KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

ShiftWise

Is this your company?

ShiftWise

Add a Review

ShiftWise Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 of over 47 reviews

3.0
47%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
ShiftWise President of Vendor Management Solutions Eric Christenson (no image)
Eric Christenson
7 Ratings
Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Some Pretty Serious Problems

    Mar 22, 2018 - Software Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There was a unique and caring culture here once, and most people wish it were still alive. Meeting with leadership is possible. You might get lip service, but you can have their ear for a minute. Some people still give a rip about doing things well. They don’t have power but continue to share their thoughts.

    Cons

    I want you to know that I feel betrayed and disrespected for not receiving the raises I negotiated two years in a row. It’s not about the money. It’s about value and trust. Realizing that this was happening to others, not just me, tore me up inside. People are nervous about losing their jobs because the reorganization has been slowly eliminating positions from the entire company over the last half year. Management has been extremely opaque, and their stories don’t match when questioned about the changes. I have been careful to collect knowledge from as many parties as possible, and I’ve come away with a chilling and dissatisfying collection of stories. The technology stack, which is a little funny, was made wildy difficult by a series of decisions to change stable elements of our application at the very last moment. The people responsible are no longer with the company, but it left a massive mark on both the developers and the application itself. Finally, corporate maintains a quiet but firm grasp on the company, restricting the flow of necessary resources including vital hardware and software licenses. Which has at times brought development to a screeching halt but more frequently to the sort of slow trickle which makes you think about calling a doctor.

    Continue reading
    17 people found this review helpful

    ShiftWise Response

    ShiftWise Response Team

    Thank you sharing your experience with ShiftWise. Leaders at ShiftWise will make time to listen and implement improvements where possible. It is our goal to attract talented professionals by offering competitive compensation and benefits that match or exceed market rates. It is unfortunate that you experienced a compensation structure that didn’t meet your needs. If you are open to discussing your experience further, please reach out to me at eric.christenson@shiftwise.com. Eric Christenson, President Vendor Management Solutions.

  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Used to be awesome

    Mar 23, 2018 - Software Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Low level employees are all super nice, intelligent and helpful. A few vestiges of the company's golden age linger like free break room snacks, beer on tap and bagels every other Friday.

    Cons

    Over the last year, every one of the technology leaders from director down to manager and architect have been fired or forced out. The new management team is a mixed bag, but there are a few leaders who are both outspoken and incredibly toxic. This week alone there are seven people who were fired or quit and a few more are on their way out next week. I have no idea what the future of this company will look like once everyone is done fleeing the ship but I doubt it will be anything like the wonderful place this was during my first few years here. As others here have said, there is an open door policy and leaders will listen to whatever you have to say. However, they will tell you only what they think you want to hear to make you feel better without promising any action. It's essentially a free therapy session, just don't expect anything to change as a result. For example, I was told I would get a raise in January after I had a series of meetings concerning my under market wages. As you probably already guessed I didn't get the raise.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    ShiftWise Response

    ShiftWise Response Team

    Thank you for sharing your perspectives on your ShiftWise experience. You’re right about the number of positive, intelligent and helpful people we have working here. We are always looking at how we can improve our management and messaging to enhance our culture and engagement. If you are open to discussing your experience further, please reach out to me at eric.christenson@shiftwise.com. Eric Christenson, President Vendor Management Solutions.

  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    What happened?

    Feb 8, 2018 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    What's left of my team.

    Cons

    I've been here for years and Shiftwise used to be great. Since AMN bought us it's gone downhill. The new president and his people are fake. Upper management acts like they're listening when they're not. People are leaving or getting let go left and right. Employees who have been around for a long time are gone. We're not even warned to say goodbye. No real explanation. Everyone is looking over their shoulders and a lot are looking for other work. Employees are treated differently from person to person. Some are allowed things while another employee is not. They're becoming corporate and all about money. The product is not working as it should. Neither is the new one. The pay is too low for the work requested. Appreciation and culture are faked. Excuses of why someone isn't promoted or put into a different position do not make sense. No real raises or appreciation.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    ShiftWise Response

    ShiftWise Response Team

    It is unfortunate when there is turnover in team members. We are proud of the team that is here and are looking to add talented, engaged professionals to further our product growth. Engagement and culture are very important to me and it is important for leadership to commit to positive and transparent communication. As I become more involved in the company, our team will know the vision and understand the journey. If you are open to discussing your experience further, please reach out to me at eric.christenson@shiftwise.com. Eric Christenson, President Vendor Management Solutions.

  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Donnar party of four, your table is waiting.

    Feb 2, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You don't have to work the first day your hired... or the following two weeks, because you wont have a laptop to work on! You can commiserate with your coworkers about how the company has slipped from it's grand status to just another sleazy corporate - soul sucking machine. Well, not all of them though since there's so many fake people there now. They make it hard to navigate a day as a rational human being and frighteningly, it's hard to discern them from the sconces. You can eat off the M&Ms and Goldfish you can cram in your face hole while washing it down with bitter, bitter coffee. Assuming that you don't win the coffee lottery. That's when you go to fill your cup in the morning and ALL FOUR of the air pots are empty. Filthy cretins! At least you can recall your happy childhood trampoline since the floor literally bounces when people of all sizes and shapes walk by; from the teeniest, tiniest to the bigliest. Oh yes, and there are many of the bigliest people, especially the executives. Don't worry, it's only seven floors to your death. You can multi-task by eating at your desk and working through your lunch because, even though there's a large open area designated as a break room, it's often overrun by a meeting. Even if it's not, you'll probably get called back to your desk because managers don't understand the simple concept of "leave me alone for long enough to absorb these complex carbohydrates and protein"!

