KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Shopify

Engaged Employer

Shopify

Add a Review

Shopify Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Nov 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 of over 1,092 reviews

4.3
82%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
698 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible work hours and good work from home support(in 67 reviews)

  • "Get to work from home, great benefits(in 47 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The experiences that gurus have seems to be very different from that of RnD/ other disciplines(in 28 reviews)

  • "Higher ups preach "work/life harmony" (work/life balance) but you'll get side eye if you try to leave the office before 5 on a Friday(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Shopify and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "great benefits"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Overview

      Nov 17, 2020 - Anonymous 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunities to grow Helpful Teammates Great benefits

      Cons

      There are no cons in my opinion.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Shopify Response

      Social Care

      Hello, there! Thank you for sharing your experience. It’s wonderful to hear that you’ve had a positive experience working at Shopify. Growth and development have been a focus at Shopify for the past year, so it’s great that you’ve found ample opportunities to grow while you work. Having an amazing and helpful team can really improve your work environment - we love how many fantastic and talented employees we have at Shopify! Again, thank you for sharing your feedback.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Challenging but Rewarding

      Jun 14, 2019 - Expansion Pack in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company culture, colleagues in SF are wonderful, regular travel opportunities, interesting problems to work on, growth opportunities, great benefits.

      Cons

      Some internal politics and battles for resources (but I've seen much worse). It can be challenging to be a small US office of a large Canadian company but the HQ offices are getting better at remembering about us.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company and benefits, but very mentally tiring and draining

      Jan 31, 2019 - Guru 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Work remotely (don't have to travel) - Get great benefits - Get all equipment needed including laptop and monitor sent to you - Working for a growing and high potential company

      Cons

      - Working remotely (don't get to meet people in person, can get lonely) - Still a 9-5 job but at home, with 30-minute lunch. Pretty strict on that. - Need to be glued to your computer for 8 hours straight. - Stressfull, they require you to hold 3 chats at the same time and more.

      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Freelancer

      Great Company

      Oct 19, 2018 - Anonymous Freelancer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company, great benefits, great environment to work in

      Cons

      Pay not as good as I wanted it to be.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      This company saved my life

      May 6, 2020 - Support Team 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Starts at a decent living wage, great benefits and perks, great growth oriented culture, mission/vision is clear. Learn a lot, fast. Great training - they’ll educate you on how to handle client “baggage”, imposter syndrome, burnout, and business. Subjects that most companies will not address. Colleagues are great, easy to make friends with everyone. The company is open to challenges and feedback, and values honesty and transparency. Depending on the shifts or teams you work for, there can be quite a bit of autonomy. Company invests in their employees growth.

      Cons

      High-paced environment, not suitable or sustainable for all employees. Can lead to burnout if you’re not taking good care of yourself.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Shopify Response

      Social Care

      Hey, thank you for leaving such a kind review! It's truly amazing to hear how working with us has had such a positive impact on your life. We feel it's important to be set up for success right from the beginning; we are merchant obsessed here, so it's essential for our Support Team to be given the right tools and training to be able to help our merchants as best they can. Our merchants depend on us to invent products that allow them to support their livelihoods. Making sure you are properly equipped to deal with any problem they are faced with is crucial to their success. Because change is constant, we need everyone to be a perpetual and deliberate learner. Deliberate learners acquire new information or experience a new concept or skill, practice it, and self reflect. This can, at times, be a fast-paced environment which (as you mentioned) is not suited to everyone. Which is totally fine! We expect everyone to do their work to the best of their abilities, and if they feel they need a helping hand, that's where your team comes in. You can reach out to your Squad Lead or HR advisors to chat if you start to feel your workload creeping up on you. And don't forget to take advantage of your personal days! I can absolutely pass your feedback along to our management team. There is already a system in place to make sure our management team are aware of the stressors and pain points of the day to day workloads, as well as any other issues that may arise. Usually, during weekly Team Times or 1:1 meetings, your Squad Lead will ask for feedback or check up on how you're doing. You can always reach out outside of those times too! That feedback is then taken to Time & Geo Leads to discuss further. I can bring your advice to the team here to see if it's possible to allow more transparency on the process though! Just so everyone knows their feedback is taken seriously. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review, it is really appreciated!

    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great friendly and welcoming company

      Nov 2, 2020 - Front of House Coordinator in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits clear structure and teams rec services

      Cons

      work can be tedious but is expected

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Shopify Response

      Social Care

      Hi, there! Thank you for posting here, we love getting feedback! We do pride ourselves on the benefits and compensation packages we offer, they are competitive by design and reflect the market standards. To have the greatest impact and to keep your interest in your work alive, we'd recommend spending time identifying gaps in your skills and knowledge and develop them. Strike a balance between learning to optimize your current skill set, and learning to mitigate or improve your weaknesses. If you aim to be curious enough to learn something new every day, you will definitely stay engaged in your work. Thank you again for the review, and best of luck in the future!

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing company

      Oct 4, 2020 - Risk Analyst in Auckland, Auckland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and perks. Amazing lifestyle

      Cons

      Not suited for people wanting to work in offices.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Shopify Response

      Social Care

      Hey, there! Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are so happy to hear that you've had a good time working with Shopify. It's important for us to be able to offer benefits and perks that will help our employees maintain a good lifestyle and have a positive work-life balance. Going digital by default has it's challenges for some, but by being able to take advantage of today's technologies, we can arrange for virtual meetings to sustain an office-like environment. Participating in the Sidekicks program is also a great way to socialize and get together with your team. Again, thank you for sharing your feedback!

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing Company to work in

      Sep 1, 2020 - Technical Support Advisor in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Multi Culture Company, Great Benefits, Support Employees, Remote work

      Cons

      I have been more than 1 year in Shopify and i only see positive things from the team and everyone.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Shopify Response

      Support Specialist

      Hi there, thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are so happy to hear about your positive experience with both the company and your team. Wishing you further success in the coming year.

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Nov 22, 2020 - Fraud/Risk Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, great culture, avant gardist mindset

      Cons

      First line leaders lack experience Lack of work life balance Not much room for upper mobility

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Shopify Response

      Social Care

      Hey, there! Our leadership team have listened to feedback on career opportunities, and have worked together to show all employees a clear and easy way they can progress in their Shopify careers. There is a Career Pathing Guide available on our internal support pages! This means there is a huge amount of transparency around how to progress to different roles. Every single one of us influences the environment here through our everyday actions and interactions. Therefore, we all own culture. We embrace being multicultural and celebrate the differences that occur naturally within teams, departments, locations, and projects. We see this diversity as a strength! An Avant Gardist mindset is a great way to describe how we approach our challenges; we make it our goal to change and adapt to the needs of our merchants by finding new and creative ways to solve problems. Thank you again for leaving a review, it's very much appreciated!

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Remote Work

      Nov 9, 2020 - Customer Success Guru in New Plymouth, Taranaki
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Get to work from home, great benefits

      Cons

      Extremely hard job, lots of pressure, little incentive salary wise

      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 47 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Shopify Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Shopify? Share Your Experiences

    or