ShowMgr.com Reviews | Glassdoor

ShowMgr.com Reviews

Updated Jan 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
20%
Approve of CEO
ShowMgr.com CEO Kevin Rosen (no image)
Kevin Rosen
25 Ratings
  1. "Full of opportunity and growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ShowMgr.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment to learn and grow my skills

    Cons

    Not a 40 hour job

    Continue reading
    ShowMgr.com2017-05-07
  2. Helpful (8)

    "You will soon discover you deserve better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ShowMgr.com full-time

    Pros

    Gain experience with software development.

    Cons

    Delayed or bounced paychecks; No training, development, or empowerment. No freedom to take care of clients. Management wants to micromanage, but they clearly don't have the time or attention to follow projects so you will end up defending yourself and your communication more than actually doing the job you were hired to do. You will get direction from one executive and they will either completely forget the conversation and how they directed you or enough time will pass where another executive will come in and derail projects and communication without understanding history, prior approvals, or situations. Expect to give tough explanations and contradictions to customers based on this disorganization.

    Continue reading
    ShowMgr.com2019-01-11
  3. Helpful (12)

    "Challenging Personality-Driven Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ShowMgr.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    SM is a company that enjoys a surprising level of success, at least financially, despite operating in a manner that would ruin most other companies within a few years. It’s an affirmation of the CEO’s vision and drive to produce a product that is key for a number of large media companies.

    Cons

    The bad news is that for employee’s, your experience at SM is fully dependent on the CEO’s perception of who you are and what you offer. That's not any different from anywhere else, but this is not a person who cares in the least for the thoughts and concerns of others. Showmgr is a one-man operation and literally everyone else in the company, regardless of title, is disposable. A little bit of history backs this up, turnover at SM is somewhere between 35 to 50% annually with an average employment duration of about 3-5 months. This would be an enormous problem for most companies but at SM, there’s hardly a flinch as employee’s come and go for a variety of reasons, some legit, some comical. But there are real issues too. Missed payrolls? Check. Inaccurate interpretations of labor law and completely outdated attitudes towards employee work-life balance? Check (see the “country-club casual” dress code and non-flexible work hours). Open favoritism? Check. Women over the age of 33? Not here! The deeper issue is that this personality driven environment has potential but not the trust in its own employees to get it to the next level. It's always easier to start from scratch with new blood than trust seasoned employees to make decisions. Running a company this way is the right and privilege of a successful one-man operation. But for an employee, this translates into playing to an audience of one and being subjected to that one person's whim. It must be lonely at top so fortunately his family is in the office with him. No matter where you are in your professional development, think long and hard if this kind of environment that will set you up for success or do more damage than good in the event you’re on the wrong side of the 50% who leave abruptly.

    Continue reading
    ShowMgr.com2018-10-12
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Good Reviews are LIES - Run for you life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Devops Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ShowMgr.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. Any positive reviews were submitted by management. Hostile work environment doesn't begin to describe this company.

    Cons

    Everything. Evil CEO. COO is a joke. No employees last. You will start out as a star, move to a target, then get fired. They fire people every week. Run

    Continue reading
    ShowMgr.com2018-10-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty great so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DevTeam in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ShowMgr.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * People I work with are great. * The application we are building is constantly evolving making it very fun and challenging to work on. * It is cool to be a leader in the production industry and work with the clients we do. * Pay is average. * Benefits are good (especially the 401k matching). * Moving onto Paychex as our payroll/hr solution made payroll flow much smoother. * Our new office is great. * I look forward everyday to come into work. * I get to leave work at 5:30 most days, which gets me home at a decent time.

    Cons

    * We don't do as much team building as we should. Some of us do lunches together but as a whole we don't do much. * No bonuses (will have to see how profit sharing through Paychex is as good as a bonus)

    Continue reading
    ShowMgr.com2018-07-18
  6. "Different than Usual"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ShowMgr.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits Coworkers are top-class Office is clean

    Cons

    Management is hard to get a hold of for tasks, Workload is on and off

    Continue reading
    ShowMgr.com2018-06-11
  7. Helpful (12)

    "You've been warned."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ShowMgr.com full-time

    Pros

    Management provides plenty of snacks and drinks. That's it. That is the ONLY positive aspect of working there.

    Cons

    EVERYTHING ELSE. This place is a sad excuse for a business. Any positive reviews are FAKE! They force their employees to write positive reviews. If you have ideas to improve the business or even just the task at hand, you will be punished for not wanting to do something EXACTLY as they tell you to, even when it makes no sense or is physically impossible. STAY AWAY. You will be fired if you do not quit beforehand. They are forced to pay their employees a lot of money because nobody would take the job otherwise. And even then, there are only 2 employees who have lasted barely over 1 year outside of upper management. This company lies to their customers and cuts corners at any chance they get. They never meet deadlines due to their lack of organization and constant changes in tasks given, but they blame you instead of realizing that they are the problem. Everything negative you have read is true. DO NOT TAKE THIS JOB. It is not worth the money. They lie about the benefits too. They promised profit sharing and not one employee has seen it reflected in a paycheck. They took away sick hours and lied about that too saying that nothing had changed. Seriously, nothing good to say about this company.

    Continue reading
    ShowMgr.com2018-07-06
  8. "Hard Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor in Ladera Ranch, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ShowMgr.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Clean Office - Co-Workers are easy to work with - Good pay

    Cons

    - Instructions aren't normally clear. - Management is hard to get a hold of.

    Continue reading
    ShowMgr.com2018-05-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Office, Understanding Executives, but EXTREME Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ShowMgr.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Office is clean and secure. *Equipment is up to date and fixed when necessary *Excellent Co-Workers and Management, just easy to work with. *Many Opportunities to grow. *Fair pay

    Cons

    *Long hours, this is a demanding job. *Pressure is on and off like a lightswitch, prepare for long downtimes with spikes in activity. *Software is complex which is a great thing, but learning it is long and tedious.

    Continue reading
    ShowMgr.com2018-05-22
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Don't make my mistake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ShowMgr.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers. Somehow the company is able to recruit the best employees. So it's such a shame that the company is so toxic. This could be a great company if management wasn't crazy.

    Cons

    This is the worst work environment/job culture. Don't be fooled by the salary and fancy title - it's not worth it. When the CEO and/or upper management is in a bad mood they will blame everything on you. There is absolutely no structure and it's basically whatever the CEO and/or upper management want for that minute. For example, in our daily standup meeting the CEO will say he wants us to do ABC. We will suggest to do XYZ instead because it aligns better with the client's objective. But he will insist we do ABC because it's better for him. We will work on ABC throughout the day, then at 3PM he will call to say you're doing everything wrong and you need to get XYZ done before the end of the day. This happens regularly with everyone. They also treat their clients horribly and cut corners whenever they can get away with it. They will blame their clients for impeding projects to cover up their own disorganization. The CEO is especially belittling to the female clients (but that's not new in entertainment #metoo). No matter how desperate you are for a job, this is not worth it! Maybe you can take the job for a couple weeks while you still look for something else, but then you also run the risk of not getting your paycheck.

    Continue reading
    ShowMgr.com2018-05-07
Found 31 reviews