Shoosmiths Reviews | Glassdoor

Shoosmiths Reviews

Updated Sep 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Shoosmiths CEO Simon Boss (no image)
Simon Boss
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Top culture, values, people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shoosmiths full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Shoosmiths people are invested in their values which drives the culture. The environment is friendly, people are approachable, and communication is clear from the top.

    Cons

    On site catering would be good. Some sites have limited parking, or are out of city locations. But these points have a minimal impact on every day working.

    Advice to Management

    Keep building upon the success of the firm, be forward-looking, and future-minded, to enable employees to be retained.

    Shoosmiths2019-05-03
  2. "Excellent and friendly work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shoosmiths full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extremely friendly! flexible working so you have a laptop and can work anywhere in the office or sometimes at home. Everyone is friendly.

    Cons

    I honestly don’t have any cons! It’s a great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing!

    Shoosmiths2019-04-29

    Shoosmiths Response

    June 4, 2019Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your positive thoughts about Shoosmiths!

  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal Apprentice in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shoosmiths full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People, Flexibility, Perks, Reputable firm, Enjoyable work.

    Cons

    Pay could be improved for less senior staff

    Shoosmiths2018-11-30

    Shoosmiths Response

    June 4, 2019Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

  5. "Trainee Life 2018"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee Soicitor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shoosmiths full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very supportive environment. Great bunch of people to work with. Choice of training seats, even if outside your designated office. Regular social events. Encouraged to be part of charity committee and pro bono initiatives. Great offices - open plan, spacious, good facilities. No stuffiness. Good opportunities for progression. Agile working. Nice extra perks.

    Cons

    Lack of communication in order to understand what's happening in your team (i.e. recruitment etc) can at times be frustrating but this has improved in recent years.

    Advice to Management

    Really true to Shoosmiths' values

    Shoosmiths2018-10-22

    Shoosmiths Response

    June 4, 2019Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for others to read. Our firmwide recruitment team has been growing rapidly in the last year to support the growth of the firm, and there is now dedicated recruiters for each practice area, which should help communication between the teams.

    Show Less
  6. "Great Firm - Supportive Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solicitor in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shoosmiths full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a really great firm to work for. There are many opportunities for career progressions in addition to great training and development opportunities. The salaries are good, taking into account the work/life balance offered. The people are down to earth and genuinely supportive. I've loved working here.

    Cons

    I think that the experience of working here can be different depending on what team you are in. My own experience has been truly great but I think that may not be the case in other departments.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work - and maybe consider bonuses? I know it's difficult to do that without changing the culture but perhaps you could adopt a percentage based profit share model?

    Shoosmiths2018-10-19

    Shoosmiths Response

    June 4, 2019Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your review of the firm for others today. The firm is constantly reviewing feedback, so thank you for sharing.

  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shoosmiths full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Just been for around a month. So feedback, purely based on my last month's stay in the company: * Everyone seems to be happy * There is a family feeling here * Good benefits package (I presume this gets better depending on the pay scale)

    Cons

    *Very tight deadlines and very hectic shcedules * Base Pay is less compared to market rates. * Very rigid about one hour lunch breaks (May be a pro, but becomes a con for people who want to leave early)

    Advice to Management

    None

    Shoosmiths2018-09-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great firm that offers fair opportunity to progress."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shoosmiths full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, culture and environment. Opportunity to have your ideas considered and implemented. Transparency with figures and team / individual performance. Autonomy to get on with your day job, but support when you need it. Monthly office 'team brief' to share any relevant news. Good opportunities to get involved in recruitment and training of juniors / trainees. Great L&D / training support with... programmes like Ignite. Visible operations board across the office network

    Show More

    Cons

    Laptops and agile working is nice, but the general IT systems could do with some improvement and more regular updates from the department would help. Also, the lack of bonus structure which is on offer at most other firms.

    Shoosmiths2018-04-17

    Shoosmiths Response

    June 4, 2019Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your details feedback about the firm.

  9. "Pleasure to work here and thrive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Case Handler in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shoosmiths full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People Benefits Positive growth on professional level The company enhance your lifestyle Employees are ensured to be heard and progress made

    Cons

    The new layout of the area, I feel very isolated from my team.

    Advice to Management

    Practically think about new designs for employees, especially the new individuals

    Shoosmiths2018-03-19
  10. "A fun, growing firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shoosmiths full-time

    Pros

    The people - a very supportive culture Great work/life balance Opportunities for progression Focus on growth and future whilst retaining values Regular teambriefs and employee forums help you to feel included in the bigger picture

    Cons

    Some offices lack amenities (eg a canteen would be great!)

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting staff to be the best they can be

    Shoosmiths2018-01-03
  11. "Great firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shoosmiths full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very nice team and friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    no cons for this review

    Shoosmiths2017-12-05
Found 53 reviews