Shook Hardy & Bacon Reviews | Glassdoor

Shook Hardy & Bacon Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
John F. Murphy
31 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Not as good as it looks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shook Hardy & Bacon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    nice office facilities co-workers are great people

    Cons

    No work/life balance Little recognition Little reward

    Shook Hardy & Bacon2017-05-01
  2. Helpful (8)

    "company review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shook Hardy & Bacon full-time

    Pros

    They have great benefits and higher than average salaries.

    Cons

    If you have a strong work ethic, it is not the place to be. Too much mediocrity and rewarding of that mediocrity by management.

    Advice to Management

    Take more care to identify your hard-working and most valuable employees based on their investment and concern for the firm and do everything you can to reward them and empower them, as well as open more career opportunities for them. You could be even more profitable if you took more interest in who was actually working and who was just logging time.

    Shook Hardy & Bacon2017-04-08
  3. "partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Shook Hardy & Bacon full-time

    Pros

    excellent place to work

    Cons

    no cons that I can think of

    Shook Hardy & Bacon2017-02-17
  4. "Litigation Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Attorney in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shook Hardy & Bacon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fabulous place to work. Great leadership, highly talented attorneys and other staff, genuinely good people.

    Cons

    SHB is a big place, can be a bit impersonal, with an ever increasing focus on the bottom line.

    Shook Hardy & Bacon2017-02-01
  5. Helpful (7)

    "I'd leave if it weren't for the people I work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Non Attorney 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shook Hardy & Bacon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the nicest people you will ever meet work here. I love some of the unique firm resources and job flexibility.

    Cons

    Pay. SHB doesn't seem to do effective market research. Law firms in high tech centers usually pay more with better benefits. Strange division of labor at the staff level. Don't ask too many questions about benefits, you'll get shot down.

    Advice to Management

    Admin Assistants and Paralegals are doing billable work that could be passed on to clients. Your staff is a missed profit opportunity. Give me a job description that actually describes what I do. Supervisors are clueless if you work outside of litigation. The levels of approval required for EVERYTHING are counterproductive to completing billable work.

    Shook Hardy & Bacon2016-10-12
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Depends on your department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Administrative Assistant in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shook Hardy & Bacon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Training is great, benefits are good and year end bonuses were decent.

    Cons

    Staffing issues at times. Workload or work product do not always reflect in raises as HR cannot possibly know what all staff is handling when the company is so large.

    Advice to Management

    I would put more weight on reviews from direct staff work rather than HR file. Become more in tough with the needs of each department rather than overall firm and robot like actions as a whole.

    Shook Hardy & Bacon2016-09-03
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Ugh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shook Hardy & Bacon

    Pros

    I'm not working there anymore.

    Cons

    Odd, twilight-zone vibe to the entire place - as if everyone is on a Bahamas vacation (i.e., "oh no, I'll hold the door for you! You go first." "Oh no, you--." Kinex Inc. and Legos could not create a product to erect any sort of viable, sturdy moral backbone for any of Satan's minions who are employed here.

    Advice to Management

    You need Jesus.

    Shook Hardy & Bacon2016-09-19
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Legal administrative assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Administrative Assistant in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shook Hardy & Bacon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Profit sharing, good benefits, nice people, minus a few bad apples.

    Cons

    HR does not respect employees' privacy.

    Advice to Management

    Give better raises to the good employees so they stick around and get rid of the bad apples.

    Shook Hardy & Bacon2016-07-31
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Document Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Document Specialist in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shook Hardy & Bacon

    Pros

    SHB is a great place to be and to gain a lot of experience. There are some great people in the records department.

    Cons

    SHB does not pay well, and will work employees on all levels to death without compensating them. If you are not an attorney you do not feel as important. Many of the partners are not friendly and treat professional staff like "the help". If you are a lower level employee expect to do paralegal or higher level work of which you will not be compensated for. There are many privileged behaving people walking those halls!

    Advice to Management

    Improve work relations between lawyers and professional staff. Revisit the average pay of your employees compared to the job they perform.

    Shook Hardy & Bacon2016-07-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "E-Billing Specialists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ebilling Specialist in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shook Hardy & Bacon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are lots of perks: 3 wks vacation at start, Parking reimbursing, transportation allowances, moral boosting.

    Cons

    Not consistent regarding management policies.

    Advice to Management

    Equality for the "little guys" goes a long way.

    Shook Hardy & Bacon2016-06-16
Found 73 reviews