Shopify Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Shopify Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
13 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture! Love the environment.

    Cons

    Not the most challenging problems to solve.

    Shopify2019-10-11
  2. "Good with Technology , bad with Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I find Auto1 as pretty cool and fast in adopting tech stack. Infact, for technical people there are no boundaries to learn

    Cons

    Hierarchical management and changes to often

    Shopify2019-09-20
  3. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great place to work - Learn a lot

    Cons

    - Ottawa office is very big, can get lost sometimes finding context

    Shopify2019-05-27
  4. "a place for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, trips, and environment makes it a great place to work

    Cons

    Sometimes caters too much to everyone's needs

    Shopify2019-06-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Shopify is definitely the place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer, Backend in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify for less than a year

    Pros

    I've achieved things working here that I would have never imagined I'd do during my internship career. This is due to excellent mentorship and culture; interns are treated almost identical to full times (aside from being put on call). You're given the same privileges of fulltimes with full access to all machines your team owns (that includes ssh access to production machines). Unlike certain other companies cough cough, you're not siloed to an intern project and instead pull tickets from the top of the bucket like full times and work as part of a team.

    Cons

    The internship is what you make of it.

    Shopify2019-05-15
  6. "Everything is great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People, food, perks and benefits are all amazing

    Cons

    Needs some time to get a long with the environment and knowing the development techniques

    Shopify2019-03-11
  7. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shopify for less than a year

    Pros

    -Good benefits/compensation. General caring attitude towards employees -Access to interesting technical challenges -Positive environment

    Cons

    -Being a large corporation sometimes means there's more overhead to getting things approved and deployed.

    Shopify2019-01-14
  8. Helpful (3)

    "A Good Engineering Org"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineering Intern in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify for less than a year

    Pros

    - Most people are pretty good at what they do, maybe even world class. Specially true for some teams and engineering management. But I can't say that about everyone. To be fair, they employ a lot of people and not every job is technically demanding. - Production Engineering / SRE and data infra do some interesting work. A lot of innovative internal/open source tools, libraries and frameworks. - Great office design and layout. The perfect balance between open and closed layout, in my opinion. - Free food, coffee (espresso machines too) and snacks. - A lot of office activities. They throw some cool parties too (but these are tech parties, so take that with a grain of salt). Quite a few intern events and getaways as well. - Decent benefits. - Many of these office perks are common in big tech companies but there are barely any in Canada.

    Cons

    It's got a little bit of a BIG fish in a small pond kinda feel. For a while, they were the only big modern tech company in Canada and maybe still are. So everyone is grateful and everyone -- EVERYONE drinks the kool aid. There's some shuffle in upper management with them getting to this size. But that comes with growth, I'm guessing. A lot of the culture/office/HR teams think they are "different" and do a lot of things for the sake of being different.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2018-12-26
  9. "Software Engineer Intern Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer(Internship) in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify for less than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing work culture. - Great internal tools and infrastructure. - Friendly co-workers. - Fantastic learning experience.

    Cons

    - Could have helped cover more of my transportation fees.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2018-11-06
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    Good team dynamic and team culture . A lot of good technology and many things to do and take care of .

    Cons

    Hard to get promotion and difficult to see how some work is relevant as some might get discarded such as projects

    Continue reading
    Shopify2018-04-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 19 reviews