Sherwin-Williams "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Sherwin-Williams Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Dec 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Sherwin-Williams CEO John Morikis
John Morikis
860 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great pay good exercise good management great benefits all around fantastic place to work(in 274 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and 401k employer match(in 235 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours of operations so shifts can vary a lot(in 233 reviews)

  • "There's limited help from upper management(in 221 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great opportunity employer if you put in the work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sherwin-Williams full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Excellent culture, depending on what department you work in. -If you produce high quality work consistently, you will be recognized. You get what you deserve at this company. If you do mediocre work expecting to get a raise first before you start doing more, it's just not going to happen. -Good benefits and 401k employer match. -End user support service oriented.

    Cons

    -Organizational/infrastructure issues which are affected by decisions made from people at the "top" who know nothing about ground-level operations because the top-down communication is poor. -Poor software and hardware deployment/implementation. -Poor change and problem management. -Not enough investment in globalizing the technology at the company and strengthening it's IT support infrastructure. -Those... working on deploying new technologies don't account for business critical systems enough, resulting in drastic consequences which are dealt with by the lesser-paid employees. -Mediocre white men tend to get promoted/valued more in IT here. Women are more likely to be scrutinized unless they excel in absolutely everything.

    Show More
    Sherwin-Williams2019-08-23
  2. "good place to grow within company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sherwin-Williams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good starting salary. good benefits, 401k

    Cons

    usally understaffed at the store level.

    Sherwin-Williams2019-12-02
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 

    I have been working at Sherwin-Williams full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, really enjoy working with the other staff in stores and reasonable growth opportunities

    Cons

    Upper management can be hands off when you need to talk to them and have brushed me to the side when I wanted to discus the next steps in my career.

    Advice to Management

    Make time for employees when they want to discus their future with the company

    Sherwin-Williams2019-12-03
  4. "Great place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sherwin-Williams full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Career Opportunities Great Culture Good Benefits Continued Education

    Cons

    Old Fashioned Limited Flexibility Limited work from home

    Sherwin-Williams2019-09-27
  5. "Good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Sherwin-Williams full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and decent pay.

    Cons

    Amount of hours worked.

    Sherwin-Williams2019-09-10
  6. "Not what I was expecting but a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Danville, IL

    I worked at Sherwin-Williams full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits being such a large company, well established company with good brand recognition

    Cons

    Had to operate a forklift and carry large buckets of paint. During the recruiting process I was never told that would be a part of the job.

    Sherwin-Williams2019-08-14
  7. "Okay Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Sherwin-Williams part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Low pay, but good benefits

    Cons

    long hours of operations so shifts can vary a lot.

    Sherwin-Williams2019-08-12
  8. "It is alright."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management Trainee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sherwin-Williams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay for fresh out of college grad, good benefits/matching, working for a Fortune 500 company is nice because they generally treat their employees well and have lunches and events, room to move up in the company (to an extent).

    Cons

    Salary is based off 44-hour workweek, managers play favorites (I was one, but other people would call all of them the "golden children"), labor-intensive, lots of information to memorize, and they place you anywhere in the district regardless of your needs or desires.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your SM's, ASMs, and Sales Reps. I would not have left if I was not placed in stores that were an hour away from me when there were locations near me that had openings.

    Sherwin-Williams2019-07-27
  9. "It was an ok experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sherwin-Williams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and great bonuses

    Cons

    The management wasn't the best

    Sherwin-Williams2019-07-23
  10. "My experience working with this company since early 2017"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ft Sales Associate in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sherwin-Williams full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, 401k plan, flexible hours in commercial locations.

    Cons

    Wages are not enough for the amount of work you're asked for, part time hours are pretty much non existant which means FT employees are left to pick up the slack of the under staffed stores! But the biggest con is IF YOU DON'T HAVE A COLLEGE DEGREE YOU ARE NOT MOVING UP PERIOD! DOESN'T MATTER HOW GOOD YOUR NUMBERS ARE OR YOUR PAST EXPERIENCE OR YOU'RE WILLINGNESS TO RELOCATE THEY JUST DON'T PROMOTE FROM WITHIN!

    Advice to Management

    Mtp program is great for people who got their degrees they deserve the benefit of being managers as soon as they join the company but lets be fair if u have 6 management positions opened up, 3 should be Mtp's and 3 should be from within not all 6 should be Mtp's cause that why management doesn't like their job and the full timers who do love their job and want a career end up leaving! Come on now be smart promote... from WITHIN!

    Show More
    Sherwin-Williams2019-07-09
Found 235 reviews