Shutterstock Reviews | Glassdoor

Shutterstock Reviews

Updated Jan 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
46%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Shutterstock Founder & CEO Jon Oringer
Jon Oringer
218 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome Team! Great Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterstock full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, Work/Life Balance, Culture, Free Breakfast/Lunch & Snacks daily, Benefits Galore!!

    Cons

    You need to be able to roll with the punches because the good outweighs the bad!

    Shutterstock2019-11-15
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Great company, great people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in New York, NY

    I worked at Shutterstock full-time

    Pros

    Great people and product. Very collaborative atmosphere. Good communication and transparency by management. Beautiful office. Great benefits / perks (free cold brew!!!)

    Cons

    Can be hard to resist all the free snacks! Can be meeting-heavy every now and then.

    Shutterstock2019-10-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunity to learn and succeed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterstock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity for growth with high performance Collaborative effort across different teams Good Benefits Work/Life Balance Modern Office w/ Free Lunch and Snacks

    Cons

    None at this moment in time

    Shutterstock2019-10-02
  4. Helpful (2)

    "So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterstock full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun team Good product Solid benefits Creative environment Good opportunities Nice office Reasonable work/life balance Free food

    Cons

    None so far - !

    Shutterstock2019-09-10
  5. Helpful (5)

    "You get out of it what you put into it..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterstock full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There is a ton of opportunity if you want it. People are able to progress quickly and have great careers at Shutterstock and beyond. The facilities and perks are great in NYC and continue to improve in all the other locations. Summer Fridays back are an awesome perk.

    Cons

    The constant churn is hard on people. Management needs to stabilize and hopefully get there soon.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to people. Hear what they really want in their careers. Continue to treat people like adults.

    Shutterstock2019-08-20
  6. Helpful (10)

    "It's a nice place to work, unfortunately some became disgruntled"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Role In Tech in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterstock full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    • Received multiple promotions and so have many of my peers • Perfect work life balance (~40h/w). I never felt pressured by my manager to work overtime • YMMV - People can switch teams when they are bored or unhappy • There is an ethos that we should be doing best in class work • I've been impactful to our tech, our product, our design, etc - this is certainly shared by many • There is a light-hearted attitude on most teams • Note - Should be 4/5 but so many review bombs with 1/5 need to offset.

    Show More

    Cons

    • The real problem... • Leadership turnover has been high, causing constant shifts to our priorities. Very costly (time, money, passion). ••• Stuff that sucks • Our CEO is not a true visionary • Our former CTO caused more problems than he solved (since his departure things are calmer and more focused) • Leadership has been reactionary and hasty to make decisions • Due to low Glassdoor rankings, there is a negative reinforcement loop of poor quality hires • Communication is weak - both top down and horizontally ••• Meh • Some riffs between satellite offices have caused strife for no good reason

    Show More
    Shutterstock2019-05-29
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Great team and company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterstock full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nice office, collaborative work environment full of smart people and an exciting environment to learn. The management is great - directors and VPs all helpful and involved. open office hours is great for access.

    Cons

    Need to career path people better, better access to data

    Advice to Management

    Summer Fridays are back - thanks!

    Shutterstock2019-05-23
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Strategic Solutions Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterstock full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent work/life balance, great benefits, plenty of room for growth

    Cons

    minor growing pains associated to the company current size

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Shutterstock2019-03-25
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterstock

    Pros

    Talented staff, highly collaborative, good work-life balance, great benefits.

    Cons

    None that stand out at this time.

    Shutterstock2018-11-29
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Dynamic and positive, with helpful and communicative people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterstock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Remote workers have it good here because the people in the office try hard not to forget about us. Most people are quick to jump on a video chat and talk things out rather than trading emails or messages all day, and that makes me feel connected and that people are really working together. I also feel like the people here tolerate risk-taking and are interested in new ideas.

    Cons

    A lot of companies have this problem, but as things change quickly here, there are systems that no one owns and that few people understand. I don't think people always take responsibility for those things and file it under "not my problem."

    Shutterstock2018-10-31
Found 322 reviews