KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Shure

Engaged Employer

Shure

Add a Review

Shure Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 159 of over 212 reviews

4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Shure President and CEO Christine Schyvinck
Christine Schyvinck
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Productive environment, work life balance(in 30 reviews)

  • "Great work environment and benefit package(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Here at Shure they have much to much significance in decision making, which goes along with the theme that this company is still stuck in the 70s(in 7 reviews)

  • "Needs to diversify product line, but senior management chooses not to serve consumer markets(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      great company

      Jun 18, 2021 - Senior Manager%2C Business Analysis in Niles, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * great management, great benefits

      Cons

      I can't think of any cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent Company...Unless you work for IT

      Mar 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Niles, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Welcoming and warm culture...unless you work for IT Collaborative and empathetic leadership...unless you work for IT Good work/life balance...unless you work for IT Clearly defined goals and measurements of success...unless you work for IT Exposure to Shure's music oriented universe...unless you work for IT Competitive salary and benefits....actually this one is true for IT

      Cons

      There is a strange mindset amongst IT leadership where your inputs, opinions and previous work experience is treated more as an affront to their existing archaic processes. Never mind if you bring tried and true methods and best practices learned from past roles, these methods will be cut down along with your confidence and self esteem. There is a reason turnover is high amongst those who aren't part of the upper ranks, its so that those employees can keep whatever is left of their mental health intact and not live in a constant state of anxiety. If you are interviewing at Shure, make sure its not for a position in the IT division. The rest of the company seems relatively happy (based on perception and the number of 'lifers' that seem to be around). I would rank Shure: 'outside of IT' a 4 out of 5 stars 'inside of IT' ZERO out of 5 stars. Just don't do it.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Good company with healthy revenue and business practices

      Jul 14, 2021 - Engineering Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great work life balance flexible hours great benefits

      Cons

      Management does not always live by what they preach

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      I Left the Poor Leadership, Not this Great Company

      Apr 14, 2021 - Manager GIS in Niles, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There's a coolness factor at Shure. Company makes great (not the greatest) products and is a leader in it's industry. Company culture is solid and positive

      Cons

      The IT division is an unfortunate disaster and an exception to an otherwise decent company. The top leader is a micromanager, and if your fresh perspective and ideas from successes and lessons learned elswhere don't align, then you're made to feel inferior and unwanted. Directors regularly yell at and humiliate employees in front of their peers. While I was there, it was honestly toxic. From what I could tell, other divisions are run better. Just beware if you're considering IT.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Wasted potential

      Mar 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Work-life balance; depends on the team, but typically you are able to take time off here and there flexibly as long as you get job done - Great, talented, friendly coworkers - Great benefits - 401k, profit-sharing, accumulated PTO, health insurance, etc. without flashy 'perks' - People stay there 10, 20, 30 years for a reason and it feels like family

      Cons

      - Slow pace partly due to legacy processes, partly to indecision from upper management - Due to above, many talented people get frustrated and leave. If you are the type that wants to constantly learn and be mentally stimulated, then this might not be the place since after a while, things just become routine; very resistant to change - Many people in management roles that look at the leaves on the branches, not even individual trees in the forest. Projects get caught up in details early that lead to much inertia - Things are changing with new D&I efforts, but still very much a white-old-dudes' culture, especially in mid to upper management (sub-executive suite) - No clear direction to advancement - seems more like promotions are based on how long you've been working there rather than merits

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Shure Response

      Associate Director, HR & Talent Acquisition

      We’re happy to hear that you found good work-life balance while you were here and recognize the incredible talent resident in our Shure community. But we are equally sorry to learn your perspective about other aspects of the Shure culture are not positive. Thank you for your feedback, which we value and take seriously. We acknowledge decision-making can sometimes feel slow, but that’s due to our laser-focus on quality outcomes and our collaborative and team-oriented culture. Our sustained and profitable growth over many decades (approaching 100 years!) stands as testament to our success. Our journey in the Diversity and Inclusion space is ongoing and we’re working with our colleagues around the world to drive improvements in this area. Our CEO is personally leading a renewed emphasis on diversity, inclusion, access and equity and we know that our passionate Associates will be the true change-makers. We also realize career development is important to our team members, and over the past year celebrated nearly 200 promotions. So, while there is always more to be done, we’re so proud of our history, our market reputation, our culture, and our amazing Associates.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great experience for beginner to Mid level. Get to learn a lot about new technologies and IoT

      Jun 1, 2021 - Software Engineer II in Niles, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Culture Get to know a lot about IoT Very friendly Managers Get to work on different people around the world

      Cons

      Less Salary More days for sick leaves

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Shure IT - Horrible Place to work

      Mar 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Niles, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nothing good to mention here

      Cons

      IT leadership at Shure is responsible for creating an extremely toxic environment where one person on the top dictates every single thing and no one is allowed to give their opinion without facing her wrath. IT leadership is represented by people who are incompetent, have no knowledge of the subject area they are leading, poor management skills, poor communication skills etc. IT leadership feels proud to treat associates with disrespect (screaming, yelling) and serial offenders are protected rather than punished. It’s such a shame that other divisional leaders as well as HR are allowing this to continue in IT and not taking any action to protect the associates. Please stay away from this company and do not consider it for employment, you have been warned!

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good place to work

      Jun 10, 2021 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good workplace culture Lot of interesting engineering work to get involved in Good group of people to work around

      Cons

      Salary is low Associates from different departments have told me lot of toxic people they have to work with

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Best company to work for

      May 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent environment Committed Leadership team Coolest products

      Cons

      There are no cons for this company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Awesome culture and working environment

      Apr 22, 2021 - Finance Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Shure is a leader in their industry! Superb products, innovation is always at the forefront, but so are the employees.

      Cons

      Not very much opportunity for growth

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 159 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Shure Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Shure? Share Your Experiences

    Shure logo
    or