Sierra Club "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Sierra Club Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 30, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
88%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Sierra Club Executive Director Michael Brune
Michael Brune
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "They really make sure you get the most out of your experience and provide a very healthy work/life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • "Its fulfilling to work with passionate people, towards worthwhile goals, for an organization with a proven track record of getting things done(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Difficult to advance, non profit salary, constant sense of urgency(in 14 reviews)

  • "As most nonprofits, people seemed overworked, and honestly pretty disorganized(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Legislative Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Sierra Club

    Pros

    They really make sure you get the most out of your experience and provide a very healthy work/life balance

    Cons

    I have no cons. Loved my time there!

    Sierra Club2017-11-30
  2. "Casual Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Sierra Club

    Pros

    The DC office has a bunch of awesome protest signs everyone, everyone very progressive and cares about the causes. My impression was of a workplace that respected and advocated for work/life balance.

    Cons

    Office has a very open floor plan, so when making phone calls or coworkers having conversations, things could get loud/distracting. Work was sometimes stressful due to caring about the issues/being on a tight schedule to follow Congress.

    Sierra Club2017-05-28
  3. "Amazing opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Sierra Club

    Pros

    Hands-on, lots of opportunities to participate in organization's advocacy work; friendly, communicative staff lead lots of learning/professional development events; interns are incorporated into office culture; great work-life balance

    Cons

    Unpaid position makes this great internship program less accessible to a lot of students

    Sierra Club2017-05-17
  4. "Political Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Political Intern in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Sierra Club for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Work/life balance Lots of experience with the political system Networked with many legislators

    Cons

    Can put in a lot of hours

    Sierra Club2017-01-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Sierra Club full-time

    Pros

    People are mission driven, work-life balance is excellent, and the organization is a real player on environmental issues.

    Cons

    It's a fairly large NGO which means it has its own bureaucratic tendencies.

    Sierra Club2016-10-24
  6. "Organizing Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Organizing Representative in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Club

    Pros

    good teams, good benefits, decent work life balance

    Cons

    non-profit salary, limited upward mobility

    Advice to Management

    better self care for teams, encourage more time off and offer promotions or raises more often

    Sierra Club2016-08-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Unpleasant Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sierra Club full-time

    Pros

    Some of the people that I worked with were very nice and seemed to really care about the work that they did. They also respected a work/life balance, by demonstrating flexibility in scheduling to account for my gym membership.

    Cons

    Training for new employees isn't very organized, even for a nonprofit. In may case, there wasn't any updates on my performance which would have been helpful. While I was there, I didn't feel like there were any opportunities to grow within my department.

    Advice to Management

    It would be beneficial to have all departments implement a review process in which employees in training can receive constructive feedback about their performance.

    Sierra Club2016-01-27
  8. "Organizing Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Club for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and collaboration. Great work life balance and comp time option.

    Cons

    Have no cons to date.

    Sierra Club2015-11-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Passionate workforce and vital mission, but org. mismanagement and navel-gazing are counter productive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sierra Club for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - amazing coworkers! made so many good friends here - fight for clean air, water and energy - a fantastic mission and pretty fun work! - chance to live in San Francisco and work for a non-profit - decent work/life balance, thanks to Union contact protections - 120+ year old organization - lots of history and past success to build on

    Cons

    - bad managers: some very weak leaders at the tippy-top and Management isn't always honest with staff about goals, priorities, funding, #realtalk - salaries are so low! poverty level for SF, less than most nonprofits, and a huge gap with Upper Management. keeps the staff turning over regularly, even talented ppl leave - 120+ year org. = bureaucracy, hierarchy, insulation from outside world, and membership that is... massively skewed old and white - pro-corporate, consumerist stance undercuts mission

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The Club needs innovation, diversity, and a fundamental shift in orientation towards climate and environmental JUSTICE. This needs to be about people and our planet. And let's have less inside baseball and more grassroots organizing, please.

    Sierra Club2014-05-25
  10. "Great mission, unique environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sierra Club

    Pros

    Generally appropriate work-life balance and great co-workers.

    Cons

    Compensation, benefits, limited upward mobility, poor retention; working to improve these areas could do the organization well to retain employees.

    Sierra Club2013-02-04
Found 10 reviews