KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Sidley Austin

Engaged Employer

Sidley Austin

Add a Review

Sidley Austin Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Sep 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 539 reviews

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Sidley Austin CEO Michael Schmidtberger  (no image)
Michael Schmidtberger
151 Ratings

The latest conversations about Law

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The people are great and are very helpful to each other.(in 53 reviews)
  • "The benefits are great and the organization is well known in the law industry.(in 51 reviews)
  • "Great culture and sense of collegiality(in 30 reviews)
  • "The pay was great and I learned a lot of valuable skills which would prove beneficial in later positions.(in 24 reviews)
  • "Caliber of clients and colleagues are great.(in 19 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Sidley Austin and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great environment

    Apr 10, 2019 - Staff Accountant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great environment to work in

    Cons

    None come to mind right away

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    I love working for some of the most talented attorneys around

    Aug 26, 2019 - Paralegal in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love coming to work in such a positive environment on a day-to-day basis.

    Cons

    I could use a little more work, but overall I love what I do.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Sidley is a great place to work

    Sep 9, 2021 - Clerical in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work environment is very upbeat

    Cons

    Would like more flexibility with working from home as needed

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great firm!

    Jul 25, 2018 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work environment and coworkers!

    Cons

    Long hours, but depends what group you're in!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee

    OK place

    Feb 18, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great time off benefits - Good work/life balance - Cafeteria - Location

    Cons

    - Stressful work environment - No career advancement - Relatively low pay for staff employees

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Business Support

    Aug 8, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Opportunities for professional development, the department is well staffed so there are always good resources. Promotions happen if you are working hard and deserve it. People who say otherwise likely aren't performing well. There is generous vacation time and standard benefits. The lawyers I support are nicer and more respectful than I would have guessed. As a woman I've never felt intimidated or undervalued for being so. Definitely a safe a respectful work environment. Work life balance is surprisingly good. In at 920am and I'm the first one here. Only have to stay late on occasion.

    Cons

    The firm boasts collegiality - it is like a buzz word and I heard it 3+ times during my interview, yet it couldn't be further from the truth. The department likes to send you in circles when you need something, no one wants to do their own job, and there are zero staff appreciation parties, events or anything. As mentioned in other posts, lawyer benefits are great but staff are lacking - maternity leave is minimal for such a prestigious firm that can certainly afford it. Would also be excellent to have work from home opportunities. The culture is very against that.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good Firm

    Nov 21, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good working environment with challenging work

    Cons

    Work life balance is not good.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Best Law Firm I have worked at

    Aug 3, 2022 - Executive Legal Secretary in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Plenty of support in all areas, benefits and flexibility. Congenial work environment that is not stressful.

    Cons

    The multi-levels of secretarial supervisory management that is not necessary and a wasteful use of money. All that the secretarial management team does is hound you to enter your daily work tasks into their tracking system and keep track of leave requests.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Pretty good place to work, not a good place to grow

    Jan 23, 2009 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pleasant work environment most of the time

    Cons

    Lack of proper screening of support staff, leading to unbalanced workloads

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0