Shoe Carnival Reviews | Glassdoor

Shoe Carnival Reviews

Updated May 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 397 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Shoe Carnival CEO Clifton E. Sifford
Clifton E. Sifford
128 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Very political, low pay, management can be unprofessional(in 28 reviews)

  • "Upper management does not care about inner store issues(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shoe Carnival part-time

    Pros

    Some weekends Friends and Family discount is offered which is 35% to 45% for employees and all of your family and friends can come buy anything off your name that weekend. I ended up getting tennis shoes for $20 and clearance shoes for $5

    Cons

    Every other day discount is 25%

    Shoe Carnival2019-01-08
  2. "Taught me a lot as a first time manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Columbia, SC

      I worked at Shoe Carnival full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Learned a lot of shoes, and proper fits. Learned about how to effectively time manage a large staff.

      Cons

      Pay could be higher for managers.

      Shoe Carnival2019-05-28
    • "It was a decent job to get your feet wet, but after awhile it became disappointing."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Shoe Carnival part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I always had hours, always busy

      Cons

      Closed-minded, no set hours, it was either their way or no way at all.

      Advice to Management

      Allow your workers to give ideas and let them find a simpler way of doing things and be open-minded about things

      Shoe Carnival2019-05-18
    • "Good Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Houston, TX

      I have been working at Shoe Carnival part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great work environment Ability to request days off

      Cons

      During the slow seasons, hours are cut

      Shoe Carnival2019-05-16
    • "ok comapny"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Flint, MI
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Shoe Carnival part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      First to see new merchandise. Store manager allowed us to try on products. Great employee and family discounts.

      Cons

      Pay rate was minimum wage

      Advice to Management

      none; Store has closed

      Shoe Carnival2019-05-16
    • "Not much opportunity for growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Daytona Beach, FL

      I worked at Shoe Carnival full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Easy shifts Easy to clean store

      Cons

      Very political, low pay, management can be unprofessional

      Shoe Carnival2019-05-03
    • "No maternity leave!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Shoe Carnival full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Decent health benefits and 401K plan.

        Cons

        Appalled in this day and age that they offer NO maternity leave. You get the time off but don't get paid a cent.

        Advice to Management

        Care more about employee wellbeing.

        Shoe Carnival2019-04-19
      • "Fine for temporary job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Springfield, MO

          I have been working at Shoe Carnival part-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Like the people I work with

          Cons

          Do not get paid enough for work done

          Shoe Carnival2019-03-25
        • "They overworked me and made me come into work just to let me go."

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at Shoe Carnival

            Pros

            break times and that’s pretty much it

            Cons

            over worked little pay irritating managers

            Shoe Carnival2019-03-19
          • "Customer service"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Store Manager in Wichita, KS
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I have been working at Shoe Carnival full-time for more than 3 years

            Pros

            Working with people, busy atmosphere

            Cons

            Basically your number one Job is to deter theft

            Advice to Management

            Get security guards for urban doors

            Shoe Carnival2019-03-13
          Found 397 reviews