Shinsei Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Shinsei Bank Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Shinsei Bank CEO Shigeki Toma
Shigeki Toma
3 Ratings
  1. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shinsei Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    High integrity, quality people, great teamwork

    Cons

    Very slow decision making and lack of long term commitment

    Advice to Management

    Remain committed to long term goals

    Shinsei Bank2014-07-01
  2. "Normal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Shinsei Bank full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      It has a better than average retirement benefit. Macro management style. as you as you do your work, you are fine.

      Cons

      working hours is relatively long. but i guess that's a characteristic of Japanese firms in general. work productivity can be improved.

      Advice to Management

      need diversity in all the teams. productivity can be improved. encourage employees to work smarter, not longer. improve work efficiency across the firm.

      Shinsei Bank2015-04-02
    • "IT Division"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tokyo

        I have been working at Shinsei Bank full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        changing towards Japanese style of work culture while maintaining certain flexibility and usage of new technologies

        Cons

        Certain level of rigidity that comes with Japanese work culture causing process and documentation to take longer than necessary

        Shinsei Bank2018-10-23
      • "Vendor to Shinsei Bank"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Network Manager 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Shinsei Bank full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Excellent Workplace with many opportunities

        Cons

        Slow Execution due to process adherence

        Advice to Management

        Improvisation

        Shinsei Bank2017-11-15
      • "Used to be innovative"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend

          I worked at Shinsei Bank

          Pros

          Relatively relaxed environment for a bank based in Japan. Good salary. The bank's done with the challenger mind set, but it's an established, stable bank now.

          Cons

          It was the most innovative bank in Japan when it launched, but not much improvement these days. There are many other internet banks that offer better deals. Ugly internal politics among management when I was there.

          Shinsei Bank2016-12-18
        • "Process Oriented"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Tokyo
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Shinsei Bank

          Pros

          Everything in process, helpful people, everyone is doing hard working . I will worked under It Dept , so it's good.

          Cons

          When I was at Client side, then language is barrier but people are very cooperative.

          Advice to Management

          Overall it is fine.

          Shinsei Bank2016-05-21
        • "Associate Director"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook

          I worked at Shinsei Bank full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          The opportunities given and the ability to work with an extremely experienced team of professionals in the areas of ABI.

          Cons

          Nothing really. We all suffered the consequences of the economic downturn and the limitations in growing and developing the business as we would have liked to.

          Advice to Management

          Keep up the good work. Revisit the strategy on Europe and re-think what and if ABI should be part of the portfolio again.

          Shinsei Bank2015-07-09
        • Helpful (1)

          "Trust Finance, Institutional Banking Gourp"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Associate in Tokyo
            Recommends
            Neutral Outlook

            I worked at Shinsei Bank full-time for more than 3 years

            Pros

            goo benefit, good location, good reputation, well diversity organization which is rare in Japan

            Cons

            No more profitable business model, organizational culture was changed dramatically due to changing CEO from American to Japanese in 2009.

            Advice to Management

            should be turned to a major acquisition in Japan

            Shinsei Bank2015-02-20
          • "Changed from mixed culture to the industry norm"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - General Manager in Tokyo
            Doesn't Recommend
            Neutral Outlook

            I worked at Shinsei Bank full-time for more than 5 years

            Pros

            Looking to set a new standard in a closed market. Mix of US and Japan culture with experienced management.

            Cons

            Dramatic change after top management change, and GFC did the rest. Turned into a market standard level entity.

            Advice to Management

            Good luck with FSA

            Shinsei Bank2015-02-10
          • "Learning Opportunity and good exposure to many sides of banking"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at Shinsei Bank full-time

            Pros

            Innovative culture and decent salaries in some departments. Depends on manager but a lot of learning opportunities if one takes the initiative. A very strong legacy of innovative initiatives that can be revived. Great training if one comes in as a graduate.

            Cons

            Promotions are slow and not always based on meritocracy. Long hours but it is expected as it is Japan and finance. There is a lack of collaboration among different divisions and departments.

            Advice to Management

            Promote based on meritocracy

            Shinsei Bank2013-10-29
          Found 17 reviews