Shoreline Community College Reviews | Glassdoor

Shoreline Community College Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Shoreline Community College CEO Cheryl Roberts
Cheryl Roberts
7 Ratings
  1. "Friendly atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mathematics Learning Assistant in Shoreline, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shoreline Community College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I liked that everyone was really friendly

    Cons

    Not many. It is a job mainly for students at the college so keep that in mind

    Shoreline Community College2019-09-17
  2. "Great pay and working environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campus Security Officer in Shoreline, WA
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shoreline Community College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay compared to our private sector counterparts. Plenty of OT available which can be converted to comp time. Great co-workers and supervisors. People are very nice for the most part on campus. Had a great experience.

    Cons

    Understaffing. Qualified candidates are hard to find and take awhile to get hired on due to all the Government hoops that must be jumped through. Many departments on the Classified Staff side of things operate a skeleton crew. Lack of hourly workers and people taking time off means mandatory OT at times.

    Shoreline Community College2019-05-28
  3. "Part time faculty have no rights"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor Mathematics in Shoreline, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shoreline Community College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The working environment is fairly laid-back.

    Cons

    - unprofessional administration staff - poor communications - part time faculty has very little chance of getting hired full time - hours are not guaranteed - benefits are contingent on at least 50% of full time hours for each academic quarter

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice to management: based on what I have heard, they are aware of all the issues.

    Shoreline Community College2019-04-14
  4. "Office Assistant 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Assistant in Shoreline, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shoreline Community College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent and understanding area employees

    Cons

    Sometimes things can get hectic and deadlines can get past

    Advice to Management

    There are good people working at SCC and they are helpful .

    Shoreline Community College2018-10-24
  5. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Shoreline Community College part-time

    Pros

    People I worked with where great!

    Cons

    There wasn't any reason to dislike working at SCC.

    Shoreline Community College2018-09-19
  6. "Student Laboratory Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Shoreline Community College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, excellent pay and wonderful and supportive supervisor. This was an excellent learning opportunity and has prepared me for better opportunities in the workforce

    Cons

    There were no cons. This experience was invaluable.

    Shoreline Community College2018-08-13
  7. "Okay school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shoreline Community College part-time

    Pros

    Great legal job opportunity for international students Good experience to have on resume

    Cons

    The wage is very low

    Shoreline Community College2018-07-07
  8. "Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Shoreline Community College part-time

    Pros

    Friendly environment and flexible working hour

    Cons

    Received late notice from administrators

    Shoreline Community College2018-06-08
  9. "Adjunct Faculty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shoreline Community College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are great there. I taught at many cc this is the best! The dean cares about the faculty instead of just use them as stepping stone. I love the parking situation too (free for staff after 5pm).

    Cons

    Students are mostly wonderfully but there are always bad ones, esp from the running start program. Not enough tenured track positions despite having lots of great PT instructors.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the good work. Do not become what the Seattle colleges are heading to.

    Shoreline Community College2018-05-15
  10. "International Marketing Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Photographer in Shoreline, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shoreline Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice place to work, friendly people, get to help out new students !

    Cons

    nothing has been found yet

    Shoreline Community College2018-05-04
Found 36 reviews