Shire "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Shire Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jul 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Shire CEO Flemming Ornskov, MD
Flemming Ornskov, MD
557 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Procurement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shire

    Pros

    Great company and culture. Great work life balance (9am-4pm). Employees are encouraged to go to the gym during work hours. Great career growth potential and smart people. Great company to have on your resume.

    Cons

    The commute can be challenging.

    Shire2017-12-24
  2. "Average company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Shire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits like most pharmaceutical companies

    Cons

    Constant change has made it difficult to have work/life balance

    Shire2019-06-03
  3. Helpful (2)

    "How to run a company to the ground in five years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits

    Cons

    Work/life balance Incertitude Poor process integration Culture

    Shire2019-01-22
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Plasma Center Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Plasma Center Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Meeting new people, proving a life saving service, and the BENEFITS

    Cons

    Work/life balance, pay is not competitive, over time is not offered, management lacks a lot, pay does not match work load, understaffed, and a lot of high school attitudes and behavior

    Continue reading
    Shire2019-01-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Aaccountant in Exton, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to learn and grow

    Cons

    Long late working hours- work life balance

    Continue reading
    Shire2018-11-03
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Culture at Shire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Shire like to develop and empower employees, plenty of training and career development. Open to remote working in some cases Very flexible and accommodating with respect to work life balance

    Cons

    Dis functional senior leadership, often very self serving and not willing to take on larger organizational challenges Several example of leaders behaving badly which permeates throughout the organization Not a process lead company, too many instances of bad process design leading to cost over-run

    Continue reading
    Shire2018-10-04
  7. Helpful (2)

    ""Ok" company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shire full-time

    Pros

    Salary, Bonus, Flexible, Great co-workers

    Cons

    *No work/life balance *No room for advancement *Say they care but don't really listen

    Continue reading
    Shire2018-09-15
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Meh!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Shire full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    SAme old management style. Playing favorites, high expectations and low pay. Work life balance is insane. 10 hour days if not more.

    Shire2018-08-22
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Benefits are great and work life balance awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst in Lexington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone was understanding and flexible when it came to work/life balance. Pay was great

    Cons

    Too big to get out of its own way. Everything is in constant disarray. The Baxalta acquisition turned Shire upside down. Every day it seemed like we were pulled in a different direction and told "this is what we're doing now". Most if not all of my work that I completed was never for any purpose. I got a pat on the back and then it was forgotten about. I feel as though I wasted so much of my time there doing work that was never going to be used again. Think of it as moving a pile of sand from one side of the beach to the other side for no reason

    Continue reading
    Shire2018-06-13
  10. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits. Good work life balance. Management cares for its employees.

    Cons

    Lots of change and turnover. Losing good talent.

    Continue reading
    Shire2018-05-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 104 reviews