Sheppard Pratt Health System Staff Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

Sheppard Pratt Health System Staff Nurse Reviews

Updated May 2, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 5 reviews

1.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
1%
Recommend to a Friend
Harsh K. Trivedi, M.D., M.B.A.
0 Ratings
  1. "Excellent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Nurse in Towson, MD
    Recommends

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System

    Pros

    Progressive and personal development is encouraged

    Cons

    Sometimes, working in psychiatry itself can be challenging

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, free turkey for employees who work on thanksgiving

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2008-12-03
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Hard to review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Nurse in Towson, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Almost unlimited overtime. Rewarding to work with patients and seeing them improve. The individuals that are dedicated to their job and the hospital mission make coming to work a joy.

    Cons

    The culture here is terrible. Those who do their jobs, follow policy and work hard are victims of workplace violence daily and ostracized by the majority. The majority consist of individuals not dedicated to patient care, are motivated only by the monetary value of overtime and those that consistently cut corners placing both patients and staff at risk.

    Advice to Management

    Start over. Don't be afraid to replace problem staff due to staffing issues. Managers please don't hire everyone HR recommends, they are missing the mark clearly judging by the turnover here.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2018-05-03
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Work here if you like workplace drama and like doing the absolute bare minimum to get a check."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Nurse in Towson, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free parking. 8 hour shifts. Starbucks in-house. Generous PTO and benefits package. Offers loads of overtime due to constant turnover.

    Cons

    Hostile environment. Gossip rules this place. Employees are encouraged to report each other to management instead of working things out amongst themselves first. Disconnect between clinical leadership and Human Resources. Every review here has a reply to speak to HR about issues; well I did and it ended up making everything worse. Staff-centered care and policies, "physician's orders or else" mentality with a culture...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Implement training for coworkers to resolve conflict without involving management. Stop discouraging employees from seeking assistance through Human Resources. Support change and enforce the policies that govern the hospital.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2017-03-20

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    March 21, 2017Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thank you for your review. We value feedback from our employees!

  4. "They provide freedom to move around the hopsital to help employees determine a well-fitting role ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Nurse in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, plenty of hours to work, flexible schedule options, adequate training & continuous education. Decent leadership and opportunity for advancement.

    Cons

    Employees who do not deal well with psych patients are tolerated. They need to better enforce rules about therapeutic communication.

    Advice to Management

    Continue offering opportunities for growth & advancement. Reconsider limit on per diem hours and overall staff pay scales.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2015-03-28

    Sheppard Pratt Health System Response

    September 1, 2015Recruitment and Employment Manager

    Thanks you! We encourage our employees to apply for any internal transfer opportunity for which they are qualified and are happy for our employees who find promotional opportunities in the health system! We are lucky to be able to provide opportunities for continuing education both ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (2)

    "I used to work there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Nurse in Towson, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sheppard Pratt Health System full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Can become very knowledgeable about how to handle aggressive patients. Some of the best co-workers around.

    Cons

    Managers tend to bully those under them; if it's reported, goes back to managers doing bullying. No support from Human Resources. Don't work there if you are idealistic.

    Advice to Management

    Really need to take an interest in day-to-day experience of direct care workers. Search out those who are being bullied; don't wait for them to report it.

    Sheppard Pratt Health System2013-08-04
Found 5 reviews