Sierra Club "passionate people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Sierra Club Employee Reviews about "passionate people"

Updated Apr 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
88%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Sierra Club CEO Michael Brune
Michael Brune
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "They really make sure you get the most out of your experience and provide a very healthy work/life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • "Its fulfilling to work with passionate people, towards worthwhile goals, for an organization with a proven track record of getting things done(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Difficult to advance, non profit salary, constant sense of urgency(in 14 reviews)

  • "As most nonprofits, people seemed overworked, and honestly pretty disorganized(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "passionate people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Politcal Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Politcal in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sierra Club for less than a year

    Pros

    Meaningful work Lot of passionate people

    Cons

    Unpredictable schedule Assigned to a campaign to work on

    Advice to Management

    Be more up front about the position

    Sierra Club2016-09-25
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Venerable Org needs 21st Century Update"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Organizing Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Club full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Its fulfilling to work with passionate people, towards worthwhile goals, for an organization with a proven track record of getting things done. Generally you have a lot of autonomy and must be self-motivating, which provides good flexibility in your day-to-day work. The staff is unionized and has good health insurance benefits, bereavement & maternity/paternity leave, and flexible time off.

    Cons

    The Sierra Club is an old organization, with many burdens of an aging and complicated bureaucratic structure. Field office and local Chapter relationships are unnecessarily separate and strained. Because of the expectation of self-governance, there is very little effective oversight for staff and volunteer leaders. Lazy and ineffective employees can remain in their positions for years, to the detriment of the the... organization and staff moral. There are duplicate capacity structures, and silos of information that create division and confusion.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Restructure the Sierra Club chain of command. Combine all Field and Chapter staff and offices. Simplify bureaucratic processes and gut the fat. Hold Chapter staff and volunteer leadership accountable to the same standards as national staff, with official national presence and oversight on Chapter executive committees.

    Sierra Club2016-09-20
  3. "Respect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Team Member in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Sierra Club for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are passionate about what they do

    Cons

    Money is not spent they way it should be.

    Sierra Club2016-09-20
  4. "Summer Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sierra Club

    Pros

    People are passionate about their job

    Cons

    There isn't much work to do for interns. The office space is small.

    Advice to Management

    Find more meaningful work for interns.

    Sierra Club2016-07-12
  5. "Great organization and values -- diplomacy skills & ability to navigate internal politics a must for success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Club full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Passionate people, incredible resources available for running effective advocacy campaigns (legal, communications, political, and grassroots), and excellent politics. Sierra Club is one of the few national environmental organizations that is deeply committed to organizing and to building people power. It strikes an impressive balance between holding true to its core values, and being willing to make reasonable... compromises in order to achieve real change. It's also making important strides in terms of prioritizing Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.

    Show More

    Cons

    Tough bureaucracy to navigate; figuring out roles and responsibilities between departments could prove tough. Volunteers play a critical role at the organization, which is a great asset and sometimes a liability since there's little consistency in terms of skillsets and strategy. Relationship and politics between National and Chapters can prove challenging.

    Sierra Club2016-02-24
  6. Helpful (6)

    "A wonderful, strong organization of do-gooders...who have little understanding of their own company's infrastructure."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Club full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Working with very passionate people, in an organization that has achieved amazing results for the environment and American public. People here (serving in any position) believe wholeheartedly in the Club's work on promoting clean energy and protecting wild lands. Everyone here is extremely intelligent and hard-working. - The past couple of years have dragged our workforce out of the tech Dark Ages. We have... made some major strides on updating baseline equipment and systems for all employees; using systems (Google mail, SalesForce) that are much more prevalent in the outside working world. It's not perfect, but it's far adn above where we were in the late 2000s. - Excellent health benefits and retirement packages. Heaps of time off benefits. Discounts on cool trips is a fun perk.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Upper management/Executive level has very little understanding of the importance of support staff (Finance, HR, IT, anyone administrative in other departments, etc). And those upper managers that lead support teams aren't very strong in portraying what their teams do/accomplish to the Executive team and Board, or why operations should factor into Exec decisions. - Salary discrepancies can be very wide between... departments and regions. - Salary discrepancies between departments and regions are - This organization runs on a tight-wire social structure. Folks here have learned that whoever screams the loudest gets noticed by management. Many of the employees are grassroots organizers who are used to pushing back on authority as a part of their job -- and they unfairly push just as hard on internal Club teams when given a task/an answer to a question that they don't like. Lots of calling 4 different people on the same team to search for an answer that best suits them. - An organization (non-profit no less) of some 600 staff with two labor unions makes no sense anywhere else in the working world. But it does here?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    In any non-profit, it's very easy to focus solely on the message/cause around which your organization is built (particularly because of expectations of our donors). But the support staff (Finance, HR, IT, anyone administrative in other departments, etc) are just as important as our fundraisers, lobbyists, and organizers. These are the staff members that do excellent behind-the-scenes work to equip our "in the... field" staff with the tools they need to do their job of saving the world. I strongly urge Executive to hire a Chief Operating Officer with oversight of the support teams, allowing for those teams to have a strong leader and advocate, and to free up the other Execs to focus on their (obviously preferred) environmental work and fundraising.

    Show More
    Sierra Club2015-02-26
  7. "Good internship at local office, but wanted more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Office Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sierra Club for less than a year

    Pros

    People are passionate, truly believe in their tasks and work tirelessly. There is a strong sense of teamwork. People delegate task depending on others strength, and are not afraid to ask for help.

    Cons

    Like so many other non-profits, there seemed to be a general chaos. The intern program lacked structure and overall organization. I felt I had to ask what I could do to help out too often.

    Advice to Management

    Have projects written up in advance for interns.

    Sierra Club2014-07-24
  8. "My internship was educational, but there was much more potential for a well-rounded experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sierra Club for less than a year

    Pros

    Passionate people, strong national network, effective campaigns.

    Cons

    SF headquarters office is not a very dynamic work environment, no strong sense of community in office.

    Advice to Management

    Future interns would benefit from a more comprehensive introduction to the organization and its work. There are so many facets to the Sierra Club and its internal structure, but rather than gaining an understanding of this I was thrown into menial tasks without being introduced to the context of my work. Although I learned much more as I went along, I think there is a lot of potential for a great internship... experience at the Sierra Club if interns are offered more learning opportunities and networking opportunities.

    Show More
    Sierra Club2013-08-27
  9. "positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern 

    I worked at Sierra Club for less than a year

    Pros

    - passionate people who care about what they do - work on exciting projects and real issues - felt like I was contributing even as an intern

    Cons

    - the chapter I was disorganized - volunteers often have different approaches from the chapter staff

    Advice to Management

    - work more with millennials and young adults

    Sierra Club2019-04-24
Found 9 reviews