    Cons

    If you work hard, treat people with respect and show up everyday on time, you wont get a raise, you wont get recognition. The only recognition you will ever get is a bogus "shout-out" at the mandatory - monthly, town hall meeting. Where you can listen to the big cheese yell out "CASH MONEY" because that is literally the only thing he cares about; profits. In fact, the software developers have two interesting metrics for earning bonuses at the end of 2018, 1) turnover rate lower than 24% 2) a direct reliance on company profits. Odd then that since the beginning of 2018, the new VP of Technology (who set those rules) has fired at least three people. At this rate, the bonus wont come.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful

    ShiftWise Response

    ShiftWise Response Team

    It is unfortunate that you had a poor experience at ShiftWise. We are striving to foster a positive environment of pride with our team members. The technology and service we deliver impacts thousands of people on a daily basis. We have been investing in new tools, management development, and improving our overall talent compensation. If you are open to discussing your experience further, please reach out to me at eric.christenson@shiftwise.com. Eric Christenson, President Vendor Management Solutions.

  5. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Was a great Start-Up

    Jan 8, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice office space, great kitchen

    Cons

    Management focused on EBITA only, not on their employees. Lack of customer focus leads to loss of client base.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    ShiftWise Response

    ShiftWise Response Team

    I agree we have great team members here in a great facility! Focus on our employees and customers is imperative to our success. Thank you for bringing your experience forward. If you are open to discussing your experience further, please reach out to me at eric.christenson@shiftwise.com. Eric Christenson, President Vendor Management Solutions.

  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    No longer a good place to work

    Jan 25, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some good people left, kitchen with snacks and drinks

    Cons

    Management has created an environment of fear and suspicion. ShiftWise used to be a great place to work, it had a great culture of fun and energetic people working together. I used to love working here and even bragged about this place. Now I’m looking for a new job as soon as possible and am embarrassed to be part of this situation. We were bought by AMN HealthCare a couple years ago, our president left, and the new bro-club arrived. With them they brought in a very different culture. The new president and his bros have brought in a culture of fear and suspicion. People are fired (‘m sorry, “laid off”) without comment or explanation or even justification. The president says he has an “open door policy” but really, he just hangs out (eats lunch, plays golf, jokes in the lunchroom) with those he likes, or is gone. He’s gone a lot. Management is not interested in improving or helping people grow, they instead yell, point fingers, and promote people randomly. I’ve been in too many meetings where senior management isn’t even on the same page and the rest of us are left to sit and listen to them argue. Of course there is no clear direction either, so hard for them to be on the same page as to what we are doing or even whether or not we are successful. Over the last six months there have been a series of sudden “layoffs” where they announce via an email, that there has been a “re-org” and certain people are no longer here. There is no notice, and we aren’t even given the chance to say good-bye. They are just removed, usually with their stuff still at their desks. It is at best bizarre and at worse unprofessional and insensitive. This has left everyone with a sense of fear, wondering when they will be next. In all my experience working at other companies, I’ve never seen this type of treatment of people.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    ShiftWise Response

    ShiftWise Response Team

    Thank you for your honest feedback. As I become more involved with ShiftWise, it is important for all of our team members to feel valued as we are building great things! The culture of the company is made up of the individuals that work here, and if I understand the issues, we will make the appropriate changes. We have the right team members in place, and are looking to expand with talented individuals to help us grow further. If you are open to discussing your experience further, please reach out to me at eric.christenson@shiftwise.com. Eric Christenson, President Vendor Management Solutions.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    The best place I've ever worked

    Aug 27, 2017 - Software Developer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great life work balance . Employee input valued and encouraged . CEO and upper management all very attentive and pleasant to work with . Great kitchen and benefits package.

    Cons

    Based on reviews on this site there are a few employees that are unhappy but seem unwilling to talk to the managers because I feel confident it would be resolved .

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great culture Great people Great leadership!

    Jul 12, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The culture and people are fantastic - so welcoming, energetic and collaborative. Everyone is a contributor and driven to succeed and truly values teamwork which ultimately provides a customer experience that goes above and beyond. Like all growing companies experience, the new CEO is making some changes, but change is good and it helps us grow. With his and the Leadership team's experience, direction and vision we are definitely headed down the path for even greater success.

    Cons

    Healthcare benefits are expensive but the 401k plan makes up for it!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best company I've ever worked for!

    Jun 29, 2017 - Unicorn Customer Service Representative in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are the number one reason to work here. The second being the environment. The third is the technology. Since day one I've been treated well. Everywhere I go on our floor I'm met with down to Earth people and smiles. I've watched employees look out for each other. They work hard and rely on one another. I wake up every day looking forward to work. Jokes and laughter are part of the experience. I can't tell the difference between management and non-management. They're all on the same level when talking to you. I observed a meeting where employees expressed concerns and management warmly heard them. Those concerns were addressed quickly. Employees were not treated badly or that they were stupid. I have already learned so much in the small amount of time I've been there. The technology is amazing. The people are amazing. I look forward to my future adventures in this career.

    Cons

    Trimet should have closer stops to the building. The building management, not the company, shuts off the air conditioning during the weekend.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Exciting Times Ahead

    Jul 9, 2017 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The CEO in my opinion is doing a great job. It's not easy coming into ShiftWise and having to make changes to better the company. Change can be uncomfortable and there can be some reluctance to be open to the new management. Software is ever changing and has to evolve. I'm confident in the Executive team and the decisions they make. Great group of people who truly care and want to provide exceptional customer service to the clients.

    Cons

    Product Development is essential to staying the top leader in the industry. Need to continue to be competitive in the market to be the leader in the healthcare industry.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 21 - 30 of 47 Reviews

Popular Careers with ShiftWise Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at ShiftWise? Share Your Experiences

ShiftWise logo
or