Shipman & Goodwin Reviews | Glassdoor

Shipman & Goodwin Reviews

Updated Dec 18, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Office Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Shipman & Goodwin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great working environment to learn

    Cons

    Seeking full time hours 40 a week 35 was most

    Shipman & Goodwin2017-12-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Shipman & Goodwin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Professional firm, pleasant office culture

    Cons

    Some processes and technology need improvement

    Shipman & Goodwin2016-11-08
  3. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Attorney in Hartford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Shipman & Goodwin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They charge the clients less than some of the other local firms.

    Cons

    It's the old saying "You get what you pay for" Level of professionalism and competency is low. Management is in disarray. Attitudes are childish.

    Advice to Management

    PLEASE do a major overhaul of business practices, moral values, and professionalism of the Management and the Staff. Am embarrassed to admit I ever worked at this firm.

    Shipman & Goodwin2016-11-22
  4. "Like Junior High except with a paycheck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Paralegal in Hartford, WI
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Shipman & Goodwin

    Pros

    fast paced, plenty of opportunity to learn

    Cons

    employees were very cliquish, jealous and gossipy. I was shocked to overhear one employee gossiping about another. It really was like being in the 7th grade.

    Advice to Management

    You must supervise your employees better and maybe stagger their office cubicles to avoid time taken away from work.

    Shipman & Goodwin2015-10-02
  5. "If you are employed at another law firm, stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Attorney in Stamford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shipman & Goodwin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Advancement opportunities in Hartford only and support staff is helpful. If you have no job, then working in Hartford (headquarters) is a good starting point for new associates.

    Cons

    No advancement opportunities in other locations (Stamford/Greenwich). Company needs major restructuring. Software needs upgrading. Senior Partners need to focus on internal issues. There is a history of physical and emotional abuse in the Stamford Office. Attorneys have been verbally and physically abused by unstable secretary who was allowed to stay on board as secretary to a Sr Partner. In addition, one of... the Senior Partners hit his Secretary. All of those who were abused have since left (or forced to leave). This is not the firm you want to work for and/or represent you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More oversight of branch offices by Corporate. Best practices need to be implemented. Upgrade software.

    Shipman & Goodwin2015-10-16
  6. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Payables Specialist in Lisle, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Shipman & Goodwin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    everything, the people, the culture, management. They really care about the people that work there

    Cons

    I couldn't take it with me when I relocated out of state. honestly, I couldn't find a con if I tried.

    Shipman & Goodwin2015-07-20
  7. "Legal Secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Secretary in Hartford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Shipman & Goodwin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great attorneys; close-knit staff; nice office

    Cons

    Administration is terrible; There is no support for staff

    Shipman & Goodwin2015-06-03
  8. "Paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Shipman & Goodwin

    Pros

    Great people, beautiful offices, good work-life balance.

    Cons

    It's still a law firm, so there's that I suppose.

    Shipman & Goodwin2015-04-21
  9. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Shipman & Goodwin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people that work here are phenomenal! A very collegiate atmosphere. Since the market is not very large, you do not deal with the stresses that are presented in major market law firms. You are put in a position to speak directly with clients early in your legal career here.

    Cons

    It is a law firm so you still have to worry about billable hours. You also have to pay for parking which can eat into your earnings somewhat.

    Shipman & Goodwin2014-10-13
Found 9 reviews