Shutterfly Employee Reviews about "shutterfly"

Updated Nov 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 110 of over 958 reviews

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Shutterfly CEO Hilary Schneider
Hilary Schneider
162 Ratings

What people are saying about Shutterfly

Join the conversation on

Tech

211.5K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Shutterfly~38329
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Shutterfly and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "shutterfly"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    printing pictures

    Nov 22, 2021 - Machine Operator in Shakopee, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good money and good environment

    Cons

    I like everything about Shutterfly but sometimes they can be too controlling

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great place for people with families

    Nov 3, 2021 - Finance 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work life balance at Shutterfly

    Cons

    Not much team bonding events

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great opportunities, communication, and leadership

    Sep 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Shutterfly is a great place to work! I'm very open to new and inspiring project ideas, and this fits well at Shutterfly. It is my favorite kind of company, where I can be proactive and bring a positive attitude to the culture. It is a terrific place with clear communication, project opportunities, and helpful updates. Leaders I've met around the company are very helpful, so I appreciate their leadership, experience, and support. Not only are all managers above me aligned, but there are plenty of shareout meetings, updates, 1:1's, trainings, project collaboration meetings, and other meetings as needed. My managers have been awesome, and everyone I work with at Shutterfly is very nice. I like working with the products, such as photo books, cards, calendars, gifts, home decor, and more.

    Cons

    There aren't any negative things I can think of about the company. Shutterfly is a great place to work!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A Company that Doesn't Stop Learning

    Aug 25, 2021 - Corporate Sustainability Manager in Tempe, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been with Shutterfly for over three years. In my time with the company there have been a lot of changes - different CEOs, acquisitions, layoffs - but through that I've seen the characteristics of a company I'm super proud of. There is a strong vision of who we want to be and how to get there and it includes customer-focused strategy, but also strong DE&I Initiatives and a trend toward sustainability and responsible action. And no matter how large it is, it always feels like there's a seat at the table.

    Cons

    Change is always scary and there has been a lot of that. I think sometimes it makes you wonder how long the good times will last, and can build up some scar tissue when things don't go well. But I think that overall, the leadership team has found a way to start healing those scars and finding ways to make sure the change is more positive than negative.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company to work for!

    Jul 22, 2021 - Digital Marketing Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Directors and Managers on my team are transparent on updates to the company, new product launches, progress on team roadmap -Social committee hosts weekly Wednesday 30 minute huddles for catalog operations to boost morale and reduce stress within the teams by having fun games to build teamwork, confidence and overall get to know your teammates -Personalized birthday cards emailed to Catalog operations team to celebrate and recognize their peers big day -Company Snapshot meetings, sprint/demo days, All Hands meetings, production meetings, and other specialized meetings help to see what is going on across all brands -Love how Shutterfly gives employees opportunities to recognize other employees for their great work and mentioned in the company wide snapshot meetings -Generous discounts across brands, great benefits -great work/life balance with the hybrid work model of working remotely and in the office that works with your schedule -love how Shutterfly recognizes and promotes Asian Heritage Month, Black History Month, Shutterfly Colors, participation to be green, appreciation for all races, genders, heritage and more. -Love my team! Everyone is helpful with great personalities.

    Cons

    With teams across the world it can be challenging at times to communicate any issues with projects if members are in different time zones if the project is high priority, but everyone is willing to put in the extra mile to work on each other’s time zones to get things done - Alot of great meetings but it can be much if time is needed to focus on projects

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellent Culture

    Jul 12, 2021 - Senior Marketing Manager in Eden Prairie, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love working at Shutterfly - the people are so nice, welcoming, supportive and fun to work with. I've never felt such a positive vibe in a working environment before. Our CEO and executive leadership team participate in weekly Q&A sessions with the company and I've been impressed by the level of transparency and openness with employees. It's so appreciated and sets the tone for how we act and handle difficult conversations throughout the org. We're experiencing change and it can get messy, but people are trying hard to make things better and improve the company for our customers and for employees. If you're willing to navigate through the challenges of change, then you're in for a wonderful experience!

    Cons

    There are difficulties that come from change/transformation that can make it hard to be productive: lack of clarity in roles/responsibilities or decision-making; tension between the old and new ways of doing things; many new people onboarding, which can slow things down, etc. But over time, these challenges will fade away and those who are still around will have created a better, stronger organization.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Decent pay, bad experience

    Jul 7, 2021 - Senior Python Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My paycheck arrived on time

    Cons

    I was assigned to a team that's focus was on legacy support and did not receive a single assignment that required me to write code in the year I was on the contract. I was mainly assigned tech support and software configuration task which involved updating several configuration files and lots of slow manual testing. I didn't gain any useful skills or experience from my time at Shutterfly. During my interview a project was described to me and that project never started. I asked several members of the team about the project I was told I'd be working on and they basically laughed it off and I took that as they were aware of the misleading nature of the interview and stopped asking about it.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    I love Shutterfly

    May 20, 2021 - Human Resources 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great leadership; flexibility; free Shutterfly products

    Cons

    none. it is a great place to work.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Plano, TX facility needs help !

    Jun 1, 2021 - Machine Operator in Plano, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Shutterfly surely has its perks: •great benefits •decent schedule •good employees •weight room •game room •drinks in breakroom •company events These are things every person may be looking for when finding a good job.

    Cons

    The cons definitely outweigh the pros when talking about this company: •high turnover rate •horrible management •no communication •no room to grow •barely get a raise •no bonus •incompetent leads & supervisors •company will hire outside rather then give current employees better positions & raises •a lot of politics going on •targeting (don’t know when you will lose your job) • minorities & women have a hard time finding there place here •temps barely get hired on •underpay •leads & supervisors can be very disrespectful •constantly lose hours cause lack of work This is not the place if your looking for a real job. Too many underlying factors you have to deal with & I can’t reiterate how horrible the management is. This plant should be investigated but doubt anything will be done even with all the bad reviews they’ve gotten within & outside of the company.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great

    Mar 2, 2021 - Designer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing people work at Shutterfly. I loved the area and the work/life balance was great.

    Cons

    The first year I was there, the company had 3 different CEOs. Change happened quickly.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 110 Reviews

Popular Careers with Shutterfly Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Shutterfly? Share Your Experiences

or