Sheppard Pratt Health System Reviews | Glassdoor

Sheppard Pratt Health System Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 141 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Harsh K. Trivedi, M.D., M.B.A.
27 Ratings
  1. "New Leadership in an establish company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Large company, decent benefits, lots of job opportunities

    Cons

    micromanagement, power struggles on all levels, PTO application does not make sense for all staff who are NOT hospital employees

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-02-07

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    February 20, 2018Recruitment and Employment Manager

    We appreciate our employees who take the time to provide feedback. Please reach out to our employee relations team if you would like to further discuss any concerns or suggestions.

  2. "Mental Health Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System part-time

    Pros

    Flexible shifts, great coworkers, great clinical experience

    Cons

    Not consistently supported by superiors

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-01-08

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    February 20, 2018Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for your review! We love to hear that Sheppard Pratt was able to give you a valuable clinical experience.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Mental Health Worker/Addiction counselling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Mental Health Counselor in Towson, MD

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Learned alot of psychology medical terms, able to take vital signs after being taught, able to do one-on-one counseling.

    Cons

    FOUND NO CONS WITH THAT LOCATION

    Advice to Management

    None

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2017-11-28

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    February 20, 2018Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback! We are delighted that you had such a positive experience.

  4. "Mental Health Woker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time

      Pros

      Good Health Care, Great Staff and just a great place to work !

      Cons

      The could pay more, but really thats about it

      Sheppard Pratt Health System2017-11-08

      Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

      February 20, 2018Recruitment and Employment Manager

      We are proud of the work we do and appreciate our staff! Thank you for your review.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Mental Health Worker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Mental Health Worker in Towson, MD
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The best part of the position was being able to work with the patients. They were the major reason why I stayed.

      Cons

      A few mental health workers did the majority of the work. Others where talking or just hanging around. It is hard to get promoted.

      Advice to Management

      More competitive salaries and listen to employee feedback

      Sheppard Pratt Health System2017-11-18

      Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

      February 20, 2018Recruitment and Employment Manager

      We want to hear your feedback. We encourage all of our employees to share concerns and suggestions. We do what we do for our patients, residents and students. Thank you for the care you provided.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Do not go here for employment."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Staff RN in Ellicott City, MD
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Every employee gets a lunch break. Free parking. That is all I can think of honestly. There aren’t any more pros.

      Cons

      High turn -over-rate of RN’s.Everyone works every other weekend. Low low low pay! They hire new grad RN’s and expect them to run charge immediately after ending orientation, without extra pay I may add.

      Sheppard Pratt Health System2017-12-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "New Hire"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Mental Health Worker in Ellicott City, MD
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Experience of a share day which gets you adjusted to the job description in which you applied for. Friendly and positive staff member's

      Cons

      None to share at this present time!

      Advice to Management

      No advice but a thank you (everyone that saw that i was worth this position) for giving me a start to my career goals!

      Sheppard Pratt Health System2017-10-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "Depends on department you work in"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Jefferson, MD
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I like working in the Nursing Dept. My co-workers are really nice and helpful and my supervisor has been really cool...super supportive & jumps in to help out when needed.

      Cons

      All departments are short staffed. Nursing pay isn't bad but I've heard direct care staff don't get paid well which is unfortunate bc they put up with the most crap.

      Advice to Management

      Increase pay. More training & staff education.

      Sheppard Pratt Health System2017-11-04
    • "Supervisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time

      Pros

      Working with great staff and support from front line staff

      Cons

      Very poor upper management don’t care about front line staff

      Sheppard Pratt Health System2017-11-21
    • "Mental Health Worker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ellicott City, MD
      Doesn't Recommend
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good experience in mental health, PTO, and endless opportunities for overtime

      Cons

      Environment can be potentially dangerous with certain aggressive patients. We also do not get paid nearly enough.

      Advice to Management

      Pay your workers more.

      Sheppard Pratt Health System2017-10-25
    Found 141 reviews