Shook Hardy & Bacon Reviews | Glassdoor

Shook Hardy & Bacon Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
John F. Murphy
31 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Don't Even Think About Working Here if You're Not an Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shook Hardy & Bacon

    Pros

    Decent health and welfare benefits.

    Cons

    More cliques than I knew in junior high school. HR is a total joke. So many things are "because we always do it that way." Most of the attorneys treat you poorly. They flat out lied during my interview about staff opportunities. I am one of few staff members with a college degree and it is worthless in this firm. I have been looking for a job since I started this one and will run like the wind as soon as I get an offer.

    Advice to Management

    Treat the city offices as though they matter. Get some professionals in HR who will stop lying during the interview process. Encourage input from staff and then LISTEN. The assistant training program...really??

    Shook Hardy & Bacon2016-02-16
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shook Hardy & Bacon

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits, nice office.

    Cons

    They have a husband and wife lawyers who are mean-spirited and terrible to work for.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of that partner that is terrible to the assistants.

    Shook Hardy & Bacon2016-02-10
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Bad apples"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Administrative Assistant in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shook Hardy & Bacon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training and development options available. Great central location. Beautiful office. Lots of great support through support staff.

    Cons

    Not very good food in the nook. Lack of adequate communication from management and attorneys to support staff. There are quite a few bad apples within groups. Extremely cliche and lots of gossip.

    Advice to Management

    Work on leadership skills on your management team. Work on mentor progress to ensure maximum success. Improve training and development processes.

    Shook Hardy & Bacon2016-01-12
  4. "Overall good firm to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shook Hardy & Bacon

    Pros

    Has many avenues for OTJ training and career advancement on the Professional staff side. Embraces diversity. Good benefit package offered.

    Cons

    Not everyone has a good attitude toward co-workers. Once you learn who to avoid, it's a cake walk.

    Advice to Management

    No advice, good or bad, at this time. The firm is good, the jobs are (mostly) good and the pay is good.

    Shook Hardy & Bacon2015-10-18
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Bullying ... Abuse ... Taking credit for others' work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Analyst in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shook Hardy & Bacon

    Pros

    Nice office, good vacation policy (but forget about ever taking it).

    Cons

    Bullying is the norm. If you create something, you are bullied behind your back so they can chase you out to take it for themselves. Those who bully and don't work are revered, while those who work themselves to death are beat down. It's not what you always thought working hard would end up being. Many lives destroyed who made the firm what it was before the bullies took over.

    Advice to Management

    Make amends to those whose lives you destroyed to start out with. Morality is long ago lost in place of favoritism, abuse and fear of upsetting the "popular" who should not be where they are.

    Shook Hardy & Bacon2015-11-04
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Project Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO

    I worked at Shook Hardy & Bacon for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice kitchen to eat in.

    Cons

    Too many cliques that come with gossip. Major lack of attorney and staff interaction.

    Advice to Management

    Try not to have favorite employees and treat everyone the same.

    Shook Hardy & Bacon2015-08-20
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Don't Say You Weren't Warned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shook Hardy & Bacon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I worked with some very talented people but they left to pursue better opportunities elsewhere outside the company.

    Cons

    The leadership in HR is a joke. They try to come across with a genuine interest but it's very obvious they could care less. They are very fidgety and act like they are so important that the company could not run without them. They never address the issue(s) and make comments that bear no relevance to the conversation. They are always in reactive mode and never follow through. Definitely need someone new in employee...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stay in touch with your support staff. Over the years, you try to boost morale and say "we are going to implement....it's going to be ongoing" and you give people a jolt and then the initiative goes somewhere to die and you never hear about it again.

    Shook Hardy & Bacon2015-09-03
  8. Helpful (10)

    "IT is in shambles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shook Hardy & Bacon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The vacation day. And people, excluding leadership.

    Cons

    Leadership sucks. CIO lack integrity and hogs all the glory. Can't talk to anyone outside of IT unless approved by the CIO. Can't talk to attorney's because CIO wants to show he has all the answers. Likes to lie on client Security assessments.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of CIO and hire a technical CIO if firm wants technology to work like how attorneys work. Also hire a CSO reporting directly to COO or CEO.

    Shook Hardy & Bacon2015-08-19
  9. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Assistant in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Shook Hardy & Bacon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, great people to work for and with.

    Cons

    I don't really have any cons at this time.

    Shook Hardy & Bacon2015-07-17
  10. Helpful (3)

    "office politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Shook Hardy & Bacon for more than 8 years

    Pros

    gorgeous office and views. very nice building

    Cons

    office politics. bias. harassment. poor management.

    Shook Hardy & Bacon2015-07-23
Found 73 reviews