KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Shi by Journeys

Is this your company?

Shi by Journeys

Add a Review

Shi by Journeys Reviews

Updated May 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 of over 40 reviews

2.4
22%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Shi by Journeys Chairman, CEO & President of Operations Robert J. Dennis (no image)
Robert J. Dennis
12 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Company Review

    Nov 10, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employees are laid back Awesome products in the store 40% discount

    Cons

    Minimum wage with 4% sales commission.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great in theory

    Jan 18, 2021 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The employees are incredible and the culture is great.

    Cons

    The pay is not great given COVID19 and less foot traffic.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Fine

    Aug 30, 2020 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good but not great. Ok

    Cons

    Bad management. Made no money

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Absolutely no work/ life balance

    Jun 10, 2020 - Store Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Discount on shoes, Fun work environment

    Cons

    Most weeks 1 or 0 days off. Extremely competitive selling environment. Low pay

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Horrible

    Nov 19, 2019 - Key Holder in Kennesaw, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    40% off on shoes and great leadership experience

    Cons

    Not great management and they didn't really focus on the growth of their employees

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee

    worst job of my life.

    Feb 2, 2011 - Sales Associate in Hoover, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A 40% discount is really awesome. Almost all of my coworkers were really cool and fun to be with. My manager was also very sweet. However, the only thing I do not regret about working at Shi is that I met my fiance through the company.

    Cons

    The pay is insulting. You are payed $6/hr plus 4% commission. The management plays favorites with hours, but in a bizarre way. I worked there when I was a high school student, and I was given 30-35 hours a week, while other employees who did not go to school and had this as their primary job would be scheduled maybe 20 hours a week. They expect you to make ridiculous sales goals, and your percentages can easily be thrown off if you sell more shoes than handbags or accessories. If you fail to meet your goal twice, you will be written up, if you fail to meet it once more you will be terminated. The managers also get payed on commission, which means that they compete with their employees and steal sales from them in order to make as much money as possible without thinking of their staff. You are required to hassle customers and pressure them into sales. Do NOT work at Shi or Journeys if you want to get payed decently and feel respected by the company and management

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Don't Do It!

    Dec 7, 2015 - Part-Time Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I loved this job in the beginning. It was my first job, I was good at it and it was fairly easy. I had pretty good hours and the people i worked with were okay. There is also a 40% discount. I couldn't understand why other people who were there hated it so deeply. I did have good managers that were good to me.

    Cons

    All of that soon changed. While working there in the short 8 months i did, I had 3 different Managers, and 6 different co-managers. Countless people were fired and hired , many without even knowing they had been terminated with the managers instead telling the other employees. There was a lot of corruption as well as extreme cattiness even with managers talking about employees to other employees.All employees besides managers are part-time. If there is ever more than 5 employees at one time good luck with getting any hours. The pay is terrible. I was an excellent employee and despite that was never told that i had been terminated let alone given a reason as to why. One week i just wasn't given hours and every week after that was the same and when i asked about why i was never given an answer. They know this is wrong and take advantage of young people as there is never a worker over 20 besides the mangers which are normally anywhere from 18-25.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    the job just wasn't for me

    Jan 28, 2018 - Receptionist in Acworth, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    working at journeys from she helped me a lot with talking to people, opening up to people, being there was all about making sales for shoes. although I am not a sales person the job really helped me out with my shyness.

    Cons

    in order to sell a client an item. you have to do whatever it takes to to convince them that what you are selling is the best item yet. I had no problem with selling but I can tell when a client would get annoyed and I hated that feeling. It made me and the custumor feel both uncomfortable. my manager would yell at me if I didn't keep talking to the customer or persuade the client more and more.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    All work, no pay!

    May 25, 2013 - Co-Manager in Grandville, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great discount at Journeys, Shi by Journeys, and all other sister stores . As a co-manager you get a lot of management experience under your belt.

    Cons

    As a manager you work like a slave and the company pays you next to nothing. You must work a minimum of 45 hours every week, but you will most likely be expected to work more than that. If you work more than 45 hours you won't be offered any overtime. You work on commission, so if you are asked to do anything other then sell shoes you will not be getting paid anymore than you would already be receiving. Most weeks I only made minimum wage after I crunched numbers and divided what my paycheck by the amount of hours I worked. The amount of work you will have to do does not add up, and at the end of the day it is not worth it to work here.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    I've worked full, and part time.

    Jan 8, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people to work with, always a lot of fun Keyholder, or part time is the position to have.

    Cons

    If you're full time (co manager, or manager) you have no life. I worked 50-60 hours a week, since you only make 4.35 an hour, and 4% on every sale your pay only amounted to minimum wage. It sucked to miss my family all the time.

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 40 Reviews

Work at Shi by Journeys? Share Your Experiences

Shi by Journeys logo
or