Shopify Reviews | Glassdoor

Shopify Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 454 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
337 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, great people, lots of opportunity to make an impact.

    Cons

    Salary for the guru role could be better.

    Shopify2019-09-11
  2. "Decent work environment with limited career growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    -Equipment provided for work is of great quality. -Benefits and perks are improving year on year. -Remote work and all the perks that come from that. -Strong support structure for employees. -A lot of emphasis on skills development. -Exciting company mission.

    Cons

    -Two class system between remote employees and in-office employees. Leads to a wide disparity when it comes to perks and career advancement. -Despite efforts, still a fair bit of siloing of knowledge & projects leading to duplicate effort. -Internal operations struggling to match the scale of external growth.

    Advice to Management

    Too much emphasis on living within a few miles of Ottawa in order to advance your career. The hiring process is demanding, and we're seeking passionate, engaged and intelligent people to create amazing things, but then limiting them due to geography. It's leading to some of our brightest talents becoming dulled.

    Shopify2019-09-13
  3. "Best Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Coordinator in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Remote work, excellent benefits, great support, great people

    Cons

    Keeping up with growth is difficult - lots of work to be done.

    Shopify2019-08-29
  4. "Amazing opportunity. You wont regret working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great Learning Opportunity - Get your own store - Amazing Bonuses

    Cons

    - Being remote can feel isolating - Can get boring once you a high understanding of the role

    Shopify2019-08-28
  5. "Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture with wonderful people

    Cons

    A lot of long hours and disconnection is tough

    Shopify2019-08-26
  6. "Good company, not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great perks and benefits, awesome coworkers

    Cons

    Only one speed. If you cannot keep up, you are drowning. Not the best for any with health problems or for any intersectionals, although they say they are improving this. Difficult to get time off. Inconsistent management seems to be a widespread problem, other employees were only too eager to tell me.

    Shopify2019-09-09
  7. "Wonderful company, outstanding leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, obsession for generating value to merchants and building a jaw dropping product, amazing colleagues to learn from

    Cons

    Leadeeship should invest more time in the International offices

    Advice to Management

    Accelerate the investment in International, the opportunity is massive and there are many players chasing it.

    Shopify2019-08-24
  8. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Manager 

    I worked at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    Working envirmoent is pretty good

    Cons

    Pay amount is not the best

    Shopify2019-08-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not Entirely What I Expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Support Guru in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, stock options, competitive pay

    Cons

    Inconsistent training, inconsistent scheduling, constantly changing platform

    Advice to Management

    Ensure that the platform is fully functional for training exercises. Allow customer support staff to maintain a consistent schedule to maintain proper work/life (and health) balance. Give customer support staff opportunity to learn/work with platform updates before launch dates, so they aren't scrambling when support calls come in on the first day.

    Shopify2019-09-04
  10. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Lead in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • Ability to work from home • Benefits include company stock

    Cons

    • Employees that work from home don't get as many 'perks' as those in the offices

    Shopify2019-08-23
Found 454 reviews