Shipco Transport Reviews | Glassdoor

Shipco Transport Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
68%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Shipco Transport CEO  (no image)
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Will learn a lot about shipping and get hands on experience(in 6 reviews)

  • "their benefits aren't too bad, and great place to learn(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long working hours, management doesn't cares about the employee, no fun activity, very less pay, being a jobless is better than working here(in 2 reviews)

  • "No cons found about Shipco Transport(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Assistant Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Shipco Transport part-time

    Pros

    Everyone receives you with open arms and has the patience to teach you everything you need to known to get the job done.

    Cons

    Long distance from house to office

    Advice to Management

    Absolutely no advice needed as I found the company to be very good to work for. I would definitely go back if it weren’t for the distance.

    Shipco Transport2018-07-26
  2. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Shipco Transport full-time

    Pros

    Great environment, everyone is always willing to help especially while you’re in training. The corporate team is really great as well.

    Cons

    Doesn’t seem to be a lot of opportunity to move up unless you stay 10-15 years with the company.

    Advice to Management

    6 month reviews instead of yearly would be nice in terms of raises and knowing where the employee is at

    Shipco Transport2019-07-11
  3. "Good company to cut your teeth in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Shipco Transport full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Will learn a lot about shipping and get hands on experience.

    Cons

    Pay wasn't great compared to jobs I've had in the industry since then.

    Shipco Transport2019-06-14
  4. "Disorganized management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Miami Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Shipco Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not micromanaged ok place to work

    Cons

    Disorganized. poor management not involved

    Shipco Transport2019-03-21
  5. "Senior Compliance Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Shipco Transport full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    location! 401K match 100%, great team to work with, salaried, expected to get work down w/o being micromanaged, bar on the 5th floor that employees can enjoy after work hours, learning isnt limited if you are a go getter

    Cons

    not much upward growth, low annual raises.

    Shipco Transport2018-11-05
  6. "Boston"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shipco Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn a lot 'cause you have to do a lot

    Cons

    To be brief: toxic and hostile working environment with unfriendly co-workers. Harassment of all kinds (eg. sexual harassment, language abuse and pranks make you feel insecure while working in such time sensitive industry) Very few native speaker/local Bostonian works at this location. Stay away or collect evidence in case you need a lawyer when you work there.

    Advice to Management

    Less politics, more respects to non-management employees. Maybe you are proud of being a manager, but don't forget you are still a working bee. No bully.

    Shipco Transport2018-10-23
  7. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Shipco Transport full-time

    Pros

    Best place I have worked.

    Cons

    No bad things to say

    Shipco Transport2018-06-07
  8. "Horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Shipco Transport full-time

    Pros

    Close to the turnpike

    Cons

    They have their own “unique “ way of working BUT they DONT TRAIN. Managers are rude and condescending.

    Shipco Transport2018-07-05
  9. "shipco the worst place to work for humans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hoboken, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Shipco Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nothing as such to speak positive about the company

    Cons

    work environment & management is pathetic,

    Shipco Transport2018-05-30
  10. "Good, solid company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shipco Transport

    Pros

    the work is satisfying and busy. atmosphere is enjoyable. have met some good people.

    Cons

    extreme office politics and bias, does not salary employees properly

    Advice to Management

    reward those who deserve it, pay what people are worth

    Shipco Transport2017-12-10
Found 63 reviews