Shutterfly Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Oct 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Shutterfly CEO Hilary Schneider
Hilary Schneider
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is a definite plus along with work flexibility(in 76 reviews)

  • "Great people around to work with(in 34 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Poor management/upper-management(in 23 reviews)

  • "There is zero work-life balance during peak season(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Shutterfly and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Apr 20, 2020 - Decline to State in Redwood City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong, values-driven culture Teamwork and collaboration are highly valued Compassionate, empathetic leadership Great work/life balance

      Cons

      Significant amount of change over past several years, including acquisitions, public to private, and leadership transitions

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good & Bad

      Oct 20, 2020 - Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good first time job out of college - Good work life balance and ability to take time off when needed

      Cons

      - Terrible recruiting process/ability to move up - I have been interviewing for a job for over a month now to move up within the company and can't get any type of response from the recruiter on next steps or just where the job even stands at this point - No clear direction on how to advance your career. Get bored after staying in the same spot with no real opportunity for growth or career advancement,

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Lousy CEO, OK middle management, dedicated employees

      Sep 9, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice work/life balance, great coworkers, Good product and value proposition and loyal customer base

      Cons

      History of CEOs completely uninterested in product, customers, culture and employees. Except for few bright exemptions, top management is lousy, weak and petty. Increasingly politicized with loudest crappy self promoting mid management getting touted and promoted. Rapidly degrading customer focus and interest in the product.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company to kick start a career

      Jul 23, 2020 - Software Engineer in Tempe, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great teams You’ll get to work with latest tech stack (most of the time) Amazing work life balance

      Cons

      -If you want to change teams to get different experiences, good luck to you - Project planning between PMs happen in a black box with no Engineering inputs - You won’t feel presence of a culture (if you care about it)

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Pay was decent, but toxic culture

      Oct 17, 2019 - Client Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Was paid pretty well, fun on-site activities, great discounts and freebies on products, direct manager was wonderful

      Cons

      The leadership is not good. It’s a bit of a “good ol boys club” among the senior leadership team, especially on the commercial/business side- not sure how the retail side is run. Cross-functional teams struggle to work together; lots of pushback and lack of ownership which make it very difficult to appease clients. There seems to be strong resistance to working together internally, rather you see people wanting to make themselves look good and shift responsibility. Major lack of processes in place... there are no P&P’s, no training, nothing seems to be standardized, it’s a scramble to get things done and clients are flat out lied to about what the company is capable of. I had issues with the ethical implications of the way things were presented to external clients. There is zero work-life balance during peak season. I was advised I was expected to be “on call” during the evenings and weekends and there was little care given to the fact that employees have families and personal lives. This is not a life or death industry; it’s print materials. Very high turn over, that is pretty telling.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Contractor, more than 1 year

      Room for improvement

      May 14, 2020 - Corporate Recruiter in Fort Mill, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work/life balance - flexibility to work remote

      Cons

      By far the most unprofessional Recruiting team I’ve worked with. Zero training and my manager is a new manager who likes the title more than the responsibilities of leading a team. I am left to figure it out on my own. I love my job, just not the people I work with.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Shutterfly Response

      Head of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for providing this valuable feedback. As the leader of Talent Acquisition I take your concerns very seriously and encourage you to reach out directly to me so we can discuss. It is important that every team member feel supported and have the training needed to be successful. I look forward to you contacting me so I can hear more.

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Not what it used to be

      May 24, 2020 - Manager in Redwood City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good co-workers and peers, work life balance, snacks, employee discount, unlimited DTO

      Cons

      Poor benefits, declining culture and uninspiring leadership. Sadly after being acquired by Apollo last year the company has been on a steady decline and I don’t see much of a future for the company.

      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Tons of layoffs. Stay far far away

      Mar 26, 2020 - Software Engineer in Redwood City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent work life balance Nice people

      Cons

      This company used to be decent, but it was bought by a private equity firm that is slashing jobs. Culture of company has been on the steady decline. Pay is not competitive and no annual raises. Work is not challenging or innovative. Very siloed teams.

      7 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      it was ok...

      Apr 21, 2020 - Recruiting Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance, free drinks, lots of company holidays, DTO

      Cons

      Team members can throw you under the bus because they have seniority, Manager told me to quit, Management is distant and less than friendly

      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great place to work if you value work-life balance

      Sep 21, 2019 - Senior Program Manager in Redwood City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team members, really good work-life balance with the flexibility to take care of your personal business when you need to. Discount on products.

      Cons

      Over the years, Shutterfly has lost its long term vision and putting the customer first, and focused too much on immediate, short-term gains, resulting in tech-debt and short-cutting on product development. This can make it frustrating as the issues pile up year after year, short cut after short cut.

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 96 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Shutterfly Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Shutterfly? Share Your Experiences

    or