Shutterstock Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 of over 572 reviews

3.5
58%
Recommend to a Friend
Shutterstock Founder and Executive Chairman Jon Oringer
Jon Oringer
0 Rating

What people are saying about Shutterstock

Join the conversation on

Tech

210.7K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Shutterstock~270840
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Shutterstock and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work and seeing a huge change in culture

    Nov 4, 2021 - Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team, smart people, fun environment

    Cons

    Work/life balance, salaries not competitive

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Shutterstock Response

    Thank you for leaving a review on Glassdoor! We’re glad to hear that you are enjoying your work and colleagues. The company’s recent transformation required some heavy lifting from some departments and we’re sorry to hear that you felt the pressure of the pace. We are working hard to hire more great people like you to hopefully lighten the load. We strive to offer competitive compensation packages, in fact we receive overall positive feedback on our comp and benefits packages on Glassdoor and our employee surveys.

  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    You'd think its great, but it really isn't - don't work here unless you need to

    May 12, 2021 - Social Media Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great people to work with - Prestige in the Marketing world

    Cons

    - High turnover at all levels leads to frequent strategy changes - Toxic work/life balance - Lack of diversity in leadership and especially the SLT - Burnout and "hard work" is glorified and normalized - Poor HR initiatives and benefits to mental health/work life balance when compared to other companies - Nepotism especially with people who used to work with SLT in the past - Budgets are constantly reduced YoY, even when resources are needed - Budgets are not fixed and not flexible for the year, even to adapt to new direction/strategy by leadership - Leadership does not care about 'grunt work' employees - Your title matters if you want to be taken seriously - Leadership is often disconnected with 'entry-level'/'associate' employees - Lack of employee appreciation from leadership - Overwhelming workload - Even with ADA protection, I still had a complete mental breakdown at least 2x each year - Every department works in silos, there's no sense of team work or a collaborative environment

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful

    Shutterstock Response

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Shutterstock on Glassdoor. While we hope to hear from happy employees and Shutterstock alumni, it is important for us to hear what we are doing well as well as what we need to improve upon. We’re sorry about your experience while working at Shutterstock. This year we’re focused on building strong, collaborative teams, improving transparency so that everyone is aligned with our growth strategy, and building a more diverse and inclusive culture. It’s an exciting time to be a Shutterstock and we strive to see more positive reviews as we continue to evolve. Again, thank you for sharing your experience and insights. We wish you the best of luck in your career!

  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    One word: Horrible

    Oct 26, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pre-pandemic: - Free lunch every day Post-pandemic: nothing

    Cons

    - Zero career opportunities. You will not move up no matter what you do unless you're friends with upper management or have been here since the beginning of the company. - Zero work/life balance. You will get bombarded with emails, gchat and slack messages way past work hours, on weekends and holidays, and you'll get in trouble if you don't respond. If your manager has no life, you won't either. - Zero job security. Culture of fear and stress. Everyone is constantly overworked, stressed, and wondering when it's their time to get fired. - Management does not care. You WILL be belittled, pushed around, and told how unimportant you are. You're just a cog in a corporate machine and management WILL throw you under the bus every chance they get. Unless your choice is either Shutterstock or Mcdonald's avoid this company at all costs.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful

    Shutterstock Response

    We are sorry your experience at Shutterstock was not positive and we hope you have a better one at your next place. Over the past year, Shutterstock has deeply invested in building a world class HR organization, which is critical to a company that is undergoing a transformation on the level of Shutterstock. Our new Head of Talent Management is building an amazing team to make sure that everyone at Shutterstock has development opportunities and a clear career path. Finally, senior management DOES care; it’s unfortunate that you feel your voice was unheard. Our advice to you is that in your next role, remember that there *is* a point in giving management advice, otherwise your situation will never change. Be part of the change. Best of luck to you (and apologies to McDonald’s for the unsolicited shade thrown your way.)

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Shutterstock Supports Their Employees

    Aug 5, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working at Shutterstock has been the first time in my life I feel valued, heard, and my work is ultimately appreciated. The company culture is positive, and all my team members are extremely welcoming and helpful. Plus, amazing work/life balance and benefits!

