Sierra Wireless Reviews | Glassdoor

Sierra Wireless Reviews

Updated May 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Kent Thexton
1 Ratings
Pros
  • "Relaxed Work Environment and friendly work culture(in 13 reviews)

  • "Very good working environment, good team(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Growth opportunity can be limited if you are not digging yourself in the opened internal position(in 4 reviews)

  • "unclear as to strategy direction, need to accelerate career growth opportunities for employees(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Wireless full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good company to work for

    Cons

    none i can think of

    Sierra Wireless2019-02-20

    Sierra Wireless Response

    March 19, 2019Human Resources

    We’re glad you are enjoying your time at Sierra Wireless!

  2. Helpful (5)

    "Managers/Directors Suck!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Wireless full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people that work here

    Cons

    Poor communication, unqualified managers with lack of direction. Need to hire more women and minorities.

    Advice to Management

    Leadership needs to encourage skip levels with employees - helps understand what goes on at all levels.

    Sierra Wireless2019-02-15

    Sierra Wireless Response

    March 20, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We believe that diversity and inclusion is an important part of our organization and we are in the process of implementing our D&I program throughout the organization.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Solid IOT Ideals, But Lacking Execution and Communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sierra Wireless full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The current environment of M&As is exciting and has the potential to be promising. A portion of senior leaders are strong, focused, and able to lead.

    Cons

    While the M&A environment has been avenue of excitement, it has also been an arena of discontent, loss of trust in some senior leaders, and is causing long standing employees wondering about their careers.

    Advice to Management

    Communication as a whole outside of Richmond, BC borders on thin to none. While M&A activity can lead to growth, the communication we've received is sparse at best, especially when it comes to organizational changes out of the Atlanta office. Many people are curious about if they'll still be around in 6-12 months.

    Sierra Wireless2019-01-16

    Sierra Wireless Response

    March 20, 2019Human Resources

    Sierra Wireless embraces challenges as they arise, and we thank you for your feedback. During this period of growth and transformation, we are continuing to improve our processes.

  4. "Great Place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Sierra Wireless full-time

      Pros

      Great people and great place to work

      Cons

      too bad the had to close the Bay Area location

      Sierra Wireless2018-12-09

      Sierra Wireless Response

      March 20, 2019Human Resources

      Glad to hear you enjoyed working at Sierra Wireless! 😊

    • Helpful (2)

      "Decent company but going through some turmoil currently"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Sierra Wireless full-time

      Pros

      Company had a good work environment and was performing well.

      Cons

      More recently the upper management seems to not have a good idea of the direction they want to go. After recent acquisitions things are not looking well.

      Sierra Wireless2018-06-09

      Sierra Wireless Response

      June 11, 2018Senior HR Advisor

      Thank you for your feedback. Every acquisition comes with an integration period. In the long term, this will help Sierra Wireless continue to grow and be the leader of the IoT industry!

    • Helpful (4)

      "Regional Sales Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Sierra Wireless full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Health benefits and work from home

      Cons

      I would pass on a job with this company. Point of sale is not delivered in a timely manner and is always incorrect. Management is weak and do not seem to have the experience to run a professional organization. Sales Managers who join this company should be prepared to spend most of their time in Salesforce. This limits the amount of time spent customer facing.

      Advice to Management

      Support your sales team and deliver accurate point of sale in a timely manner

      Sierra Wireless2018-06-19

      Sierra Wireless Response

      March 19, 2019Human Resources

      Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and serve our customers better.

    • "Validation Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Sierra Wireless

      Pros

      Very good working environment, good team.

      Cons

      Lack of promotion tunnel for staffs.

      Sierra Wireless2017-02-28

      Sierra Wireless Response

      March 8, 2017Senior HR Advisor

      Thanks! We’ve got a great team here :).

    • "Nice company, great benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Network Engineer in Marietta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Sierra Wireless full-time

      Pros

      Great Learning Environment, excellent benefits

      Cons

      Home office is in Canada

      Sierra Wireless2017-01-05

      Sierra Wireless Response

      March 8, 2017Senior HR Advisor

      Happy to hear you’re enjoying your time with us :)!

    • Helpful (9)

      "One for the record books"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Sierra Wireless

      Pros

      Great healthcare plan, great HR staff

      Cons

      In my opinion, this company should be used as an example for law makers to draw up an employee bill of rights or somehow for unions to regain their former popularity. At one point, on average, 1 person was fired every 2 weeks. The CEO/COO perpetuated a corporate culture of fear. This type of environment, which starts at the stop, results in a ripple effect throughout the rest of the company. The people that survived...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Please retire

      Sierra Wireless2016-09-16
    • Helpful (1)

      "IT Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Sierra Wireless full-time

      Pros

      Great health benefits. Supportive team willing to help each other succeed.

      Cons

      Poor management and lack of promotions given for employees working their hardest for you.

      Advice to Management

      Provided weekly or monthly 1:1 meetings with employees to help provide feedback so the employee can stretch and grow. Yearly reviews aren't enough

      Sierra Wireless2016-06-02
    Found 95 reviews