Shyp Reviews | Glassdoor

Shyp Reviews

Updated Apr 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Politics, Politics, Politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Shyp full-time

    Pros

    The people (not the leadership team) are some of the best I have ever worked with. They are hardworking, kind, and always go above and beyond what is asked of them.

    Cons

    The "leadership team" is a joke. They will run this company into the ground. They do not care about their employees. Morale is at an all-time low, and everyone is leaving. Our 'leaders' delegate tasks that have no meaning, they don't listen to their employees, and are two-faced. They pretend like they care about everyone, when in fact, their ideal situation would be for everyone to quit so they can start fresh with employees...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop being so stone-cold and two-faced. Take care of the employees who are left before you have no one and nothing left.

    Shyp2017-02-13
  2. "Great environment, but still a work-in-progress..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Packing Expert 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Shyp

    Pros

    Fun company. Cool people. Relaxed yet work focused atmosphere. People usually carry their weight and promote improvements. Management generally listens to and is accepting of employee feedback.

    Cons

    Poor marketing focus. Constant profitability talk but low work hours. No real way to move up from within.

    Shyp2016-09-20
  3. "Packing Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Shyp

    Pros

    Good people in a decent company

    Cons

    A physically demanding work enviorment

    Shyp2016-09-13
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Shyp has a very welcoming atmosphere with a lot of awesome talent and people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office/Facilities Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shyp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Shyp has great people who care about the company as well as their employees. I love coming to work and the people who I work with are very inviting . As a bonus they offer very competitive salaries and benefits.

    Cons

    No cons at the moment. There has been a lot of changes as they are growing but nothing bad. They allow pets at work which is great.

    Shyp2016-07-22
  5. "Great and fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Shyp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A very fast moving and exciting place to work. The team has an incredible amount of energy and everyone wants to see themselves and the company excel!!

    Cons

    The overall company leadership and forward planning were a bit lacking. We grew the company too fast and invest a lot of resources in initiatives when we didn't really have a basis as to why we were doing them.

    Advice to Management

    Very little to say here as the personnel management I found to be very good. Almost every manger looked after their entire team. Some better forward planning and realistic allocation of resources would have been a huge plus though.

    Shyp2016-06-02
  6. "Shyp Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Shyp

    Pros

    Friendly environment and not too taxing of a job

    Cons

    Horrible hours and mismanagement within company

    Shyp2016-05-06
  7. Helpful (2)

    "50/50 Experience – Great idea, leadership is lacking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Shyp full-time

    Pros

    Super great idea and support from the community. Cool office and some really great co-workers.

    Cons

    Not a lot of guidance or direction for lower level employees to grow. Slow growth and lacking leadership on the marketing team. Low moral after set of people getting laid off.

    Advice to Management

    Get a CMO

    Shyp2016-04-21
  8. "Enjoy it while you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shyp part-time

    Pros

    Make easy money and have fun driving around your city

    Cons

    Everyone acts like their a manager Everyone in management is hard to reach You never know when is your last day Company is always changing policy never stable

    Advice to Management

    Please become easier to reach and let your employees at least 2 week in advance about their last day

    Shyp2016-04-06
  9. "Great idea, poor execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Shyp full-time

    Pros

    some very smart people in the executive team energetic and easy to work with people. always have laughter in the office people genuinely care about the mission they are going after

    Cons

    growth is struggling. some very inexperienced and incapable people with huge ego still hold important roles. should have fire those people a long time ago.

    Shyp2016-04-02
  10. "Couriers are micro managed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Courier in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shyp part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not one pro - this company won't make it. It doesn't realize it doesn't have a comparative advantage. No one needs to pay for this service when they can do it for themselves.

    Cons

    Management is young with little experience. Pay is not competitive with other courier positions. Other cities aren't doing well and have closed. Not a stable part time job.

    Advice to Management

    Come to work! Dont tell customers you ship fast when orders sit all day because no one comes to work.

    Shyp2016-01-29
Found 40 reviews