Sidecar (CA) Reviews | Glassdoor

Sidecar (CA) Reviews

Updated Aug 10, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
0 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Sidecar (CA) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Incredible team of passionate & intelligent individuals -Great mission driven culture that shines through in the most difficult of times -Extremely transparent and empowering senior leadership -Lean team allows for everyone to have an impact

    Cons

    -Extremely competitive industry -Underfunded

    Sidecar (CA)2016-01-05
  2. "Great innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Sidecar (CA) full-time

    Pros

    Great Place to work Great technology Good Coworkers Transparency

    Cons

    Competitors exist Founding Pivoting NA Nothing else

    Sidecar (CA)2017-08-10
  3. "Customer Support Representative, fairly well paid,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sidecar (CA) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The overall team at the company is competent, focused, and hard-working. Everyone works together to achieve goals but has fun at the same time. The pay was somewhat decent at about $20 an hour, or $40,000 a year, for a customer service role.

    Cons

    Sidecar is a an also-ran to Uber and Lyft in the ride-sharing market. I'm honestly surprised the company still exists or that's been able to raise funding recently. I'd be surprised if it makes it in the long-term. I don't see Sidecar going anywhere fast. The job itself was pretty boring and not incredibly challenging but that was a result of the position not the company. Company didn't pay me anywhere near a living...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Sidecar (CA)2016-02-06
  4. "Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sidecar (CA)

    Pros

    fun, meet new people, discover new places

    Cons

    made very little money, company was awful at self-promotion and business in general

    Advice to Management

    Have some common sense. It's like you guys didn't even try to succeed.

    Sidecar (CA)2016-01-31
  5. "Fun, challenging, innovative work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CA - California in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Sidecar (CA)

    Pros

    Work on hard, new problems that the world has never seen before. Work with a strong, talented team.

    Cons

    The company hasn't been able to raise sufficient capital needed to retain talent and compete against competitors.

    Sidecar (CA)2016-01-04
  6. "Driver. (rides and delivery)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Driver - Rides & Deliveries in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sidecar (CA) part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible compared to traditional 9-5 jobs. Your own boss.

    Cons

    Delivery pay is very low, and you get over half your pay from tips. Sometimes the tips are good, then you're ok. But when the tips are bad or $0, you're screwed. No gas or milage reimbursement, no benefits. 1099 taxes.

    Advice to Management

    Increase delivery rates, provide a safety net for orders that don't tip or tip low <$5! The customer makes the tip when they place the order, before the driver has a chance to do anything. Nothing we do affects the tip, good or bad, really rotten that we can provide excellent service get $0 tip, and get paid less than $4 for a delivery. I've had delivery payments as low as $2.30 due to non-tipping/low tipping customers....

    Show More
    Sidecar (CA)2015-11-26
  7. "Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Sidecar (CA) for less than a year

    Pros

    Make your own schedule and very flexible

    Cons

    Must do 25 rides to get the guarantee pay per hour

    Advice to Management

    Have customer service that folks can actually get too

    Sidecar (CA)2015-10-02
  8. "Driving for Sidecar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Driver in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Sidecar (CA) full-time

    Pros

    App is user friendly. Big fonts and easy navigation on the app compared to Uber. They take 2000 cars not like Lyft.

    Cons

    You have a lot of downtime, not back to back jobs 24 hours a day like Uber. I drove to the Palo Alto with no guarantee or jobs. Waste of time and money.

    Sidecar (CA)2015-09-30
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Sidecar (CA)

      Pros

      Fun company to work for, like management and like my co-workers

      Cons

      It can get hectic, but that's not really a con if you like to stay busy.

      Advice to Management

      None

      Sidecar (CA)2015-08-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "dont waste your time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Driver in San Diego, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Sidecar (CA)

      Pros

      Flat rate. Know how much ride will be before accepting.

      Cons

      99% of the time you have to drive long way to pick riders up. Over half the rides go into pending status due to riders credit card declining and having to wait weeks for them to pay you if they do. Lack of rides also and lack of customer support when you need an answer. They avoid answering you if it is a payment issue. App is now having issues Also went to 25% cut without notifying anyone

      Advice to Management

      promote business and pay drivers for their rides immediately Get better customer service

      Sidecar (CA)2015-10-01
    Found 37 reviews