KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

ShiftWise

Is this your company?

ShiftWise

Add a Review

ShiftWise Software Developer Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 47 reviews

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
ShiftWise President of Vendor Management Solutions Eric Christenson (no image)
Eric Christenson
2 Ratings
Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Jul 12, 2021 - Software Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great group of people to work with.

    Cons

    Can get lost a bit trying to move forward.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Abundant autonomy with little process or oversight

    Dec 10, 2014 - Software Developer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Shiftwise has a somewhat strict though lean process. Strict in that it's not very flexible (2 week sprints, retrospectives, continuous delivery, etc) but it's lean in that management favors "milestones" over sprint carry-overs and virtually no analytic are tracked. Management isn't interested (or obsessed) about metrics or analytic like some companies are. The teams are self managed and very autonomous. One team uses Ruby for tests while other teams use dot net. The team comes to technology decisions and promotes them to management rather than management forcing technology decisions upon the teams (there are exceptions to this). There's virtually no pressure from the business or management to "get as much work done as possible". During releases or alphas there is more pressure than normal but it's still the least amount of pressure I've felt at a company.

    Cons

    The process is very strict. Changing the sprint cadence or release cycle is strictly forbidden. The planning process is also set in stone. Retro, followed by planning/design, followed by estimation, followed by tasking. Deviation from this process is also forbidden. The total lack of metrics also means that defects are not tracked. There's no formal defect tracking system at all. Everything is treated equally in the backlog which means defects are effectively features. Semantically, this is strange. Lack of metrics or oversight means that the team is able to get sloppy without management knowing or doing anything about it (because there's no defect log or velocity metrics). Technically, the lead should handle this but this isn't always possible.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Company, technology and culture - Under construction

    Apr 22, 2018 - Developer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great office, friendly people, no shortage of investment from company but more transparency of where, willing to pay for training, lunches, new tools and hardware. Paid parking or mass transit. Talk of investing in people. A few are seeing it. Management is no longer forcing people to work 24/7. Additional staff are being provided to help make technology better. Important roles are being created that haven’t existed for a while. Technology leadership is no longer chasing shiny objects. Unreasonable dates are being unraveled to make them obtainable. Accountability is growing with increasing transparency. Sales keep coming in.

    Cons

    Change is hard. A lot of people have quit over the last few months. Several people are underpaid even while management is working on improvements. Not everyone is happy with the changes. There is a lot of technical debt, because management forced the new product to be released without understanding what a real platform it. Product management seems overwhelmed. Lots of hand-rolled processes and technology need to be replaced. Lots of false promises about raises, titles and other benefits (5 weeks of vacation from day one was promised) from previous leadership that have never come true. Health benefits could be a bit better.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    ShiftWise Response

    ShiftWise Response Team

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We are growing as a company and I appreciate that you understand the change that occurs with growth. On one hand it can be exciting and on the other it can be challenging. I am deeply committed to transparency and sharing what I know with the employees as early as I am able to. I agree that investing in our employees is important and a priority for me as we move forward. If you wish to share any further thoughts or solutions you see, please don’t hesitate to reach out to me at eric.christenson@shiftwise.com. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts. Eric Christenson, President, Vendor Management Solutions.

  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Poor culture and weak leaders prevent success

    Nov 13, 2018 - Senior Software Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A well-stocked kitchen and sit-stand desks make the time there less bad than it might be. There were a lot of nice people who really did care about each other and the company.

    Cons

    No clear strategy. While employees were nice and cared, that didn't necessarily mean they were good or effective at their jobs. Lots of resentment of the parent company after being purchased. Many managers promoted into their positions because of duration of tenure and not skill. No support for management or leadership training. Legacy of poor technical choices by prior tech exec transitioned into a dictatorial style from new tech exec, leading to lots of confusion and no attempt to create clarity. Communication is atrocious: Former president regularly lied or misled in his statements. The new tech exec regularly sends emails to entire engineering staff that are just a link absent any context or other information. Despite asking for outrageous notice from outgoing employees, nearly the entire engineering staff was unceremoniously laid off after being told to come in for a strategy meeting. The strategy meeting was never actually held: it was a complete pretense. The organization has developed such a poor reputation in the technical community that they've begun advertising positions under the parent company name instead of their own. The parent company, AMN, has an obvious lack of technical understanding and expertise, and their leadership has no idea how to manage product development.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful

    ShiftWise Response

    ShiftWise Response Team

    I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences. My team and I are fully committed to providing a strategic roadmap which is in line with the structure of our organization, and the needs of our valued customers. I’m confident we are on the path to a much brighter future for our technology team at ShiftWise. Thank you ~ Eric Christenson, President Vendor Management Solutions

  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Very nice place to work if you agree with their vision

    Sep 23, 2013 - Senior Software Developer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked as a .Net developer there for 6 months and decided not to continue. Culturally the environment is very nice and they go through great efforts to make it so. I did enjoy my time there and wouldn't hesitate to go back if I was a good technical/role fit. Almost all places will say they do Agile development which is a complete and utter joke. Shiftwise actually does Agile development and is quite refreshing, but sometimes a bit hurried to get features out the door. Overall I liked the place a lot.

