Showtime Pictures Reviews | Glassdoor

Showtime Pictures Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
2.4
32%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "The Affair Crew review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Dolly Grip 

    I have been working at Showtime Pictures for less than a year

    Pros

    Good and efficient human resource services, production management. Interesting and compelling quality content.

    Cons

    Long, often location shoots. Varied.

    Continue reading
    Showtime Pictures2018-02-01
  2. "Unprofessional and shady work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Photographer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Showtime Pictures full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Even though mostly young, my coworkers were some of the hardest-working I've seen; they definitely deserved a better work environment than what they got.

    Cons

    I started out in customer service before being offered a more central office position working directly with the CEO, which came with a raise. While it started out decent enough, it quickly became a humiliating experience. I was openly insulted by the CEO in front of third-party vendors I was supposed to work with, gaslit about project deadlines to keep me ahead, frequently shamed about vacation time that the company had approved prior, and at one point made to do his daughter's homework. At one point I came across an email in which he complained that the labor at the company was expecting their pay on time, which got in the way of his investing in renovation. Outbursts were frequent enough with the CEO over the course of two years that I eventually emailed him telling him that I felt his remarks were inappropriate. I never got a response from him again, and later was informed that I was demoted back to floor duty with a 30% pay cut. Floor duty was just as abusive. It was a regular thing for workers to be yelled at in front of crew and customers. I have seen a worker collapse on the line from exhaustion, at at least two others undergo panic attacks. On four occasions I was baited to quit, a matter I regret not contacting an EEOC field office for. An abrasive and inconsistent management style contributed to a deeply hostile work environment that often kept me in a state of fear for my employment. Overall infrastructure was a mess, especially payroll. I counted at least four payroll company changes over seven years. The entire time the management used an online payroll calculator and paid in cash. For three years in a row I received incomplete W2s, typically missing a month and a half's worth of paystubs. When I brought up the matter, I was assured that the missing funds would be rolled over onto next year's W2. That never happened. I checked with several coworkers and they noticed the same thing. Towards the end of my employment the company announced that it would overhaul their commission system. Instead of a transition, management simply stopped paying commissions to employees before they started working on the new system, leaving us with only hourly pay for months or more. Employees were made to sign an arbitration agreement, placing them at a legal disadvantage.

    Continue reading
    Showtime Pictures2018-06-04
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Sketchy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Photographer in Chattanooga, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Showtime Pictures full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Simple job good hours convenient location Aquarium staff are friendly and fun to talk to during the long stretches of down time.

    Cons

    Hostile work environment Possible tax fraud High turnover rate due to poor work environment No sitting down at all

    Continue reading
    Showtime Pictures2018-03-06
  4. "Photographer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Photographer in Kissimmee, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Showtime Pictures for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible schedule, good employees, competitive

    Cons

    managers scared you that if you didn't make commission you'd be laid off

    Showtime Pictures2015-11-02
  5. "My experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Showtime Pictures

    Pros

    Good company. Fun if you love photography.

    Cons

    A lot of labor work.no room for slacking.

    Continue reading
    Showtime Pictures2015-04-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Shady, abusive company. Stay away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Photographer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Showtime Pictures part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can't think of any but the site requires me to put 20 words into this field.

    Cons

    I have numerous gripes but will only cite the most offensive one. Business name on paychecks would change frequently. We were asked not to deposit paychecks but to cash them out from the register at hq, and return the checks to the company. They would make us wait hours, sometimes days, until there was "enough money in the register" to cash the check. Corporate culture among employees/supervisors often consisted of "hey, you can't complain about this, we're all in the same boat..." SHADY!!!!

    Continue reading
    Showtime Pictures2014-10-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "not a great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Photographer in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Showtime Pictures part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work with the state of the art camera systems and Darkroom software but that is where the Pro's end

    Cons

    My Paychecks often bounced often causing me to run up fees at my bank, my raise was 8 months late and only after much protest. our manager was actually incompetent as she knew literally NOTHING about photography nor american culture, she was taught by new employees how to use the camera system. and the company folded at the location suddenly leaving employees without a job. they did provide 1 weeks severance pay starting the week we were already working.

    Continue reading
    Showtime Pictures2014-06-27
Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 Reviews

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.