Shore Thing Marketing Reviews in South Plainfield, NJ | Glassdoor

Shore Thing Marketing South Plainfield Reviews

Updated Oct 3, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Shore Thing Marketing CEO Richard Dinella (no image)
Richard Dinella
24 Ratings
  1. "Competitive opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in South Plainfield, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment and opportunity and overall a wonderful culture to succeed and grow into

    Cons

    there are not many cons that i can think over i understand what i was getting myself into so the longer hours and commission was just part of the job to me

    Advice to Management

    You're a stud Rich never change

    Shore Thing Marketing2018-10-03
  2. "Very good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales in South Plainfield, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing for less than a year

    Pros

    Extremely motivational working environment for young interns

    Cons

    Dont live up to what they say they will pay you

    Advice to Management

    Management was great

    Shore Thing Marketing2017-02-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in South Plainfield, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No pros whatsoever this place sucks and is a pyramid scam

    Cons

    They require a 10+hour day. There rip you off with pay. They tell you there is a base rate but only pay you commission and not even all of it. I never got paid what I earned. I complained and just got a bonus. This place is a time suck. They require you to be there all day and then after your shift you have to stay after quite late and play games then go out to eat. You do not make enough money to do that. This... place really sucks. You work like an 80 hour week for barely any pay. Stay away

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees and cut your ridiculous hours

    Shore Thing Marketing2017-02-22
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Hindsight 20/20"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Entry Level Account Manager in South Plainfield, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a lot of fun, the environment is amazing. If you are good at sales, this job is great.

    Cons

    It's door to door sales. You pay for everything. (No Benefits) Drive your car around all day. Sometimes no income. They say base salary of 400 dollars a week or 100% commission... however if you don't 10 sales you don't get anything. You feel like you're conning people even if you are saving them money.

    Advice to Management

    Please don't be so shady about everything. Keep telling us to have integrity, when you guys sign people up for Direct Energy even if it isn't saving them money.

    Shore Thing Marketing2016-07-17
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Please Don't Join "THE BUSINESS""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Corporate Trainer in South Plainfield, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing for more than a year

    Pros

    You MIGHT make a friend or two. Otherwise, there are zero pros I can give to them. Just being honest. (This review is not a reflection of Rich. This is about the other team and CEO he shares an office with).

    Cons

    1. You are just a number to them. 2. You will not have a personal life. 3. Your personal life will become your work life and that is highly frowned upon, but they brought it upon you. 4. The D2D "owner" is a snake. He plays favorites and will turn on you the second he feels threatened. 5. It's literally like a cult. 6. If you are desperate for work, this is the place for you, otherwise please don't quit your... job to come here. 7. You won't get benefits. 8. 11-8 will turn into 10-11 real quick. 9. They make you pay for your own gas (with zero reimbursement) and the recommended team nights come out of your pocket as well. 10. DON'T trust anyone you work with. 11. And to all of my fellow college grads, please please please don't even entertain the interview! You are better than this "company"! 12. You will not be a "business owner," you will end up workin for other clients, selling their product, while still being under the control of Cydcor. You won't own anything, sweetheart.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    First of all, don't match up interviewees with peopl they can "identify with" just to get them to like that person, so they'll start. Second, tell them what it is. Third, stop being snakes.

    Shore Thing Marketing2016-06-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Account Manager Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in South Plainfield, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved the atmosphere and how friendly the team, as well as management, were. I learned so much from this position and definitely brought me out of my shell.

    Cons

    The job isn't for everyone. You definitely have to work hard but the growth is endless so the hard work pays off in the end.

    Shore Thing Marketing2016-05-03
  7. "Opportunity meets hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Trainer in South Plainfield, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shore Thing Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is the most positive & self developing place I've ever worked for!! Everyday, Everyone is so excited about being there. Why? Opportunity. I've worked for many years for a company & never got recognized or promoted. At this company you get the opportunity for both & not years, but days after I started!! I never want to do anything else or work anywhere else!!!

    Cons

    If you don't have a positive attitude, good work ethic, passionate about anything, or can't be on time, or you aren't coachable, or you can't be prepared then do not work here.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for seeing the opportunity in me!

    Shore Thing Marketing2016-05-04
  8. ""Tremendous opportunity for personal and professional growth""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Trainer in South Plainfield, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shore Thing Marketing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is super motivated and hard working. There is no glass ceiling limit on earnings potential. Each step for advancement is accommodated with training by fellow peers and management. I really appreciate that the training program has helped me grow both personal and professionally. The mentorship from management has been awesome!!

    Cons

    If you are not hard working or can't find a way to motivate yourself, you will struggle with the job. You will be forced out of your comfort zone

    Advice to Management

    The culture is amazing! It has been fun, supportive and has helped my confidence grow. Keep up the great work.

    Shore Thing Marketing2016-04-16
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Not what I expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     in South Plainfield, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing

    Pros

    Great opportunity to advance.The team was super positive and inspiring to improve daily.Felt a little surreal

    Cons

    Didn't pay off. I work 10 hour shifts 5 days a week. And it's 100% commission the amount of time and effort put in didn't reflect in the check. This job isn't for current students, I was just looking to make money. With this job you will need a second job to have guaranteed money.

    Advice to Management

    The team was great. Super positive and great working environment.

    Shore Thing Marketing2016-03-29
  10. ""Fundamentals" – Some of the best skills to acquire for anything you do in life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Entry Level Account Manager in South Plainfield, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mentorship - Some of the greatest minds in the world had mentors and that is what this "program" or company does for you. Work long hours (teaches you tenacity), work till you hit your goal (teaches you discipline), This company structures you so you can become at sales, business, time management and even entrepreneurship.

    Cons

    Even after leaving the company, I come back to realize there were no cons. They teach you the fundamentals you need to become a better business man.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for all of the coaching and mentorship. The skills you taught me has made me a better business owner and leader for my current team. Keep providing your employees/future employees with the same resources.

    Shore Thing Marketing2016-02-26
Found 37 reviews