Shimano Reviews | Glassdoor

Shimano Reviews

Updated Oct 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Shimano CEO Yozo Shimano (no image)
Yozo Shimano
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits like canteen, company bus, and good bonus(in 3 reviews)

  • "good bonus and relatively laid back job(in 3 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Order selector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shimano full-time

    Pros

    Monday through Friday 9am-530pm. Company events are pretty cool. Managers run a tight ship and make the operational run smoothly.

    Cons

    Lots of overtime. Which can be a bad thing when you need to be somewhere else after your scheduled time

    Continue reading
    Shimano2018-06-09
  2. "Not a bad start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Material Handler 

    I have been working at Shimano full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Constant overtime during busy season, good people and easy going managers.

    Cons

    Being a warehouse job the heat and cold do tend to get to you during those seasons

    Shimano2019-09-03
  3. "Pay is way too low, for the big work load"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Staff 

    I have been working at Shimano full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really nice people, great environment.

    Cons

    Pay is way too low, for the big work load

    Shimano2019-05-29
  4. "Worst experience ever."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shimano full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quality product. And that’s the only positive.

    Cons

    Massive degree of mistrust from leadership to the rest of the company, to a point where lack of information hobbles marketing and sales. Even in Japan employees call the place “Shimano prison.” Hours and workload are relentless with no regard at all for personal time, reason or logic. Zero training and no standard structure means the longer they’ve been there the less your colleague knows. Truly a horrible experience with no redeeming qualities beyond the employee discount.

    Continue reading
    Shimano2019-06-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great employer, great benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Shimano

    Pros

    Great employer, great benefits, great supervisors.

    Cons

    The pay isn't too great compared to the work load some days.

    Shimano2019-02-28
  6. "Working as a temp."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Shimano for less than a year

    Pros

    Workload was not too demanding.

    Cons

    Long hours and the work can be tedious at times.

    Shimano2019-01-25
  7. "Shimano Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shimano full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you LOVE bicycles and only want to talk about them this is ok if you are highly knowledgeable

    Cons

    High stress for mediocre pay and unbending upper management treats you like a second class citizen most of the time.

    Continue reading
    Shimano2018-11-04
  8. "it's okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Shimano full-time

    Pros

    Loved the people I worked with the longest there. Great benefits and perks.

    Cons

    Low salaries, everyone actually joked about it. But they do give small raises each year for cost of living.

    Shimano2018-09-24
  9. "Good company and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shimano full-time

    Pros

    Family like environment and not too much pressure at work. Good benefits like canteen, company bus, and good bonus.

    Cons

    Limited on career advancement. It takes long time to get promoted.

    Shimano2018-08-05
  10. "Good work environment, international culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shimano

    Pros

    Great lifestyle in the outdoor community

    Cons

    hard to get work done when all decisions need to go to Japan for approval.

    Shimano2018-05-28
Found 56 reviews