  8. "Shocking. I’ve seen a little bit of everything working this job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Worker in White Marsh, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being able to show empathy and help others. Seeing a lot of different types of people of all colors, disorders, and ages.

    Cons

    Can be stressful, burnout happens quickly. Pay is reasonable initially but no merit pay increases offered. Raises are hospital wide.

    Advice to Management

    Offer better pay

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-03-05
  9. "Terrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Gained great experience and loved my patients.

      Cons

      Treat patients and employees like dirt. Underpaid. Made up lies to get me fired and didnt even care to hear my side of the story. Lose lose situation on my end. Should have sued.

      Advice to Management

      New management needed

      Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-03-23
    • "Mental health worker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time

      Pros

      Great support from co workers.

      Cons

      Low lay for work however low increment raises twice a year usually

      Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-02-13

      Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

      February 20, 2018Recruitment and Employment Manager

      Thank you for your review!

    Found 141 reviews