Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Reviews | Glassdoor

Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Reviews

Updated Jul 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 118 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Bob Pryor
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance has been a huge asset(in 11 reviews)

  • "Sound financial management, challenging assignments, good people that generally practice transparency and like each other(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Inconsistent raises across the board have led to frustration of some really great people(in 4 reviews)

  • "Canadian management really doesn't have much control over success anymore(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place for nurturing careers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Administrator in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of emphasis on career development.

    Cons

    Foreign owner may not always understand American market.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees.

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2018-05-13

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Response

    May 17, 2018HR Analyst

    Based on your location, you may have mistaken us for our sister company, Sierra Cedar in the US. Sierra Systems is based in Canada. At Sierra Systems, we take pride in our Career Advisor/Career Owner program which is core to career development in our organization. We provide many ...

    Show More
  2. "Sierra Systems Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Consultant in Yukon, MO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      1. Most projects (not all) have the flexibility of allowing employees work from home / remotely 2. Great and mostly knowledgeable people 3. Interesting Projects

      Cons

      1. Not a lot of work life balance on some projects and doesn't seem like anyone really cares i.e. Company cares more about meeting deadlines within budget at the expense of employees life outside work 2. Inconsistent delivery methods across board

      Advice to Management

      1. Streamline delivery - provide an enabling environment in terms of time and support for teams to develop streamlined delivery approaches 2. Do something about work life balance. People are burning out

      Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2018-01-29

      Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Response

      February 5, 2018HR Analyst

      Hello, based on your location, you might be referring to another organization, our sister company, Sierra-Cedar. While we appreciate your review, Sierra Systems is based in Canada and we do offer flexible work arrangements to our employees. Because we are in the professional services ...

      Show More
    • "It all depends on your project."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Principal Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      If you are on a good project it's great. The company has some strong client relationships so that can help set things up for success.

      Cons

      Limited control over where/what you work on. Unreasonable demands if your project is underbid or over promised.

      Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2015-07-23
    • "Good Company but depends on branch manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Exposure to large clients and systems

      Cons

      If you're unlucky enough to get a poor manager, you have no recourse.

      Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2015-01-14

      Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Response

      January 23, 2015HR Generalist

      We appreciate your leadership team feedback. If an individual is struggling with a manager or has concerns about the senior leadership we encourage them to contact their Career Advisor, Resource Manager, or HR Manager so that these concerns can be addressed. This will ensure we’re ...

      Show More
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company

        Pros

        Good clients, good technologies to work on. Mid level consulting company with good work/life ballance.

        Cons

        Nothing really negative to add.

        Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2014-11-15
      • "Solid, growing company with great potential"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        It has been my experience that management is fully engaged in employee and client interactions. Good leadership; management teams work hard to balance employee wants with company needs. The aggregate technical knowledge is exceptional; some of the best people in our industry work for Sierra.

        Cons

        There is a culture gap between the US and Canada. Both Canadian and American employees would do well to recognize this and make an effort to cross it, rather than being frustrated that it exists. Together we could go far; but the resistance to change among the employee base is strong.

        Advice to Management

        Be open to new ways off accomplishing goals; the culture difference should be a way for both groups to learn and grow.

        Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2014-07-25
      • "Business Consulant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company

        Pros

        Nothing really go special to offer the clients

        Cons

        Becoming a bodyshop - no real value to clients

        Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2013-08-29
      • "disappointing"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kirkland, WA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company

        Pros

        solid benefits good work life balance

        Cons

        getting laid off immediately upon return from STD. Very discouraging. No compassion.

        Advice to Management

        consider your employees when drafting your RIF list. One day it will be your turn. Hopefully you will be physically able to interview without any notice. At least dont lay off the last day of the month. COBRA cannot kick in fast enough for those of us who are seeing doctors weekly...

        Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2011-08-21
      • "Great company that treats employees like family, seriously lacks growth path for employees"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company

        Pros

        Great benefits, salary in par with industry, non demanding career, nice work life balance, great co workers and decent challenging engagements available.

        Cons

        Not a great career path available for aggressive growth, less employee development in terms of leadership or technology,not a lot of choices to work

        Advice to Management

        provide multiple career choices to employees.

        Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2011-05-05
      • "Good place to work for as a consultant - very qualified technical expertise"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Consultant in Austin, TX
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company

        Pros

        Good benefits, very solid reputation in the industry, some really interesting projects you can work on. Good corporate culture but limited growth opportunities in technical areas

        Cons

        really no downsides - besides the limited growth opportunities ... and of course the road warrior life style that comes with being a consultant. But that's just the nature of the job really ... and some positions can adapt towards limited travel

        Advice to Management

        Keep growing with the individuals in mind

        Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2010-05-21
      Found 118 reviews