Sierra Club "non profit" Reviews | Glassdoor

Sierra Club Employee Reviews about "non profit"

Updated 27 Aug 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
87%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Sierra Club CEO Michael Brune
Michael Brune
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "They really make sure you get the most out of your experience and provide a very healthy work/life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • "Its fulfilling to work with passionate people, towards worthwhile goals, for an organization with a proven track record of getting things done(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Difficult to advance, non profit salary, constant sense of urgency(in 14 reviews)

  • "As most nonprofits, people seemed overworked, and honestly pretty disorganized(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "non profit"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Field Organizer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sierra Club full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing non-profit with full focus on achieving tangible results and solutions to save the planet. Great people, great purpose, and *great* execution. Benefits are good.

    Cons

    Organizer turnover is tough to manage, but at the end of the day, either you promote people up the ladder or pay them more.

    Advice to Management

    Organizers are praised with words but not so much with compensation. If they are truly as valuable as you claim, then the pay must be competitive with the other departments as well.

    Sierra Club2015-02-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Quality NonProfit, But Somewhat Siloed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Permit Coordinator in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sierra Club full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent pay for non-profit, good benefits, great mission for those concerned about climate change, storied history

    Cons

    When I was there, not all departments seen as equal; also, as of two years ago, there was a distinct lack of ethnic diversity, especially in leadership roles (though, they had just started implementing a diversity, equity, and inclusion program)

    Advice to Management

    Try developing more connections between departments. The two departments I worked for (Member Services and National Outings) seemed entirely separate from the rest of the organization.

    Sierra Club2018-08-27
  3. "Great Work Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Sierra Club

    Pros

    I loved working for the Sierra Club. Even as an intern, my ideas and views were important. I really felt like I was making a difference in the communities I was serving.

    Cons

    The internship was unpaid. This is typical of non-profit internships.

    Sierra Club2018-08-27
  4. "Incredible mission, passionate employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Club full-time

    Pros

    Inspiring mission, motivated employees, meaningful impact Excellent benefits (medical, 401K match) Job Security: Union membership for non-manager employees Working toward becoming more diverse and inclusive

    Cons

    Difficult to advance, non profit salary, constant sense of urgency

    Sierra Club2018-01-29
  5. "Sierra Club Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Sierra Club

    Pros

    great company with a solid social impact

    Cons

    non profit so it cant pay well

    Sierra Club2017-09-26
  6. "??"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Sierra Club

    Pros

    People are very passionate about what they stand for

    Cons

    pay is not at high end, but this is an non profit organization.

    Sierra Club2017-02-21
  7. "Great company, good cause"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berkeley, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Club full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great friendly people, good cause, receptive to change, feel good about what org is doing

    Cons

    lower non profit pay, sometimes a lot of red tape because of large size

    Sierra Club2016-11-05
  8. "Organizing Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Organizing Representative in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Club

    Pros

    good teams, good benefits, decent work life balance

    Cons

    non-profit salary, limited upward mobility

    Advice to Management

    better self care for teams, encourage more time off and offer promotions or raises more often

    Sierra Club2016-08-09
  9. "passionate colleagues, well-resourced org"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Sierra Club

    Pros

    great people, great resources as an org. Some bureaucracy that comes with working at any large non-profit, but with that size also comes lots of resources (monetary, technical, and otherwise). Good place to learn the ropes of Big Green world.

    Cons

    See above re: trade-offs that come with size.

    Sierra Club2016-04-21
  10. "Communications Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Intern - Communications Intern in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Sierra Club for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people who are very passionate about what they do. Lots of opportunity to be flexible and create your own projects.

    Cons

    Somewhat disorganized and sometimes time use feels inefficient because it is a large non-profit with smaller branches that aren't regulated for efficiency.

    Advice to Management

    Have a more structured intern program to get the most out of your interns.

    Sierra Club2015-08-04
Found 20 reviews