    Cons

    Technically they are trying to abandon all Microsoft technologies and go with "open source" and other cool sounding words. They were going to drop their current relational database and go with a graph database which all the developers thought was a bad idea. We had a lot of huge meetings to discuss it. They dropped the idea when they couldn't technically make it work. I would think it would have been a good idea to technically make it work and then suggest it to all the developers, but hey if they want to waste money that is their decision. Another issue is they do rigid Agile sprints so if you need something from another team you may be totally out of luck. I was contractor there for 6 months and was asked if I wanted to convert to employee. We never talked exact salary, but it sounded as if they would have dropped my compensation by quite a bit based on discussions with other developers who made 20% less than I did.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    The best place I've ever worked

    Aug 27, 2017 - Software Developer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great life work balance . Employee input valued and encouraged . CEO and upper management all very attentive and pleasant to work with . Great kitchen and benefits package.

    Cons

    Based on reviews on this site there are a few employees that are unhappy but seem unwilling to talk to the managers because I feel confident it would be resolved .

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    A company always going through growing pains

    Sep 9, 2018 - Software Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Complimentary coffee, beer, soda, flavored waters and snacks * Great location * Standup desks * Lots of natural light * High Health Savings Account and 401K company contributions

    Cons

    * Open floor plan * "Obey us" attitude from engineering executive and some managers * Toxic work environment caused by above but blamed on people who speak up * Unflexible start time and confusing work from home policy * Cut vacation time without compensation and constantly resisting raises; they don't keep up with Cost-Of-Living.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful

    ShiftWise Response

    ShiftWise Response Team

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and thoughts with me. I fully agree with your assessment, ShiftWise does have a positive outlook. We are underway in creating a better cadence in how we approach the work which is presented to the teams. I have full confidence we will overcome the many challenges that faced us during the 2018 year. Thank you ~ Eric Christenson, President Vendor Management Solutions

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Dynamic, entertaining, nurturing.

    May 17, 2018 - Software Developer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of learning opportunities: AWS, docker, Angular, C#, ServiceStack, .NET Core, Linux, microservices, document databases, Postgres, Jasmine, etc Very motivated employees, working hard to be successful. Market leader. Promising product. Flexible working hours; WFH. Lots of snacks in the kitchen. Subsidized parking places. Good teamwork.

    Cons

    Challenging timeline. A bit too fearless in embracing new technologies.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    ShiftWise Response

    ShiftWise Response Team

    Thank you for your commitment to our organization! I am looking forward to what the future holds for ShiftWise, as we work towards building a stronger foundation with team members like you. Thank you ~ Eric Christenson, President, Vendor Management Solutions

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good culture

    Jul 8, 2016 - Software Developer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay, good culture, good people. Acts on feedback from developers.

    Cons

    Lack of direction with career from management. No clear way to progress, but they are working it out so it shouldn't be a problem for long.

    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Some Pretty Serious Problems

    Mar 22, 2018 - Software Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There was a unique and caring culture here once, and most people wish it were still alive. Meeting with leadership is possible. You might get lip service, but you can have their ear for a minute. Some people still give a rip about doing things well. They don’t have power but continue to share their thoughts.

    Cons

    I want you to know that I feel betrayed and disrespected for not receiving the raises I negotiated two years in a row. It’s not about the money. It’s about value and trust. Realizing that this was happening to others, not just me, tore me up inside. People are nervous about losing their jobs because the reorganization has been slowly eliminating positions from the entire company over the last half year. Management has been extremely opaque, and their stories don’t match when questioned about the changes. I have been careful to collect knowledge from as many parties as possible, and I’ve come away with a chilling and dissatisfying collection of stories. The technology stack, which is a little funny, was made wildy difficult by a series of decisions to change stable elements of our application at the very last moment. The people responsible are no longer with the company, but it left a massive mark on both the developers and the application itself. Finally, corporate maintains a quiet but firm grasp on the company, restricting the flow of necessary resources including vital hardware and software licenses. Which has at times brought development to a screeching halt but more frequently to the sort of slow trickle which makes you think about calling a doctor.

    Continue reading
    17 people found this review helpful

    ShiftWise Response

    ShiftWise Response Team

    Thank you sharing your experience with ShiftWise. Leaders at ShiftWise will make time to listen and implement improvements where possible. It is our goal to attract talented professionals by offering competitive compensation and benefits that match or exceed market rates. It is unfortunate that you experienced a compensation structure that didn’t meet your needs. If you are open to discussing your experience further, please reach out to me at eric.christenson@shiftwise.com. Eric Christenson, President Vendor Management Solutions.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

Popular Careers with ShiftWise Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at ShiftWise? Share Your Experiences

ShiftWise logo
or