Sierra Nevada Corporation Reviews

Updated May 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
70%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Sierra Nevada Corporation Chief Executive Officer Fatih Ozmen
Fatih Ozmen
399 Ratings
Pros
  • "401K match, Fascinating work, Wealth of technical knowledge, CEO and President(in 47 reviews)

  • "Great Benefits Package, 401k matching is the best out there(in 40 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sudden travel requirements can be taxing on work/life balance(in 28 reviews)

  • "Growing pains, lots of rules (due to defense sector)(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Sierra Nevada Corporation and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      Incredible Company!

      Aug 25, 2020 - Program Manager in Louisville, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      401K match, Fascinating work, Wealth of technical knowledge, CEO and President

      Cons

      Long hours sometimes required to meet schedule demands

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work.

      May 10, 2021 - Program Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Superior benefits, inclusive culture, give back to the community, owners take care of the employees

      Cons

      there are some instances where you are overworked

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Overall high job satisfaction

      May 3, 2021 - Test Engineer II in Englewood, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - 150% 401K Matching up to 8% (i.e. If I contribute 8%, they contribute 12%) - Flex time (hours must add to at least 80hrs/2weeks, but not necessarily 8hrs/day) - Often opportunities for work travel to domestic and foreign destinations - Work with really cool and cutting edge equipment - Highly autonomous, with little managerial oversight (managers trust employees)

      Cons

      Overtime must be requested on a per-program basis and is rarely approved. Any hours worked beyond 40hrs/week are unpaid when not approved.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Disarray

      May 16, 2021 - Management in Hagerstown, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, above average salaries

      Cons

      Sr. Management is disconnected from the operation

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Terrible company to work for.

      Mar 10, 2021 - IT Support in Sparks, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you like 9-5, this is the job for you.

      Cons

      I don’t even know where to begin with this company. I spent several years working in an IT Support role, and they didn’t deliver on a single promise from my interviews. We were allotted a training fund each year to seek out training to further our development. Somehow my manager either declined my requests for training, or sent me to irrelevant training that had zero impact on the day to day workings of my job title. Management and senior leadership are a revolving door. It’s a misogynistic boys club at SNC and if you’re not a part of that club, good luck going anywhere. And you would expect more from a company with a woman as president. There’s no maternity leave, and their benefits package is laughable. Over the years I brought several issues up to HR but they fell on deaf ears. There is a major culture problem within this company. The rules only apply to the underlings. If you’re high enough in the company the rules don’t apply to you, or you can scream until you get your way. But hey, if your a male engineer, I’m sure you’ll have a long happy career at SNC.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      I am over the moon!

      Apr 28, 2021 - Senior Manager Talent Acquisition in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, professionalism, innovation, benefits, growth, opportunities - the kindest/smartest company I've ever worked for!!

      Cons

      Can't think of any - except maybe that remote or WFH flex needs to be greater but otherwise no complaints

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Hands-On Experience

      May 6, 2021 - Engineering Aide 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing teams, Easy to move around

      Cons

      Confusing Network, hard to tell who is responsible for what

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great

      Apr 30, 2021 - Administrative Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work and growth opportunity

      Cons

      none that I can think of at this time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Not what it once was

      May 12, 2021 - Software Engineer III in Sparks, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The retirement matching is great.

      Cons

      The company has gone downhill quick, and what once was a good place to work does not exist anymore. Not worth the money.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great

      Apr 13, 2021 - Administration in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome Benefits and 401K would recommend

      Cons

      None other than limited locations

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 602 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Sierra Nevada Corporation Job Seekers

    Program Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Engineering Technician Specialist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Sierra Nevada Corporation? Share Your Experiences

    or