ShopKeep Reviews | Glassdoor

ShopKeep Reviews

Updated Feb 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
ShopKeep CEO Michael DeSimone (no image)
Michael DeSimone
65 Ratings
Pros
  • "Catered lunches, sometimes stocked kitchen with food and drinks(in 18 reviews)

  • "Product that really makes a difference in the success of small businesses(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "they downsized the office and now Portland Customer Care Team has NO OFFICE to come to for work(in 16 reviews)

  • "Growing pains, Turnover, Some unhappy employees(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great growth opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payment Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ShopKeep full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company provides you great benefits and medical plans. I love the people I work with and the management team is very responsive to guide you and support you throughout your learning process. And can't complain about the catered lunch and free massages and the gym amenity!

    Cons

    Our salary could be more competitive, other than that - I'm happy.

    Continue reading
    ShopKeep2020-01-16
  2. "Typical hire and fire sales job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ShopKeep full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Snacks in the office - some cool and supportive coworkers - convenient office location

    Cons

    The sales goals became unrealistic to the point where some would scoff when they revealed our goals at the monthly meeting. They pushed out the people who had been there the longest by raising the goal and lowering the commission. They're more interested in cheaper, fresh out of school bodies than experienced sales people trying to have a long term career with the company. They give free lunch every once and a while. It's a nice perk, but they do it so you don't leave your desk for a lunch break. It was an amazing place to work when I started and they cared about their employees' opinions and lives. It is no longer the case.

    ShopKeep2020-02-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Love the People I Work With!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payment Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ShopKeep full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Able to change roles from a Customer Care Agent to a Payment Specialist. The people I work with are all great and it makes coming into work easy. Once a week catered lunch and snacks and drinks are available at all times. Also the flexibility to work remotely from home and an understanding Manager who also works hard makes me lucky to be a Payment Specialist at Shopkeep.

    Cons

    Short notice when a new update or third party integration is going to be released.

    Continue reading
    ShopKeep2020-01-16
  4. "AMAZING COMPANY!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ShopKeep full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very cool culture, very nice people and amazing office. Great work-life balance as well. They take really good care of their employees and provide terrific benefits so I am really happy working here. I strongly recommend anyone to join us!!! The management and co-workers here are awesome, this will be a great place to retire from.

    Cons

    No disadvantages I can think of that would deter anyone from not wanting to check this company out.

    ShopKeep2020-01-16
  5. "Great Company: lots of flexibility and perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payment Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ShopKeep full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are a lot of great benefits including the people you work with, PTO policy, schedule flexibility, 401K matching and room to grow.

    Cons

    As a tech company you need to be able to shift and adapt quickly which isn't for everyone.

    ShopKeep2020-01-16
  6. "Flexible, Fun and Friendly!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payment Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ShopKeep full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Schedule is very flexible - Great people to work with - Very accommodating to catered lunches and snacks/drinks in the office - Laid back work environment

    Cons

    - Implement a longer, extensive training for either customer care advisors or account executives

    ShopKeep2020-01-16
  7. "Amazing Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payment Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ShopKeep full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very lax environment, Catered lunches AND breakfast, Ability to work remote if the need arises, Great benefits (health, vision, dental etc)

    Cons

    As a growing company, business is booming and at times the work load can be overwhelming.

    ShopKeep2020-01-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ShopKeep full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved my time here. Great people, job is redundant but overall a fantastic experience.

    Cons

    Healthier snacks in the office.

    Continue reading
    ShopKeep2019-12-23
  9. Helpful (8)

    "A Deep Circle of Hell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Advisor in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ShopKeep full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    beer fridge, periodic office held-massage sessions, catered meals, and the ability to work from home almost full time.

    Cons

    they downsized the office and now Portland Customer Care Team has NO OFFICE to come to for work. They claim to be working to improve their carbon footprint, but in my opinion its probably because the product they're peddling is crap and folks are finally catching on. It's pretty crappy to not provide your employees with an office to work at. Poorly organized product releases. hardware and software updates seem to be released BEFORE the technical support team even has the support articles in place to support/service/troubleshoot the equipment. Care Advisors are constantly in a situation where a new "software error" severely inhibits the business owners who RELY on the software to run their business. In these instances, Customer Care Advisors are used as cannon fodder to take the brunt of business owner's frustrations. There is never an immediate resolution.This happens in some form or fashion every single month. Sometimes multiple errors in one month. Often the issues take weeks to months to resolve. In my experience the sales team is prone to lies of omission, misleading customers into signing on the dotted line. Customers find that they are in binding contracts and are unable to exit without paying 'early termination fees' equivalent to the remainder of their contracts, often upwards of $400 or more. These practices are deceptive and sleazy. Salesmen can do as they please, starting fires as long as they get the sale. The Customer Care team is then tasked with putting out the fires. Middle management has a tendency to belittle and disrespect customer care agents. No consequences for these behaviors. They are passive aggressive and devoid of empathy. Poor opportunity for advancement

    Continue reading
    ShopKeep2020-01-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "No Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Customer Care in Skokie, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ShopKeep full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Catered lunches, sometimes stocked kitchen with food and drinks

    Cons

    Limited training that leaves us having to guess the material and not knowing things on the calls. Introduces updates and new hardware without giving us notice and proper training

    Continue reading
    ShopKeep2020-01-19

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 136 reviews