    Cons

    Working remotely due to the pandemic. I appreciate our company keeping us safe, I just want to be able to work with my coworkers in person.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Shutterstock Response

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re so glad you have had a great start at Shutterstock. We’re happy to have you on the team!

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company and Culture

    Jul 9, 2021 - Marketing Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are great and the work life balance is amazing. I feel valued in my job and really enjoy my coworkers.

    Cons

    The work can be a bit mundane.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Shutterstock Response

    Thanks for the feedback. We’re happy to hear you are having a great experience. We hope you will reach out to your manager or HR Business Partner to talk about your career path and development. If you need to be challenged more, we’d like to help you find the opportunity at Shutterstock.

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Engineering dept great, review doesn't cover other depts

    Nov 20, 2020 - Staff Software Engineer IV in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Happy & chill coworkers, good work-life balance, 50% 401k unlimited match (as of 2020), receptive to well considered push-back on deadlines and requirements, very little office politics

    Cons

    Just "working toward diversity" (as of 2020), occasional top-down pressure, more share-price focused than I like, customers are not always #1

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Shutterstock Response

    Shutterstock

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you are having a positive experience at Shutterstock and will use this feedback to continue to make improvements.

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great company

    Jan 14, 2021 - AR Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - work/life balance - average benefits - beautiful office - innovative

    Cons

    - communication and workflow is very confusing at times - managers need better training - little upward mobility

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Shutterstock Response

    Shutterstock

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you are having a great experience at Shutterstock and will use your feedback to continue to improve the employee experience!

  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent place to work as a UX Designer but terrible leadership

    Sep 30, 2020 - User Experience Designer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Shutterstock was a decent workplace. The UX leadership was great and supportive. My colleagues were very pleasant to work with. The work life balance here was great and I enjoyed the little perks like summer Fridays. The pay isn't competitive for product design but had great 401K plans and a nice office. Working at the Empire State Building gets surreal sometimes if you are someone who has dreamt of working in the big apple.

    Cons

    What was actually depressing was the leadership. It's difficult working for a company and mission when you don't trust the leadership and you never feel like you're being supported. There was very little communication between leadership and employees. The work culture is very top down heavy so there were times when I had to drop everything and work on a random project or make sudden changes in decisions with very little context or transition. I've seen leadership fight in front of employees and make sudden random decisions. For instance, we were one day told that no one was allowed to WFH and several employees had to leave due to their circumstances. Or we'd see a big part of a department/org get let go. A lot of the decisions felt very meaningless and sudden to me and things were very chaotic. Not to mention that I've seen leadership change so many times in the time that I was there: 2 CEOs, 2 CTOs, 2 CFOs. It was also depressing to see the lack of diversity and talent in leadership. The future of a company doesn't seem bright when the leadership is uninspiring and mediocre. Which leads to my next point. There is 0 diversity in the work place. You probably have seen pictures on this platform even and noticed how there is no diversity. This isn't the greatest environment when there is very little room for diverse opinions and perspectives. How can one be foreword thinking and progressive if you aren't opened to diverse perspectives and people? It's not to say that it is a difficult time for Shutterstock given that content is cheap unlike 10/20 years ago. Shutterstock failed to be progressive to make adaptive business decisions and now is going through some tough times. Not forgetting to mention that Covid19 doesn't help. Nonetheless, Covid19 just expedited the failure of a bad businesses and I hope Shutterstock can bounce back up.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great Place, Good People

    Dec 18, 2020 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good work-life balance, nice people, beautiful photography

    Cons

    it's a bigger company now, so not as much startup energy as there once was.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Shutterstock Response

    Shutterstock

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you had a great experience at Shutterstock and will use your feedback to continue to improve the employee experience!

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Fresh air and energy

    Sep 18, 2020 - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great teams, smart people and leadership is listening to clients needs

    Cons

    busy, fast paced culture work/life balance challenges

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Shutterstock Response

    Shutterstock

    Thanks for your feedback! We're glad that you've enjoyed your experience at Shutterstock and are excited for what we'll accomplish together moving forward.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 50 Reviews

Popular Careers with Shutterstock Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Shutterstock? Share Your Experiences

or