KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

ShiftWise

Is this your company?

ShiftWise

Add a Review

ShiftWise Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 of over 47 reviews

3.0
47%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
ShiftWise President of Vendor Management Solutions Eric Christenson (no image)
Eric Christenson
7 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Abundant autonomy with little process or oversight

    Dec 10, 2014 - Software Developer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Shiftwise has a somewhat strict though lean process. Strict in that it's not very flexible (2 week sprints, retrospectives, continuous delivery, etc) but it's lean in that management favors "milestones" over sprint carry-overs and virtually no analytic are tracked. Management isn't interested (or obsessed) about metrics or analytic like some companies are. The teams are self managed and very autonomous. One team uses Ruby for tests while other teams use dot net. The team comes to technology decisions and promotes them to management rather than management forcing technology decisions upon the teams (there are exceptions to this). There's virtually no pressure from the business or management to "get as much work done as possible". During releases or alphas there is more pressure than normal but it's still the least amount of pressure I've felt at a company.

    Cons

    The process is very strict. Changing the sprint cadence or release cycle is strictly forbidden. The planning process is also set in stone. Retro, followed by planning/design, followed by estimation, followed by tasking. Deviation from this process is also forbidden. The total lack of metrics also means that defects are not tracked. There's no formal defect tracking system at all. Everything is treated equally in the backlog which means defects are effectively features. Semantically, this is strange. Lack of metrics or oversight means that the team is able to get sloppy without management knowing or doing anything about it (because there's no defect log or velocity metrics). Technically, the lead should handle this but this isn't always possible.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Bring your ideas

    Jun 7, 2014 - Engineering Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    ShiftWise has been the most ego and attitude-free place I have worked. The company fosters work-life balance and is carefully conscious that developers are people too. People there like to work and have fun. The team has been successful in fostering an environment where good ideas can gain traction.

    Cons

    Some distraction from a recent acquisition. ShiftWise retains its independence (mostly), but is trying to figure out how to excel as a division instead of a company.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good people, poor management vision

    May 30, 2014 - Product Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people really are what make this company work. Great work/life balance with freedom to take care of things at home if needed.

    Cons

    Poor vision and guidance from management when setting expectations. There was a general lack of training and direction from the get go.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Very nice place to work if you agree with their vision

    Sep 23, 2013 - Senior Software Developer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked as a .Net developer there for 6 months and decided not to continue. Culturally the environment is very nice and they go through great efforts to make it so. I did enjoy my time there and wouldn't hesitate to go back if I was a good technical/role fit. Almost all places will say they do Agile development which is a complete and utter joke. Shiftwise actually does Agile development and is quite refreshing, but sometimes a bit hurried to get features out the door. Overall I liked the place a lot.

    Cons

    Technically they are trying to abandon all Microsoft technologies and go with "open source" and other cool sounding words. They were going to drop their current relational database and go with a graph database which all the developers thought was a bad idea. We had a lot of huge meetings to discuss it. They dropped the idea when they couldn't technically make it work. I would think it would have been a good idea to technically make it work and then suggest it to all the developers, but hey if they want to waste money that is their decision. Another issue is they do rigid Agile sprints so if you need something from another team you may be totally out of luck. I was contractor there for 6 months and was asked if I wanted to convert to employee. We never talked exact salary, but it sounded as if they would have dropped my compensation by quite a bit based on discussions with other developers who made 20% less than I did.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Was hopeful but...

    Sep 20, 2013 - Customer Client Support in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A great business model/concept. Good team overall. Decent pay/benefits.

    Cons

    When I was working, there was no HR so many of these functions fell on a couple others that were already busy enough. With no HR, I felt there is little support or resources outside your immediate supervisor.

    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Bad Management, Hostile working environment.

    May 1, 2013 - Information Technology in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefit for a small company.

    Cons

    Bad Management, Hostile working environment. Annoying developers and Managers. Working environment is too isolated, uncollaborative, unsupportive. Let several people go often with no reasons... BAD!

    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good experience and bad communication

    Apr 8, 2012 - Business Analyst in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is a start up environment where you can work from home and it has a great compensation

    Cons

    It has bad management and head count issues

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 41 - 47 of 47 Reviews

Popular Careers with ShiftWise Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at ShiftWise? Share Your Experiences

ShiftWise logo
or