Shipman & Goodwin Reviews | Glassdoor

Shipman & Goodwin Reviews

Updated Dec 18, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Office Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Shipman & Goodwin full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great working environment to learn

      Cons

      Seeking full time hours 40 a week 35 was most

      Shipman & Goodwin2017-12-18
    • "Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Shipman & Goodwin full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Professional firm, pleasant office culture

      Cons

      Some processes and technology need improvement

      Shipman & Goodwin2016-11-08
    • "Poor Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Attorney in Hartford, CT
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Shipman & Goodwin full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      They charge the clients less than some of the other local firms.

      Cons

      It's the old saying "You get what you pay for" Level of professionalism and competency is low. Management is in disarray. Attitudes are childish.

      Advice to Management

      PLEASE do a major overhaul of business practices, moral values, and professionalism of the Management and the Staff. Am embarrassed to admit I ever worked at this firm.

      Shipman & Goodwin2016-11-22
    • "Like Junior High except with a paycheck"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Paralegal in Hartford, WI
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Shipman & Goodwin

      Pros

      fast paced, plenty of opportunity to learn

      Cons

      employees were very cliquish, jealous and gossipy. I was shocked to overhear one employee gossiping about another. It really was like being in the 7th grade.

      Advice to Management

      You must supervise your employees better and maybe stagger their office cubicles to avoid time taken away from work.

      Shipman & Goodwin2015-10-02
    • "If you are employed at another law firm, stay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Attorney in Stamford, CT
      Doesn't Recommend
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Shipman & Goodwin full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Advancement opportunities in Hartford only and support staff is helpful. If you have no job, then working in Hartford (headquarters) is a good starting point for new associates.

      Cons

      No advancement opportunities in other locations (Stamford/Greenwich). Company needs major restructuring. Software needs upgrading. Senior Partners need to focus on internal issues. There is a history of physical and emotional abuse in the Stamford Office. Attorneys have been verbally and physically abused by unstable secretary who was allowed to stay on board as secretary to a Sr Partner. In addition, one of the...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      More oversight of branch offices by Corporate. Best practices need to be implemented. Upgrade software.

      Shipman & Goodwin2015-10-16
    • "Excellent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Accounts Payables Specialist in Lisle, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Shipman & Goodwin full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      everything, the people, the culture, management. They really care about the people that work there

      Cons

      I couldn't take it with me when I relocated out of state. honestly, I couldn't find a con if I tried.

      Shipman & Goodwin2015-07-20
    • "Legal Secretary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Legal Secretary in Hartford, CT
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Shipman & Goodwin full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great attorneys; close-knit staff; nice office

      Cons

      Administration is terrible; There is no support for staff

      Shipman & Goodwin2015-06-03
    • "Paralegal"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Shipman & Goodwin

      Pros

      Great people, beautiful offices, good work-life balance.

      Cons

      It's still a law firm, so there's that I suppose.

      Shipman & Goodwin2015-04-21
    • "Great Place to Work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Associate in Hartford, CT
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Shipman & Goodwin full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        The people that work here are phenomenal! A very collegiate atmosphere. Since the market is not very large, you do not deal with the stresses that are presented in major market law firms. You are put in a position to speak directly with clients early in your legal career here.

        Cons

        It is a law firm so you still have to worry about billable hours. You also have to pay for parking which can eat into your earnings somewhat.

        Shipman & Goodwin2014-10-13
      Found 9 reviews